Author Topic: gripping a block for stretching, etc.  (Read 2922 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5327
  • Standby for witty remark...
gripping a block for stretching, etc.
« on: May 29, 2008, 08:28:09 AM »
i know you can do a stretch option for a dynamic block, but that only moves along the predefined direction by the already drawn line in the block. what i'm wondering is if there is a way to have a block with a line/polyline pertruding out from it that can be gripped or something and moved/stretched in all directions?

Civil 3D 2019 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: gripping a block for stretching, etc.
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2008, 09:47:15 AM »
I think you do this with a polar stretch pair action.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Guest

  • Guest
Re: gripping a block for stretching, etc.
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2008, 10:02:21 AM »
Kinda like this??

(saved as 2K7)

quamper

  • Guest
Re: gripping a block for stretching, etc.
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2008, 10:20:32 AM »
Any reason you would do it as a block and not a multileader (or rather a multileader that uses that block)? Assuming you are using a version of acad that supports multileaders

daron

  • Guest
Re: gripping a block for stretching, etc.
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2008, 12:19:39 PM »
ILO polar parameter, try point parameter.

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5327
  • Standby for witty remark...
Re: gripping a block for stretching, etc.
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2008, 12:24:49 PM »
Kinda like this??

(saved as 2K7)

that's actually exactly what i want. i'm curious, how do you get it to select the attributed text. everytime i select the objects for the flip parameter, it filters out my 2 attributes.
Civil 3D 2019 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: gripping a block for stretching, etc.
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2008, 12:27:44 PM »
did you define your attributes as annotative?
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Kate M

  • Guest
Re: gripping a block for stretching, etc.
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2008, 01:01:15 PM »
Make sure that in the attribute's properties, they're set to Position Locked.

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5327
  • Standby for witty remark...
Re: gripping a block for stretching, etc.
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2008, 01:53:03 PM »
ok, i have the attributes working. i have it to where i can flip the portion of the block i want, but i can't seem to get the polar stretch option to work. it will either work fine, but have an additional grip at the insertion of the block (which doesn't do anything but screw things up) or it will not stretch it properly, or i can't moved it based on the grip move point.
Civil 3D 2019 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: gripping a block for stretching, etc.
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2008, 02:17:31 PM »
go back into the block editor and move the reaction/action grips FURTHER away from the objects and or each other, this will make choosing the correct action grip on the block far easier.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5327
  • Standby for witty remark...
Re: gripping a block for stretching, etc.
« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2008, 04:47:16 PM »
this is what i have so far. this is so annoying.
matt, i'm wanting it to be just like your (just w/o the additional block options)
i just can't get the polar stretch to work properly.
Civil 3D 2019 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox