Author Topic: ddatte - dialogue box modification  (Read 3199 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Biscuits

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 502
ddatte - dialogue box modification
« on: October 19, 2011, 02:40:35 PM »
I'm looking for suggestions/ideas on trying to figure out how to increase the number of lines shown in the ddatte.dcl file. It gets old having to hit the next button just for one or two additional attributes that tend to get overlooked.
Any ideas or substitute routines would be appreciated.

Thanks

BuckoAk

  • Newt
  • Posts: 69
Re: ddatte - dialogue box modification
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2011, 04:39:57 PM »
There is one handy command that I use "ATTIPEDIT", this will allow you to edit one attribute at a time and also allows you to close the command with the enter key.
Like you mentioned "Just one or two additional attributes", this command is well suited for this action.

Jeff H

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6151
Re: ddatte - dialogue box modification
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2011, 05:24:05 PM »
You might already have this set and is not the answer you are looking for but makes clicking 'OK' buttons a little less painful.
 
Mouse settings in control panel so mouse will automatically move to button
 
 

GDF

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2081
Re: ddatte - dialogue box modification
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2011, 05:48:17 PM »
I'm looking for suggestions/ideas on trying to figure out how to increase the number of lines shown in the ddatte.dcl file. It gets old having to hit the next button just for one or two additional attributes that tend to get overlooked.
Any ideas or substitute routines would be appreciated.

Thanks

Modify the acad.dcl file...save a backup first.
Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over?
BricsCAD 2020x64 Windows 10x64

stevej

  • Newt
  • Posts: 30
Re: ddatte - dialogue box modification
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2011, 10:10:48 PM »
I'm looking for suggestions/ideas on trying to figure out how to increase the number of lines shown in the ddatte.dcl file. It gets old having to hit the next button just for one or two additional attributes that tend to get overlooked.
Any ideas or substitute routines would be appreciated.

Thanks

Here's an excellent attribute editor that CAB made, and I've been using it for quite a while.
I modified it to display 16 lines, so it may be helpful to you as an example, or even as a replacement for ddatte.
The changes and modifications I made are noted in the header of both files.
The original thread is http://www.theswamp.org/index.php?topic=6741.0.

Steve
« Last Edit: October 19, 2011, 10:20:37 PM by stevej »

irneb

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1794
  • ACad R9-2016, Revit Arch 6-2016
Re: ddatte - dialogue box modification
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2011, 04:47:45 AM »
Could someone explain why no-one seems to like the EAttEdit?  :? Is it simply that you want to close the dialog by only pressing Enter? I use the Enter in the EAttEdit dialog to go to the next attribute, then when I'm finished I press Tab and then Enter. How's this less user friendly and/or inefficient than having to move your hands off the keyboard to go an click with the mouse?

Actually I hate the requirement of DdAttE where you have to be on the last attribute to use the keyboard in order to close the dialog. Otherwise Tab simply moves to the next attribute (as does Enter). BTW Enter (without a preceding Tab) on the last attribute opens the next page.

The reason I'm saying this is I generally type with 2 hands. Thus when I'm filling in stuff on my TB I double click and move both hands to the keyboard. I don't want to move them back to the mouse every time, and the EAttEdit just seems more efficient while using only the keyboard. Perhaps I'm the only one to work this way?  :P
Common sense - the curse in disguise. Because if you have it, you have to live with those that don't.

Biscuits

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 502
Re: ddatte - dialogue box modification
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2011, 02:12:55 PM »
Many thanks to Steve J & Cab for a great routine.
Eattedit does not display multiple lines. We sometimes neet to cut & paste between these various lines. Having all of them displayed at once is a big help. Otherwise it's great for adjusting text height /width.

GDF

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2081
Re: ddatte - dialogue box modification
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2011, 04:00:48 PM »
I'm looking for suggestions/ideas on trying to figure out how to increase the number of lines shown in the ddatte.dcl file. It gets old having to hit the next button just for one or two additional attributes that tend to get overlooked.
Any ideas or substitute routines would be appreciated.

