Author Topic: Newbie here with Civil 3D issues...  (Read 5511 times)

couleeman

Re: Newbie here with Civil 3D issues...
« Reply #15 on: August 27, 2008, 05:27:27 PM »
OK,  use the grading tools to create a graded object for each pond.
Then create the detached surfaces for each.
Then use the Surface>>Utilities >>Extract Surface Objects, The pond surface style MUST have the contours sub component display turned on.
Then you can list their areas, or perform a MAP query against them to have MAP out put the polyline areas to a comma delimited file for each.
Then you plug those areas in to the extension.The good part about getting into Hydroflow is that you can then design the pond to retain, and or outflow to the desired Q out for the pond.

IC, I think...lol.  Been a long day here.  I did what you described only instead of using Hydroflow I dropped it into an excel spread sheet that I had.  I guess what I am looking for is something more of a one or two step process.  Correct me if I am wrong, but without taking the area of the contours, I cannot enter it into Hydroflow.  And to enter into Hydroflow, I have to put in each area individually. 

I am still new to Civil 3D so I will do some playing and see what I can figure out.  I appreciate the help so far guys, Thanks...

mjfarrell

• Seagull
  • Every Student their own Lesson
« Reply #16 on: August 27, 2008, 05:41:07 PM »
OK,  use the grading tools to create a graded object for each pond.
Then create the detached surfaces for each.
Then use the Surface>>Utilities >>Extract Surface Objects, The pond surface style MUST have the contours sub component display turned on.
Then you can list their areas, or perform a MAP query against them to have MAP out put the polyline areas to a comma delimited file for each.
Then you plug those areas in to the extension.The good part about getting into Hydroflow is that you can then design the pond to retain, and or outflow to the desired Q out for the pond.