Author Topic: Re scaling viewports  (Read 7446 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

42

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 483
Re: Re scaling viewports
« Reply #15 on: September 30, 2005, 12:22:39 PM »
Andrea That was a direct quote from Acad help.  Would I start increasing the variable number or what. What else could it screw up if this altered from the current value of 3?
Alastair Mallett Autodesk Certified Professional
Technical Director
Hunters South Architects

CmdrDuh

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4039
Re: Re scaling viewports
« Reply #16 on: September 30, 2005, 12:29:00 PM »
it wont "screw" anything up, it just might not "show" you what you think it should.

for instance, lets say you set your precision to 1/16, and then put in 3/32" text.  If you did a list on that text, It would tell you it was 1/8" tall, when in reality it is still only 3/32 " tall.  This is because 3/32 is being rounded up to 1/8 b/c of precision chosen.  I always set precision to 1/256 so that List will report things correctly.  If your using decimal, then its just the number of decimal places that is being reported.

With decimal set, and luprec at 1, if you draw a line 1.25" long, and list it, it will say its 1.3" b/c of round off.

Does this make sense?
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second

42

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 483
Re: Re scaling viewports
« Reply #17 on: September 30, 2005, 12:35:19 PM »
Yes So why can't it say units???
Alastair Mallett Autodesk Certified Professional
Technical Director
Hunters South Architects

CmdrDuh

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4039
Re: Re scaling viewports
« Reply #18 on: September 30, 2005, 12:37:29 PM »
because it is Linear Units PRECision

you also have Angular Units PRECision
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second

CmdrDuh

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4039
Re: Re scaling viewports
« Reply #19 on: September 30, 2005, 12:38:50 PM »
your UNITS dialog box controls both of these system variables

Lunits and Aunits control Arch vs Decimal and such
« Last Edit: September 30, 2005, 12:42:17 PM by CmdrDuh »
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16722
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: Re scaling viewports
« Reply #20 on: September 30, 2005, 12:41:14 PM »
The issue is not the dimension if I am reading this right... but rather the viewport rescaling when using the scroll button on the mouse WHILE dimensioning.

UCSFOLLOW ? When associative dimensioning in PS it references the MS object through the PS viewport .. perhaps that is somehow affecting it?
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

CmdrDuh

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4039
Re: Re scaling viewports
« Reply #21 on: September 30, 2005, 12:44:05 PM »
Keith, I tried diming in the dwg, and it didn't have any problems with the wheel.  I changed the Osnap setting to remove the 'INS' osnap (I don't remember setting that one) and it behaved a little better. 
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2360
Re: Re scaling viewports
« Reply #22 on: September 30, 2005, 12:46:00 PM »
42,...

I had same problem here..
and be resolved by setting the LUPREC to 8.

also, make sure that your dimstyle is not override.
Keep smile...

CmdrDuh

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4039
Re: Re scaling viewports
« Reply #23 on: September 30, 2005, 12:47:18 PM »
42,...

I had same problem here..
Which problem did you have?
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16722
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: Re scaling viewports
« Reply #24 on: September 30, 2005, 01:18:03 PM »
Ok .. someone refresh me (and this thread) about what it is EXACTLY that we are trying to accomplish ...

the FIRST post by 42 was  ... " viewport rescales when I scroll the mouse wheel" ... now there is nothing with any setting for a dimension that will affect the PS viewport that I can imagine ... but yet there seems to be alot of interest put on the dimensions ...

So, now that I have successfully pissed off everyone ... what are the symptoms ..

Viewport rescales when using the scroll wheel during a dimension

Anything else? .. No? Ok good .. lets ask a few questions to determine where the problem might be ...

Is the viewport locked?
Is the user indeed in PS (as opposed to accessing the model through a PS viewport)
When the viewport does rescale, do the dimensions appear with a correct value?
What is the value of variables that affect the PS viewport:
  • UCSFOLLOW
  • MAXACTVP
  • PSVPSCALE
I am sure there are more but these are the ones that come to mind right away.

