Author Topic: Understanding Workspaces  (Read 136 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MSTG007

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2065
  • I can't remeber what I already asked! I need help!
Understanding Workspaces
« on: November 01, 2017, 07:23:31 am »
I am trying to understand workspaces alittle bit more. I was thinking about creating a workspace for each city I work in and store it on my network so others could use it. Is a workspace something I could for this scenario? Or does the workspace control how the users "interface is setup"? If they customized there interface and were to load a workspace, does that reset there interface?

Maybe I need to look at another option? Thanks for the feedback on this!
Autodesk Infrastructure Design Suite 2017

Master_Shake

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1273
Re: Understanding Workspaces
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2017, 08:50:16 am »
Workspace is the current view you see, loading a workspace will override any current interface settings being used.

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Administrator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28251
Re: Understanding Workspaces
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2017, 10:05:38 am »
Would a template work better for this scenario? What type of things change per city?
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

MSTG007

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2065
  • I can't remeber what I already asked! I need help!
Re: Understanding Workspaces
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2017, 10:09:13 am »
I want to utilize the ribbon where I can have certain "details" that can be inserted into drawings and or layers, commands. Something along those lines.
Autodesk Infrastructure Design Suite 2017

dgorsman

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2239
Re: Understanding Workspaces
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2017, 10:27:29 am »
You could use a workspace for that.  For example, you have certain city-specific panels for the Ribbon, along with all the common AutoCAD stuff.  A more basic example is what I do here with our default/fallback workspaces.  Essentially almost everything you see/interact with is controlled by the workspace.  In some workspaces it may be off, in others it may be on.
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.

try {GreatPower;}
   catch (notResponsible)
      {NextTime(PlanAhead);}
   finally
      {MasterBasics;}

MSTG007

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2065
  • I can't remeber what I already asked! I need help!
Re: Understanding Workspaces
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2017, 10:36:19 am »
Can that be shared on a network for other users to use?
Autodesk Infrastructure Design Suite 2017

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10237
Re: Understanding Workspaces
« Reply #6 on: November 01, 2017, 12:19:03 pm »
I'm in BricsCAD and Workspace is the Menu, Toolbar, Ribbon & Pallet settings. Not the environmental settings & variables.
Just clarifying.
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. ()
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

dgorsman

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2239
Re: Understanding Workspaces
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2017, 10:23:58 am »
Can that be shared on a network for other users to use?

Yes.  Host the workspace under the Enterprise, then users can do a save-as to their main and diddle around with the rest.  If they bugger it up, they can always switch back to the one under the Enterprise and start over.  Load the partial CUIx under the Enterprise as well, just to keep things easy.
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.

try {GreatPower;}
   catch (notResponsible)
      {NextTime(PlanAhead);}
   finally
      {MasterBasics;}

MSTG007

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2065
  • I can't remeber what I already asked! I need help!
Re: Understanding Workspaces
« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2017, 10:28:02 am »
Gotcha. Im gonna play around with that.
Autodesk Infrastructure Design Suite 2017

BIGAL

  • Newt
  • Posts: 91
  • 30 + years of using Autocad
Re: Understanding Workspaces
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2017, 07:03:55 pm »
One of the things my workspace has is custom menus where I have taken the menu options from another workspace and picked out all the items I normally use. In my case 3 CIV3d menus are 1menu in my workspace so I keep working in the drafting workspace. If I need something else I change workspace then jump back.

The other thing is you can have profiles as well these do allow for the Paths etc to be different so could have different server network pathing. This is the 1st thing we do on new upgrades so keep original Autocad in case we screw it up.

You make a new profile save it. Then copy the desk top icon and edit properties to use your profile give it a different description. I have lisps for setting paths etc.
A man who never made a mistake never made anything