Author Topic: Bricscad application window handle  (Read 6249 times)

bty

Bricscad application window handle
« on: June 14, 2012, 11:11:24 AM »
Anyone have any idea how to access the Application window handle in Bricscad?  I'm new to Brics VBA, and can't find any info in their help files.

Have been playing around with something like this:

Dim BricsApp As AcadApplication
Dim AppHandle As Long

AppHandle = BricsApp.HWND

But all it does is throw a runtime error "Object variable or With block variable not set"

Intelli sense shows HWND as a property of the application object but.....
Any suggestions?  Long term goal is to turn off screen updating during a long batch-plot program.
Thanks

It's Alive!

• Retired
  • Needs a day job
  • AKA Daniel
Re: Bricscad application window handle
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2012, 11:41:59 AM »
you would use ThisDrawing.Application.HWND  :-)

Cheers

Keith™

• Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2012, 11:46:07 AM »
You have not set the variable BricsApp

You can try something like this:

Code: [Select]
Function GetAppHandle(ByRef Drawing As AcadDocument) As Long
 GetAppHandle = Drawing.Application.HWND
End Function

Alternatively

Dim AppHandle As Long

Set BricsApp = ThisDrawing.Application
AppHandle = BricsApp.HWND
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Find me on https://parler.com @kblackie

bty

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2012, 11:52:52 AM »
Got it - realized I hadn't set the BricsApp- that cleared the error, thanks.

Anyone have any idea how to prevent screen updating in Bricscad thru VBA?
Basic approach:

Set BricsApp = ThisDrawing.Application

Then using:
Private Declare Function LockWindowUpdate Lib "user32" (ByVal hwndLock As Long) As Long
with:
LockWindowUpdate BricsApp.HWND
To turn off updating