Author Topic: Fields in Title Block  (Read 11664 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Pukenzz

  • Newt
  • Posts: 48
Fields in Title Block
« on: January 20, 2016, 08:07:54 PM »
Not sure if this is the best place to post or not but...

I'm trying to figure out a way that in my title blocks I can create fields that will read 1 input to populate things like Job Number, Job Site Address, Architect Name and others.  I want to input them in one spot and have them filed populate any and all matching fields in that drawing.  I'll handle thing like changing drawing sheet / page / date  /revision /number / and all the details tha need to be specific per tileblock as normal attributes.  I know there are a million posts and web sites describing this but there is some but hoping somebody can give or steer me towards a simple direction.  This is for (1) dwg file with multiple title blocks.

thanks in advance.

 

Drafter X

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 578
Re: Fields in Title Block
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2016, 08:10:18 PM »
dwgprops... create custom properties.
create attributes in the titleblock and populate them with fields that point to the custom properties.. insert field,  catagory is I think document, and they will be listed there.
That is exactly how I do my titleblocks, saves tons of time.
CadJockey Militia Commander

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12910
  • London, England
Re: Fields in Title Block
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2016, 03:29:52 AM »
AutoLISP could also be used to automatically create Custom Drawing Properties with supplied values.

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13679
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Fields in Title Block
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2016, 05:13:36 AM »
Yes this can be done with fields.


But a simpler way would to create your title block with all information that doesnt change from TB to TB as text.  That way it is one spot and all you have to do edit the block when needed.   

That is what we do but we insert the TB as an xref.

Then we use feilds for data that will show up in a handful of places in the project.

YMMV
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here picking up the empties beer cans

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Fields in Title Block
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2016, 08:54:30 AM »
use sheet sets
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

dgorsman

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2437
Re: Fields in Title Block
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2016, 10:11:24 AM »
use sheet sets

Although the OP didn't mention so specifically, drawings in model space don't work with sheet set fields.
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.

try {GreatPower;}
   catch (notResponsible)
      {NextTime(PlanAhead);}
   finally
      {MasterBasics;}

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Fields in Title Block
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2016, 10:14:32 AM »
use sheet sets

Although the OP didn't mention so specifically, drawings in model space don't work with sheet set fields.

while I don't know if this is totally true....

not sure if at this time why anyone would still be trying to do their sheet(s) in model space??

did we not all give that up in in 1999?
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13679
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Fields in Title Block
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2016, 10:15:55 AM »
use sheet sets

Although the OP didn't mention so specifically, drawings in model space don't work with sheet set fields.
And from my reading of sheet sets, they can get buggy when used across multiple layout tabs in one dwg file. 
Though I have never experienced any issues when I added a layout for revisions/sketches 
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here picking up the empties beer cans

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13679
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Fields in Title Block
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2016, 10:17:26 AM »
did we not all give that up in in 1999?
Maybe the OP steam punked is CAD.   

:tongue2:
just joking
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here picking up the empties beer cans

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
Re: Fields in Title Block
« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2016, 10:24:04 AM »
did we not all give that up in in 1999?
Nope! Still see them today.
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Fields in Title Block
« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2016, 10:24:53 AM »
did we not all give that up in in 1999?
Nope! Still see them today.
same....alternately makes me laugh and or cry, and then laugh
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
Re: Fields in Title Block
« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2016, 10:39:08 AM »
did we not all give that up in in 1999?
Nope! Still see them today.
same....alternately makes me laugh and or cry, and then laugh
Depends on the industry. Not everyone needs to plot from paperspace.
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

dgorsman

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2437
Re: Fields in Title Block
« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2016, 12:11:33 PM »
Indeed.  By number of drawings the vast majority of ours are in model space, and its that way across the industry thanks to widespread adoption of programs like AutoFLOW and ISOGEN.
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.

try {GreatPower;}
   catch (notResponsible)
      {NextTime(PlanAhead);}
   finally
      {MasterBasics;}

Jeff H

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Fields in Title Block
« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2016, 12:36:42 PM »
Yes this can be done with fields.


But a simpler way would to create your title block with all information that doesnt change from TB to TB as text.  That way it is one spot and all you have to do edit the block when needed.   

That is what we do but we insert the TB as an xref.

Then we use feilds for data that will show up in a handful of places in the project.

YMMV
+1+1

Do it one place in model space that is your title block then xref it in, and per sheet use sheet set fields so you update without opening drawings.

You can use sheet set fields in modelspace that are sheet set properties or referring to another layout, and that is all a sheet set is references to layouts and never had problems with multiple layouts in same drawing.

rkmcswain

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 978
Re: Fields in Title Block
« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2016, 12:38:36 PM »
Quote from: Mark
Depends on the industry. Not everyone needs to plot from paperspace.

But why *wouldn't* you?
Excluding a rare super simple 2 minute sketch, I just don't see the reason.
It doesn't take any longer to complete the page setup for a layout, than it does for MS.

Just my 2