Is the entire viewport visible when dimensioning?
What is the shademode for EACH viewport in PS
Does this happen in other drawings? (can it be reproduced)
Is the toolbar viewport scale combo list highlighted when scrolling (or when dimensioning)

I will have more questions when these have been answered ....

If I had to make any determination I would say it is likely user error as opposed to a bug .. but then that is just me ...
Short story ... recently I was tasked with resolving a support issue with a piece of software. It seems the command did not work. I asked several questions and the response was always the correct ones. The variables are set correctly, the program is loaded properly etc ... when I finally convinced the user to send me a drawing I could see EXACTLY what the issue was. They were trying to use the program on a drawing that it was not designed to work with. What it amounted to was a user trying to make a line a wider thickness without it being a polyline ... DUH ... lines don't have a width factor ... (that of course was not the issue, but pretty close)
Anyway ... the point is ... you have to do testing in various scenarios. If it cannot be reproduced then it is either a) an anomoly with that particular drawing  b) user error c) as yet un-reproducable bug (you must be able to reproduce it to find it)
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

42

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 483
Re: Re scaling viewports
« Reply #25 on: October 01, 2005, 07:12:36 AM »
Keith You wont' piss me off on this thread.
Quote
Viewport rescales when using the scroll wheel during a dimension

Yes But only when the curser is over an object and the onsnaps are on.
Quote
Is the viewport locked?
Yes and the viewport layer is locked
Quote
When the viewport does rescale, do the dimensions appear with a correct value?
Don't know. When I realised that the viewport was rescaling I cancled the dim command. I will try this one again on Monday.
Quote
What is the value of variables that affect the PS viewport:

    * UCSFOLLOW
    * MAXACTVP
    * PSVPSCALE

Offhand don't know, don,t know, 1:50

Quote
Is the entire viewport visible when dimensioning?
What is the shademode for EACH viewport in PS
Does this happen in other drawings? (can it be reproduced)
Is the toolbar viewport scale combo list highlighted when scrolling (or when dimensioning)

No
Wireframe
No
Haven't noticed, again I will test on Monday
Quote
If I had to make any determination I would say it is likely user error as opposed to a bug
Impossible!

Andrea
Quote
I had same problem here..
and be resolved by setting the LUPREC to 8.
I will try resetting on Monday
Thanks for your input.
Alastair Mallett Autodesk Certified Professional
Technical Director
Hunters South Architects

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2360
Re: Re scaling viewports
« Reply #26 on: October 01, 2005, 10:08:36 PM »
Is the problem is only in 1 (one) drawing  or every time ?

also, you can try to remake the MVIEW...
you can use vpclip...or vpsinc..

let me know..

Keep smile...

42

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 483
Re: Re scaling viewports
« Reply #27 on: October 03, 2005, 03:23:45 PM »
Its only ever occur ed in this one drawing. Remaking the viewport made no difference. I did not get chance (forgot) to check the other settings. I 'm getting round the problem by turning the onsnaps off and sellecting the snap from the icons. Long winded but works.
Alastair Mallett Autodesk Certified Professional
Technical Director
Hunters South Architects

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15502
Re: Re scaling viewports
« Reply #28 on: November 04, 2005, 06:15:25 AM »
Mr 42 sir, did you sort out your zoom problem?

One of the users here is also having a problem with locked viewports moving, when scrolling in/out.

He has a locked viewport, scrolls in to edit something, and the viewport seems to unlock itself and re-scale the viewport, this happens intermittently, and is now looking for a common process that kicks this thing off.  The only way to get back to the original viewport layout is to undo, then he loses the edit he has just made.

Does anyone know what may cause this, and any work around.

This is happening on ACAD 2004 (vanilla)

Many thanks
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

42

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 483
Re: Re scaling viewports
« Reply #29 on: November 04, 2005, 07:12:10 AM »
The only work around I have found as noted above is to turn osnaps off, F3, when scrolling. Sorry can be of no further help.

I must say that I do like the sir bit !!
Alastair Mallett Autodesk Certified Professional
Technical Director
Hunters South Architects