Thanks

Modify the acad.dcl file...save a backup first.

Taken from the acad.dcl file...modify to suit...
Code: [Select]
acad_attedit : dialog {
    label = "Edit Attribute Definition";
    initial_focus = "tag_edit";
    : edit_box {
        key = "tag_edit";
        label = "Tag:";
        edit_width = 40;
        edit_limit = 2048;
    }
    : edit_box {
        key = "prompt_edit";
        label = "Prompt:";
        edit_width = 40;
        edit_limit = 2048;
    }
    : edit_box {
        key = "default_edit";
        label = "Default:";
        edit_width = 40;
        edit_limit = 2048;
    }
    ok_cancel;
    : errtile { width = 45; }
}


//  "Edit Attributes" / "Enter Attributes"  dialogue.
//
//  This is user-customizable, in that the "num_items" parameter specifies
//  the number of prompt/value fields to be displayed at once.  The number
//  of corresponding text and edit_box widgets should match this number,
//  with keys of "prompt_1" and "edit_1" through "prompt_n" and "edit_n".
//
//  The widths of the prompt and value fields can also be customized.
//  Up to 80 characters of text can be displayed per prompt.  The value
//  edit boxes scroll, so they can accommodate 255-character values.

acad_ddatte : dialog {
    key = "ddatte";
    label = "Edit Attributes";  // Changes to "Enter Attributes" for
                                          // INSERT with ATTDIA set.
    initial_focus = "edit_1";
    : concatenation {
        : text_part {
            label = "Block Name: ";
        }
        : text_part {
            key = "block";
            width = 31;
        }
    }
    spacer_1;
    num_items = 8;                    // Customizable
    //  The number of prompt/edit pairs should match the "num_items" setting.
    : row {
        : text_25    { key = "prompt_1"; }
        : edit32_box { key = "edit_1"; }
    }
    : row {
        : text_25    { key = "prompt_2"; }
        : edit32_box { key = "edit_2"; }
    }
    : row {
        : text_25    { key = "prompt_3"; }
        : edit32_box { key = "edit_3"; }
    }
    : row {
        : text_25    { key = "prompt_4"; }
        : edit32_box { key = "edit_4"; }
    }
    : row {
        : text_25    { key = "prompt_5"; }
        : edit32_box { key = "edit_5"; }
    }
    : row {
        : text_25    { key = "prompt_6"; }
        : edit32_box { key = "edit_6"; }
    }
    : row {
        : text_25    { key = "prompt_7"; }
        : edit32_box { key = "edit_7"; }
    }
    : row {
        : text_25    { key = "prompt_8"; }
        : edit32_box { key = "edit_8"; }
    }
    : row {
        fixed_width = true;
        alignment = centered;
        ok_button;
        cancel_button;
        : retirement_button {
            key = "prev";
            label = "&Previous";
        }
        : retirement_button {
            key = "next";
            label = " &Next ";
        }
        help_button;
    }
    errtile;
}
Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over?
BricsCAD 2020x64 Windows 10x64

Biscuits

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 502
Re: ddatte - dialogue box modification
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2011, 04:20:33 AM »
GDF.........That particular group of code is nowhere to be found in my Acad.dcl (using ACAD2011). Is this from an older version?
I will try adding on Monday. Thanks

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: ddatte - dialogue box modification
« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2011, 05:30:34 AM »

Biscuits,
Have a look around line 644.

Regards
 
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

Biscuits

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 502
Re: ddatte - dialogue box modification
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2011, 01:51:03 PM »
Got the ACAD.DCL file modified, DDatte still calls up it's own dialogue box. As I understand it isn't DDATTE an arx routine?
OR am I missing something?

GDF

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2081
Re: ddatte - dialogue box modification
« Reply #11 on: October 24, 2011, 03:17:49 PM »
Got the ACAD.DCL file modified, DDatte still calls up it's own dialogue box. As I understand it isn't DDATTE an arx routine?
OR am I missing something?

You are correct, my bad...times they are a changing.
Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over?
BricsCAD 2020x64 Windows 10x64