Author Topic: 08, VBA, and Vista  (Read 7245 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4075
08, VBA, and Vista
« on: November 10, 2007, 03:36:44 PM »
Has anyone gotten VBA and 08 to play nicely on Vista?  I brought some of my code from work home, and kept getting catastrophic failures. (Thats what the msgbox says, yet Autocad doesn't crash.)  I'm beginning to think Vista is a really bad thing for Autocad at this point
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Re: 08, VBA, and Vista
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2007, 03:40:07 PM »
Try running AutoCAD as an administrator. Right click shortcut "Run as administrator".

Trying to run Visual BASIC 6 otherwise was a gong show, especially when trying to compile dlls (kept getting a friendly and illuminating 0x80004005 error).

You can set shortcuts to always run as said state (on shortcurt by shortcut basis), which makes it a little easier.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2007, 03:48:01 PM by MP »
Engineering Technologist • CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.comhttp://cadanalyst.slack.comhttp://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4075
Re: 08, VBA, and Vista
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2007, 03:46:19 PM »
I did the rigft click thing, and that didn't help.
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4075
Re: 08, VBA, and Vista
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2007, 03:46:55 PM »
and the sub is very basic
Code: [Select]
Public Sub VPLock()
      On Error GoTo Err_Control
      Dim vp As AcadPViewport
      Dim gpCode(0) As Integer
      Dim dataValue(0) As Variant
      Dim objSelSet As AcadSelectionSet
      gpCode(0) = 0
      dataValue(0) = "VIEWPORT"
      Set objSelSet = ThisDrawing.SelectionSets.Add("VPL")
      objSelSet.Select acSelectionSetAll, , , gpCode, dataValue

      For Each vp In objSelSet
            If vp.DisplayLocked = True Then
                  vp.DisplayLocked = False
            End If
      Next
Exit_Here:
      Exit Sub
Err_Control:
      Select Case Err.Number
      Case "-2145320851"
            ThisDrawing.SelectionSets.Item("VPL").Delete
            Err.Clear
            Resume
      Case Else
            MsgBox Err.Number & Err.Description
            Err.Clear
            Resume Exit_Here
      End Select
End Sub
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Re: 08, VBA, and Vista
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2007, 03:49:21 PM »
YEOW!

Sorry, without a clue (more than normally that is).
Engineering Technologist • CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.comhttp://cadanalyst.slack.comhttp://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4075
Re: 08, VBA, and Vista
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2007, 03:51:27 PM »
Funny thing is, in the local window, 80% of the entries say "No Database" like VBA suddenly lost the connection to the dwg.  Even if Im in the Thisdrawing module.
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Re: 08, VBA, and Vista
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2007, 03:58:45 PM »
I ran your code on machine Cmdr and no errors (Vista Ultimate + AutoCAD '08).

??

(And it did unlock locked viewports).
Engineering Technologist • CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.comhttp://cadanalyst.slack.comhttp://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4075
Re: 08, VBA, and Vista
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2007, 04:30:33 PM »
I have Vista Home Premium i think
edit : Confirmed
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4075
Re: 08, VBA, and Vista
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2007, 04:51:39 PM »
You can set shortcuts to always run as said state (on shortcurt by shortcut basis), which makes it a little easier.
MP, How?  I haven't seen this anywhere, but I will admit I haven't looked to hard.  I hate Vista, but I know I will have to learn it soon enough
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4075
Re: 08, VBA, and Vista
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2007, 04:54:57 PM »
Just found it. we will see if that fixes my code
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Re: 08, VBA, and Vista
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2007, 04:55:53 PM »
<fingers crossed>
Engineering Technologist • CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.comhttp://cadanalyst.slack.comhttp://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4075
Re: 08, VBA, and Vista
« Reply #11 on: November 10, 2007, 05:09:10 PM »
did'nt fix it
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

Dinosaur

  • Guest
Re: 08, VBA, and Vista
« Reply #12 on: November 10, 2007, 07:23:00 PM »
IT at work is testing Vista Ultimate 64 wit Civil 3D 2008 (crammed FULL of VBA) and is not having any similar issues.

joseguia

  • Guest
Re: 08, VBA, and Vista
« Reply #13 on: November 11, 2007, 02:11:40 AM »
Has anyone gotten VBA and 08 to play nicely on Vista?  I brought some of my code from work home, and kept getting catastrophic failures. (Thats what the msgbox says, yet Autocad doesn't crash.)  I'm beginning to think Vista is a really bad thing for Autocad at this point

Vista/Cad 64Bit or 32Bit?

I have had issues with Vista 64bit and 2008 (64bit), but none with Vista 32 Bit and 2008(32bit).


David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4075
Re: 08, VBA, and Vista
« Reply #14 on: November 11, 2007, 10:01:59 AM »
32 both items.  I wonder if its b/c of the Home Edition?
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)