Author Topic: Copy Layer State form Vport to Vport  (Read 6451 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Amsterdammed

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 507
  • Revit MEP 2016 Acad2013, OPEN DCL
Copy Layer State form Vport to Vport
« on: October 18, 2006, 10:29:41 AM »
Hello there,

I know i saw somewhere a lisp that copies the layer state from one VP to another. Anybody aware of that lisp?

Thanks in Advance

Bernd
Bernd

Diněsaur

  • Certified Bovine Scat Distributor...I lay it on THICK
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5424
  • But I don't WANT a Day Job
Re: Copy Layer State form Vport to Vport
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2006, 10:49:56 AM »
I just use the "match properties" button after I get one viewport the way I want it.
Stephen R. Sherrill,
The Diněsaur
Civil 3D Specialist Emeritus

YAY ME !!!  I made it out alive !

T.Willey

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5218
Re: Copy Layer State form Vport to Vport
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2006, 11:13:24 AM »
You could get a list of the layer names from one viewport through code, but you would have to use the command 'vplayer' to freeze them in the one you are matching to.  You can't use 'entmod' on a viewport.

Side note:  You might be able to do it with ActiveX controls, haven't tried yet, but you can change some items with ActiveX, so this might be one.  Just throwing that out there.

I just use the "match properties" button after I get one viewport the way I want it.
But if this works, no need for code.
Tim

I don't want to ' end-up ', I want to ' become '. - Me

Please think about donating if this post helped you.

Didge

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 211
Re: Copy Layer State form Vport to Vport
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2006, 11:37:18 AM »
Quote
I just use the "match properties" button

Cheers for that one Dinosaur, I never realised that match properties worked with viewport layers
(DOH!! - Slaps Head)
Think Slow......

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10366
Re: Copy Layer State form Vport to Vport
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2006, 11:42:33 AM »
« Last Edit: October 18, 2006, 11:51:11 AM by CAB »
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (░┐░)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

Diněsaur

  • Certified Bovine Scat Distributor...I lay it on THICK
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5424
  • But I don't WANT a Day Job
Re: Copy Layer State form Vport to Vport
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2006, 12:06:10 PM »
What if the vp is in another layout? :evil:
I have gone so far as to copy a viewport from one layout tab to a second one, match the properties and erase the copy to avoid messing with layer states.  I never have become comfortable with them.
When I am first setting up my sheets, I will get the viewport layers the way I want on each type of layout tab and then copy the entire tab for new sheets and adjust the views as necessary.
Stephen R. Sherrill,
The Diněsaur
Civil 3D Specialist Emeritus

YAY ME !!!  I made it out alive !

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7027
Re: Copy Layer State form Vport to Vport
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2006, 01:02:31 PM »
It doesn't make sense that you can match properties between open drawings but not between tabs in a single drawing.... :ugly:

Windows 10 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2020

Custom Build PC

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13574
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Copy Layer State form Vport to Vport
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2006, 01:14:48 PM »
It doesn't make sense that you can match properties between open drawings but not between tabs in a single drawing.... :ugly:
I have always scratch my head over that one.
I + XI = X is true ...
... if you change your perspective.

Diněsaur

  • Certified Bovine Scat Distributor...I lay it on THICK
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5424
  • But I don't WANT a Day Job
Re: Copy Layer State form Vport to Vport
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2006, 04:10:35 PM »
What if the vp is in another layout? :evil:
I have gone so far as to copy a viewport from one layout tab to a second one, match the properties and erase the copy to avoid messing with layer states.  I never have become comfortable with them.
When I am first setting up my sheets, I will get the viewport layers the way I want on each type of layout tab and then copy the entire tab for new sheets and adjust the views as necessary.

I just tried this or the first time using 2007.  It still works at least as long as you want to keep the same scale in each viewport.  It will NOT however save the layer settings when copying a viewport between tabs as it would with 2006 - bummer . . . that was a good trick.
Stephen R. Sherrill,
The Diněsaur
Civil 3D Specialist Emeritus

YAY ME !!!  I made it out alive !

Amsterdammed

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 507
  • Revit MEP 2016 Acad2013, OPEN DCL
Re: Copy Layer State form Vport to Vport
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2006, 11:44:19 AM »
I'm working with Acad 2002, Match Prop doesn't work on Vports there.

Bernd
Bernd

Crank

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1441
Re: Copy Layer State form Vport to Vport
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2006, 03:06:16 PM »
For Acad2002 you can use the attached routine.

 Vault Professional 2018     /      Building Design Suite Ultimate 2017     /     AEC Collection 2018 + 2019 +2020