Author Topic: import KMZ  (Read 35902 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: import KMZ
« Reply #15 on: June 23, 2010, 10:15:05 PM »
All,

I have a locator that is tracking pipelines using Google Earth. I am using Civil3D 2010 and it is my understanding that I can import Google Earth objects directly into Civil 3D. Can anyone explain how I would import line work. The help file explains how to import the images and the elavation data, but not any linework.

Thank you in advance!

OK, after much more care reading C3D and autocad HELP files.....

Google Earth Import and Export Command Reference

The following table lists the AutoCAD Civil 3D commands related to import and export operations with Google Earth and briefly describes their functionality.

Command
 Description
 
GETime Attaches the timespan information to civil object entities
 
ImportGEData
 Imports Google Earth image and terrain data into a created TIN surface
 
ImportGEImage
 Imports a Google Earth Image into a drawing
 
ImportGEMesh Imports elevation data of the current Google Earth view into AutoCAD Civil 3D as a mesh
 
ImportGESurface
 Imports Google Earth terrain data into a created TIN surface
 
PublishKML
 Publishes Civil design data to Google Earth in the KML (uncompressed) format
 
PublishKMZ Publishes Civil design data to Google Earth in the KMZ (compressed) format
 
So the short anser is NO you can NOT import these route tracings directly from Google Earth into C3D or Autocad; without using a(n) intermediate step of translating the data.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Willie

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 958
  • Going nowhere slowly
Re: import KMZ
« Reply #16 on: June 24, 2010, 01:09:50 AM »
Do you have path selected?
Soli Deo Gloria | Qui Audet Adipiscitur
Windows 8  64-bit Enterprise | Civil 3D 2015 and 2016| ArcGIS 10.1
Yogi Berra : "I'd give my right arm to be ambidextrous."

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: import KMZ
« Reply #17 on: June 24, 2010, 06:33:05 AM »
Do you have path selected?
My experiments were/are focused solely on wether a user can import the Google Earth Paths straight from the KML/KMZ files using ONLY C3D or Autocad functionality.

I am most certain that the kml2everything tools will not only work, they are mandatory as it does NOT work using only C3D/Autocad functions; that being the users original question.

The final answer being one will need use a third party application for this task. Global Mapper, or the KML tool box, or other.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

neyton

  • Newt
  • Posts: 68
Re: import KMZ
« Reply #18 on: August 27, 2010, 03:44:23 PM »
import kml to autocad:

http://tbn2.blogspot.com/2008/04/expge.html

use command READKML
Visit my website: http://tbn2.blogspot.com

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: import KMZ
« Reply #19 on: August 27, 2010, 04:01:47 PM »
import kml to autocad:

http://tbn2.blogspot.com/2008/04/expge.html

use command READKML
Say Neyton, you have that in english?

from my command line in C3D:

Command: readkml
Unknown command "READKML".  Press F1 for help.

Perhaps post a copy of whatever application you wanted to draw our attention to here with your post.
You know just to make it easy on us English only folks.   ;-)
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Dilip Damle

  • Guest
Re: import KMZ
« Reply #20 on: October 19, 2010, 07:19:42 AM »
Hello to every one
I am new here

I have found and am using a FDO for linking to KML

It is here

http://www.sl-king.com/FdoKML/FdoKML.html

You can convert a kmz to kml by using googleearth


Rgds

Dilip Damle
New Delhi (India)


drizzt

  • Guest
Re: import KMZ
« Reply #21 on: October 25, 2010, 02:34:03 PM »
Welcome Dilip!

Willie

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 958
  • Going nowhere slowly
Re: import KMZ
« Reply #22 on: October 26, 2010, 03:41:02 PM »
http://beta.fmeserver.com/userweb/sharper/Portal/EasyTranslator/index.html

I have been struggling today to convert a kml file to a shapefile, but with all the attributes included. I found the above website that do the trick. It convert kml to shapefiles with the attributes included.

 
Soli Deo Gloria | Qui Audet Adipiscitur
Windows 8  64-bit Enterprise | Civil 3D 2015 and 2016| ArcGIS 10.1
Yogi Berra : "I'd give my right arm to be ambidextrous."

neyton

  • Newt
  • Posts: 68
Re: import KMZ
« Reply #23 on: May 21, 2013, 11:35:10 AM »
IMPORTGMMAP, import maps from google maps to AutoCAD:
http://tbn2net.appspot.com/showprog?progid=IMPORTGMMAP&ajuda=True

IMPORTGMPTS, import elevation points from Google Maps to AutoCAD:
http://tbn2net.appspot.com/showprog?progid=IMPORTGMPTS&ajuda=True

EXPGE, export KML from AutoCAD:
http://tbn2net.appspot.com/showprog?progid=EXPGE2&ajuda=True

READKML, import KML to AutoCAD:
http://tbn2net.appspot.com/showprog?progid=READKML2&ajuda=True

pages is to help translate other languages ​​with google translate
Visit my website: http://tbn2.blogspot.com

DaveD

  • Guest
Re: import KMZ
« Reply #24 on: May 21, 2013, 07:04:13 PM »
You can also use QGIS (Quantum GIS), a free open sourcce app, to do this - create layer from KML/KMZ and export to SHP