Author Topic: Civil 3D vs. AMEP?  (Read 4310 times)

BlackBox

• King Gator
Civil 3D vs. AMEP?
« on: February 20, 2012, 11:48:42 AM »
I've never used AutoCAD MEP (AMEP) before, and am curious to know what you folks are using for utility, and infrastructure projects?

** Specifically, for site, roadway, environmental... not architectural

Right now, my company is pushing Civil 3D which is perfectly fine for me as part of our Transportation group, however, I'm currently working with our utility, and infrastructure group, and just found out that they're wanting me to transfer to their group permanently.

What I've noticed with Civil 3D is that our corporate catalog is greatly lacking, with respect to the multitude of pipe types, and materials that are needed for (IMO) basic items... To be clear, the catalog being provided is NOT meant to be complete, and is more of a 'go this way' kind of recommendation.

I have taken the time to merge multiple catalogs to give myself the best possible starting point. Aside from items like elliptical pipes, drainage structures, etc. the other items NOT included are all of the parametric parts needed for a proper utility design... valves, hydrants, ARV's, tees, wyes, etc.

This is where I suspect that AMEP may be better suited... as the purchase of a parts catalog is not likely.

Any help, or suggestion would be greatly appreciated!
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

mjfarrell

• Seagull
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Civil 3D vs. AMEP?
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2012, 12:20:03 PM »
I have ran a couple of experimental (or just mental) projects through MEP, as opposed to Civil 3D.
The difference is in level of detail.  For general drainage, storm drain and sanitary sewer C3D is adequate.
If one wants a higher level of deatail MEP seems to be the better product.
The exception being no use of the Storm and Sanitary analysis tools as in C3D if one uses the MEP product.