Author Topic: 'Join' Single Line text into Multi Line Text?  (Read 4047 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

craigr

  • Guest
'Join' Single Line text into Multi Line Text?
« on: August 06, 2012, 02:53:45 PM »
I have some OLD Cad files with 'Sequence Of Operations' that I need to copy into a Text Editor. Other than copying ONE line at a time, is there a way in CAD to convert these to Muliline Text?

craigr

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3824
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: 'Join' Single Line text into Multi Line Text?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2012, 03:00:26 PM »
As far as I know, not without Express Tools.
CAD Tech

craigr

  • Guest
Re: 'Join' Single Line text into Multi Line Text?
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2012, 03:01:59 PM »
I remember the question coming up a LONG time ago, but didn't need it then, so I didn't pay it too much mind.

I did a search here on the Swamp and didn't find anything.

Thanks for the response though.

craigr

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7524
Re: 'Join' Single Line text into Multi Line Text?
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2012, 04:30:51 PM »
If you have a full version of AutoCAD ..there are quite a few routines to do this. Mine is called t2mt.

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

craigr

  • Guest
Re: 'Join' Single Line text into Multi Line Text?
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2012, 04:32:16 PM »
Yes, Sadly, we use the LT Version - NO CHANCE of ever changing that here.

craigr

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16899
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: 'Join' Single Line text into Multi Line Text?
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2012, 04:44:56 PM »
Well, unfortunately it seems you are relegated to using the old cut and paste method or just retyping.
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Find me on https://parler.com @kblackie

craigr

  • Guest
Re: 'Join' Single Line text into Multi Line Text?
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2012, 04:49:12 PM »
Yes, that is what I guessed. But, I thought it would be worth asking.

I'll have my assistant do the typing, she is MUCH better at it and MUCH faster. - Plus, I don't like to do it. :)

craigr

cadtag

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1152
Re: 'Join' Single Line text into Multi Line Text?
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2012, 07:51:15 PM »
don't knock typing -- much easier than using a Leroy scriber

If there's a lot of text, and not much else, you _could_ try dxfout, and then edit the dxf file and delete everything other than the verbiage you want.    prolly simpler to re-key it all
The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government is big business

sugarCAD

  • Guest
Re: 'Join' Single Line text into Multi Line Text?
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2012, 02:04:43 PM »
Download the 30 day trial of Full AutoCAD.

M-dub

  • Guest
Re: 'Join' Single Line text into Multi Line Text?
« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2012, 02:11:12 PM »
Download the 30 day trial of Full AutoCAD.

Don't do it, it's a trick!!!

They'll get their hooks in and you will forever be asking your boss to buy you your own legitemate copy.

You're best off just to continue "suffering" with LT... :evil:  ;)


However, this IS another good oportunity to record the hours required to use the "manual" "LT" "work around" and compare it to the seconds it could've taken you with Full AutoCAD.

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7524
Re: 'Join' Single Line text into Multi Line Text?
« Reply #10 on: August 14, 2012, 02:18:50 PM »
Download the 30 day trial of Full AutoCAD.

....

However, this IS another good oportunity to record the hours required to use the "manual" "LT" "work around" and compare it to the seconds it could've taken you with Full AutoCAD.

Agreed  8-)

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

M-dub

  • Guest
Re: 'Join' Single Line text into Multi Line Text?
« Reply #11 on: August 14, 2012, 02:20:10 PM »
Download the 30 day trial of Full AutoCAD.

....

However, this IS another good oportunity to record the hours required to use the "manual" "LT" "work around" and compare it to the seconds it could've taken you with Full AutoCAD.

Agreed  8-)

Eventually, you WILL have enough justification.  This is fact, it is, it is.

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16899
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: 'Join' Single Line text into Multi Line Text?
« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2012, 02:40:56 PM »
Download the 30 day trial of Full AutoCAD.

....

However, this IS another good oportunity to record the hours required to use the "manual" "LT" "work around" and compare it to the seconds it could've taken you with Full AutoCAD.

Agreed  8-)

Eventually, you WILL have enough justification.  This is fact, it is, it is.

If craigr's boss hasn't had enough justification in 10 years, I doubt that it will change any time soon.
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Find me on https://parler.com @kblackie

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7524
Re: 'Join' Single Line text into Multi Line Text?
« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2012, 02:52:50 PM »
I think we've already come to that conclusion  :-P. I still can't wrap my head around why the value of automation isn't seen. Anyhoo ... carry on  :|

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC