Author Topic: DWF overlayed into DWG  (Read 3060 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15539
DWF overlayed into DWG
« on: October 03, 2005, 04:56:30 AM »
Is it possible to insert a DWF into a dwg file (similar to overlaying an image file).

Can anyone tell me if/how this can be done

Many thanks

Tracey
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Re: DWF overlayed into DWG
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2005, 08:20:21 AM »
As far as I know you have to convert the DWF files to DWG first. There's a couple apps that do said conversion, this one has been around the longest if I'm not mistaken.

Engineering Technologist CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.com http://cadanalyst.slack.com http://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Re: DWF overlayed into DWG
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2005, 08:58:17 AM »
Lynn Allen covers this very topic in her blog.

->LINK<-
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15539
Re: DWF overlayed into DWG
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2005, 11:32:14 AM »
Thanks guys for your help.

It looks like I can open it up in dwf and insert as ole object. I've yet to try it, but will do so soon.

Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15539
Re: DWF overlayed into DWG
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2005, 07:38:01 AM »
Another question, sort of in the same theme.

Does ACAD come with a dwf viewer, or have I got to find one of them seperately?

Many thanks

T :-)
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Re: DWF overlayed into DWG
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2005, 07:42:39 AM »
On the Lynn allen web page, (see above), there is links to download the free viewer and writer from Autodesk :mrgreen:.
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15539
Re: DWF overlayed into DWG
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2005, 09:43:40 AM »
Duh, I must be having a blonde day again. Downloaded the viewer, will try top ole when this tender has gone out.

Thanks for your advice

T
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

M-dub

  • Guest
Re: DWF overlayed into DWG
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2005, 10:57:54 AM »
Ok, a LITTLE off topic, but we've been dealing with DWF's here for a few years and if I could get rid of them, I would.  Many of our users have real problems using any flavour of dwf viewer / volo view.  So far, the best viewer we've had in here has been Bentley View.  I don't mind it, but I'm still anxiously awaiting our EDMS replacement, Adept, which uses AutoVue as its viewer.

*Note* BV doesn't like DWF's, so maybe I should have just kept my freaking mouth shut! :oops: ...again!

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Re: DWF overlayed into DWG
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2005, 11:04:06 AM »
I tried the copy and paste method with an A1 drawing, it does the job, but doesn't look too pretty.

It's better if you zoom in to an area and then copy that, the quality gets better then.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2005, 11:51:06 AM by Hudster »
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15539
Re: DWF overlayed into DWG
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2005, 11:43:43 AM »
Thanks Hudster.

I know the guy who was asking bout it just wants to use it as an overlay, just to check for possible clashes (I believe)

Cheers

T :-)
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Re: DWF overlayed into DWG
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2005, 10:23:41 AM »
I'm trialing progecad for my comapny with a view to rolling out across the company.

You can open a dwf and then save it as a drawing, the text isn't text anymore, it's all lines but it's a better final quality than cutting and pasting.

Look in this post,http://www.theswamp.org/forum/index.php?topic=7205.0, the LT version is free, approx 50mb download.
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

Jakes GrandPa

  • Guest
Re: DWF overlayed into DWG
« Reply #11 on: October 26, 2005, 04:22:25 PM »
I'm trialing progecad for my company with a view to rolling out across the company.

You can open a dwf and then save it as a drawing, the text isn't text anymore, it's all lines but it's a better final quality than cutting and pasting.

Look in this post,http://www.theswamp.org/forum/index.php?topic=7205.0, the LT version is free, approx 50mb download.


I recently retired from a progressive? company running Acad 2000i with Cad Overlay to deal with all of the 100 years more or less worth of manual drawings which have been scanned. I am looking for a cad package so I can do some engineering consulting work, which will require modifying their drawings, that will be able to make compatible files to send back to them. In your testing of Progecad, does this sound like a possible fit, or am I wasting my time downloading the trial package?

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Re: DWF overlayed into DWG
« Reply #12 on: October 27, 2005, 03:55:22 AM »
the LT version is a free download, the full version is a one month trial, we have decided to equip all engineers and minor CAD staff with ProgeCAD, and give only the CAD power users AutoCAD.

I like progecad, it has the same menus as AutoCAD, can function with 2006 drawings, has inbuilt support for DWFs and also comes with it's own PDF printer.

There are a few things it can't do, but they are very few and there is normally more ways to skin a cat.  I would recommend this package, get the LT version and have a muck around with it.
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

t-bear

  • Guest
Re: DWF overlayed into DWG
« Reply #13 on: October 27, 2005, 02:52:13 PM »
Has anyone tinkering with ProgiCAD figured out how to load custom menus.....?  Had the trial a while back and couldn't load multiple menus.  It would overwrite the original........  Probably a ID-10-T error. :ugly:

Jakes GrandPa

  • Guest
Re: DWF overlayed into DWG
« Reply #14 on: November 05, 2005, 10:08:44 PM »
the LT version is a free download, the full version is a one month trial, we have decided to equip all engineers and minor CAD staff with ProgeCAD, and give only the CAD power users AutoCAD.

I like progecad, it has the same menus as AutoCAD, can function with 2006 drawings, has inbuilt support for DWFs and also comes with it's own PDF printer.

There are a few things it can't do, but they are very few and there is normally more ways to skin a cat. I would recommend this package, get the LT version and have a muck around with it.

I tried the Progecad trial version. I liked it but it seemed to have an issue with some mtext in one of my drawings, I'm not sure it wasn't the original drawing creating the problem and it scrambled the logo in the tile block when I tried to save to 2000 acad file format. So I down loaded Briscad, it scrambled the logo from the getgo. I think there must be a problem with the logo and Intellicad, but have downloaded Cadcopia. I will try it next week to see if it has the same issues with the logo. I suppose I should find out what it is about the logo that doesn't work with Icad.