Author Topic: visibility state ?  (Read 20899 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13679
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: visibility state ?
« Reply #30 on: October 19, 2010, 01:23:57 PM »

I do work in the real world..and part of what I teach is how to not have problems directly related to ones procedures from real world experience.
You contradict yourself in the same.  You are right Preacher, you are so good. 

Those who can't, teach those who can.
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here picking up the empties beer cans

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Re: visibility state ?
« Reply #31 on: October 19, 2010, 01:26:30 PM »
Engineering Technologist CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.com http://cadanalyst.slack.com http://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: visibility state ?
« Reply #32 on: October 19, 2010, 01:41:14 PM »

I do work in the real world..and part of what I teach is how to not have problems directly related to ones procedures from real world experience.
You contradict yourself in the same.  You are right Preacher, you are so good. 

Those who can't, teach those who can.

To clarify; my advice isn't based on a purely academic or theoretical approach to the application of autocad.
However from my experiences teaching, quite often the 'problem' that needs to be solved is one created by the 'procedure' that is being employed.  And that by education the procedure can be revised, thus eliminating the problem it was causing.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: visibility state ?
« Reply #33 on: October 19, 2010, 02:20:24 PM »
...
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Dommy2Hotty

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1127
Re: visibility state ?
« Reply #34 on: October 19, 2010, 02:22:36 PM »
And that by education the procedure can be revised, thus eliminating the problem it was causing.
That's great and all, but I'm flat out saying your wrong with your education on this topic.  This PROBLEM is only caused by the BASE being set to 30,0.  When inserted, this will shift the entities to the left 30 units and leave the visibility GRIP where it always has been.  THE VISIBILITY GRIP IS NOT MOVING!!! IT'S WHERE IT SHOULD BE!!! THE ENTITIES ARE BEING SHIFTED TO THE LEFT BECAUSE OF THE BASE VARIABLE WITHIN THE BLOCK ITSELF!!!

Insert the original block into any drawing, draw a line from the lower right corner 30 to the right and then select the block...the visibility grip is right at the end of the line.  Open the original block, say no to open in editor, type BASE and change to 0,0 and save.  Insert that block into any drawing and the entities insert at the BASEPOINT PARAMETER THAT COTTAGEGIRL SET UP INSTEAD OF 30 UNITS TO THE LEFT.  THIS SOLVES THIS PROBLEM. 

THERE ARE NO WRONG PROCEDURES HERE.  ONLY FIXING A VARIABLE THAT IS CONFLICTING IN THE BLOCK DRAWING.

THE VISIBILITY GRIP IS RIGHT WHERE IT SHOULD BE, BUT THE BASE BEING 30,0 SHIFTS THE ENTITIES (LINES, ETC) TO THE LEFT 30 UNITS, WHICH OVERRIDES THE BASEPOINT PARAMETER THAT CG SET UP!!! THAT IS THE PROBLEM!!!

GOT IT NOW????????

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: visibility state ?
« Reply #35 on: October 19, 2010, 02:26:08 PM »
...
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Re: visibility state ?
« Reply #36 on: October 19, 2010, 02:33:47 PM »
YOU KNOW DAMN RIGHT!!11!!
Engineering Technologist CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.com http://cadanalyst.slack.com http://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: visibility state ?
« Reply #37 on: October 19, 2010, 02:36:55 PM »
...
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: visibility state ?
« Reply #38 on: October 19, 2010, 02:42:23 PM »
the 'procedure' that needs be corrected  is that someone needs to NOT enter the BASE command and change the insertion point of the block/drawing

the block creation procedure needs to be addressed such that a usable insertion point is defined at the same time the block is originally created thus eliminating the need to use the BASE command to alter the insertion point

changing the BASE point is merely a symptom of the procedure used when the block was defined (failing to properly define the insertion point), or thereafter when it was discovered that the block didn't insert as expected
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

JCTER

  • Guest
Re: visibility state ?
« Reply #39 on: October 19, 2010, 02:42:59 PM »
Have no idea where is going.

JCTER

  • Guest
Re: visibility state ?
« Reply #40 on: October 19, 2010, 02:43:37 PM »
the 'procedure' that needs be corrected  is that someone needs to NOT enter the BASE command and change the insertion point of the block/drawing

the block creation procedure needs to be addressed such that a usable insertion point is defined at the same time the block is originally created thus eliminating the need to use the BASE command to alter the insertion point

changing the BASE point is merely a symptom of the procedure used when the block was defined (failing to properly define the insertion point), or thereafter when it was discovered that the block didn't insert as expected

So do you have a time machine to go back and fix what was already done?

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: visibility state ?
« Reply #41 on: October 19, 2010, 02:46:17 PM »
the 'procedure' that needs be corrected  is that someone needs to NOT enter the BASE command and change the insertion point of the block/drawing

the block creation procedure needs to be addressed such that a usable insertion point is defined at the same time the block is originally created thus eliminating the need to use the BASE command to alter the insertion point

changing the BASE point is merely a symptom of the procedure used when the block was defined (failing to properly define the insertion point), or thereafter when it was discovered that the block didn't insert as expected

So do you have a time machine to go back and fix what was already done?
No, and that would be why I suggested CG use a different procedure as she edits/modifies these blocks moving forward in an earlier post...once the actual 'problem' was identified
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Dommy2Hotty

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1127
Re: visibility state ?
« Reply #42 on: October 19, 2010, 03:51:08 PM »
No, and that would be why I suggested CG use a different procedure as she edits/modifies these blocks moving forward in an earlier post...once the actual 'problem' was identified

Who's to say she changed the BASE variable for that block?  Who's to say she created the original block.  That's what I'm getting at.  You can teach all you want about proper procedure, but you're not teaching what caused the problem.

Just criticizing someone's technique, if it's even their technique, doesn't teach why things are acting the way they are.  You telling me I put the wrong oil in my car doesn't tell me what oil I should be using...

And with that...I bid you adieu

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: visibility state ?
« Reply #43 on: October 19, 2010, 04:20:32 PM »
Who's to say she changed the BASE variable for that block? 

obviously it is or was changed...irrespective of who changed it.  And it sounds like CG indicated SHE already has good practices where block creation is concerned so there should be no critique of her method implied.

the upside of our discourse, would be that user now knows the evils of the BASE point of a block/drawing being altered, and perhaps can or will now share that information with those she works with...for all we know there is someone over in that office that's just silly about using the BASE command and hasn't a clue about the swath of mayhem they are trailing...

and as she did not create these blocks she is now charged with administering, a best course might be to just salvage the usable geometry from these illegitimate block children, and recreate the blocks such that she controls the variables...

Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: visibility state ?
« Reply #44 on: October 19, 2010, 04:33:42 PM »
Quote
All your base are belong to us.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io