Author Topic: 3D Corridor Modeling (Road Rehab)  (Read 6173 times)

wbonnet

3D Corridor Modeling (Road Rehab)
« on: April 26, 2011, 04:18:18 PM »
I am new to theswamp.org, and somewhat new to AutoCAD (roughly a year of experience).  I am building a 3D corridor of a roadway, I have drafted the alignment and profile, and am now trying to create a cross section that will respond to superelevation, as well as generate the quantities of materials needed for the project.  I really only need a very simple assembly of 2 pavement layers, gravel will be used in the fill areas under these layers.  I have daylighted a 3 to 1 slope to existing ground off of a generic pavement structure (hoping I can assign gravel as the daylight material at some point).  I have explored the overlay options somewhat, but they don't seem to be doing what I want.  Also when I try to calculate quantities using the assembly I have, I get straight goose eggs.... Help please!

Also, is there a simple subassembly for shoulders that will match lane slopes?  I have set the alignment properties to have the shoulder match lane slope, but am using the basic shoulder subassembly.  I don't need all of this extension crap, I'm sure it's used somewhere but I figure they would make these simple assemblies, well .... simpler to build in autocad.  I am extending my lanes by the shoulder width to obtain a somewhat representative cross section for now, again this won't help for quantities. 

It's a shot in the dark but if anyone has any pointers, I'd greatly appreciate it.  I plan to use this forum quite frequently and hope to be able to post the answers to all of these great AutoCAD anomolies one day. 

Bill

Dinosaur

Re: 3D Corridor Modeling (Road Rehab)
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2011, 04:25:57 PM »
Welcome to TheSwamp Bill.  Could you please tell us what software you are going to use for this project - Civil 3D, Land Desktop, Carlson, something from Bentley or other 3rd party, or just vanilla AutoCAD?

mjfarrell