Author Topic: Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW  (Read 1159 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5323
  • Standby for witty remark...
Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW
« on: February 23, 2017, 10:18:30 AM »
Has anyone noticed when bringing in a SHP file with MAPWSPACE in c3d2017, if the SHP file has any significant amount of data, the file completely bogs down and you can't pan/zoom around?
Recently upgraded from 2014 and never had a problem.
I'm even loading the same SHP files in 2017 that were fine in previous c3d versions.
Civil 3D 2017 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3743
Re: Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2017, 12:41:56 PM »
I've not noticed that, although that may just be due to the fact that I generally MAPIMPORT Shapefiles, and only use MAPWSPACE for drawing queries of the imported Object Data.

What exactly are you 'bringing in' from the Shapefile(s) using MAPWSPACE?


The only thing I have noticed slowing a session to a crawl, is a pick of even a single imported Polyline that has too many vertices, with no real way to force a deselect (until the select is finished). GRIPOBJLIMIT only accounts for the number of entities selected, and not the max number of Grips to be displayed.


Cheers
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14377
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2017, 09:36:35 AM »
is the data local, or on a network?


If on a network test with a local copy.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5323
  • Standby for witty remark...
Re: Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2017, 09:50:07 AM »
is the data local, or on a network?


If on a network test with a local copy.
The data is on a network. I'll give it a try.
Odd thing is, it's been fine on previous version loading from a network drive.
Civil 3D 2017 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14377
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2017, 10:08:01 AM »
is the data local, or on a network?


If on a network test with a local copy.
The data is on a network. I'll give it a try.
Odd thing is, it's been fine on previous version loading from a network drive.

It happens here quite a bit, due to excessive use of DFS (our data is somewhere in an AMAZON Server Rack)

But our contract IT people are infallible  :uglystupid2:  according to management.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14377
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2017, 10:49:31 AM »
you might even check your MAPOPTIONS for this setting....and verify amount of space available there.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5323
  • Standby for witty remark...
Re: Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2017, 11:48:18 AM »
Don't see anything different from yours.
This also isn't isolated to myself; everyone has experienced the lag since we upgraded to 2017.
Civil 3D 2017 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox