Author Topic: LAYER COLOR DISPLAY  (Read 133 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Crookedmonk

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 17
LAYER COLOR DISPLAY
« on: October 23, 2017, 08:26:55 am »
We have an operator who must have changed a system variable in AutoCAD 2018LT. They use a white background, all the assigned layer colors at one point were accurate, but now all colors (bylayer) are muted ie index color 1 (red) now appears similar to color 13. Does anyone know what sysvar controls this?

Thanks in advance

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14101
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: LAYER COLOR DISPLAY
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2017, 08:44:13 am »
(SETENV "Background" "1111111")
or (in LT):
_SETENV Background 1111111
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Crookedmonk

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 17
Re: LAYER COLOR DISPLAY
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2017, 08:49:08 am »
Thank you MJ, what exactly does that do. Before I go and make that change, I don't want to make a bad situation worse.

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14101
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: LAYER COLOR DISPLAY
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2017, 09:15:53 am »
sets the background color....you should be able to access those command through OPTIONS
(I think it's the same for LT, I don't use LT much at all)
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Crookedmonk

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 17
Re: LAYER COLOR DISPLAY
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2017, 09:24:03 am »
The background color is not( I think) an issue, as she has been using it for years. The problem is the actual display of the colors on individual layers. If she changes her background to black the red appears as it should, but switching back to a white background the red becomes muted as does other colors. Just using red as an example.

Even the color in the color palette appear different when switching background colors.
For background we use this old .lsp. Do not know who owns it but works like a charm.

(defun c:bwb ( / col )
    (if bwb:flg
        (setq col 16777215 bwb:flg nil)
        (setq col 0        bwb:flg  t )
    )
    (foreach prp '(graphicswinmodelbackgrndcolor modelcrosshaircolor)
        (vlax-put-property (acdisp) prp (setq col (- 16777215 col)))
    )
    (princ)
)
(defun acdisp nil
    (eval
        (list 'defun 'acdisp 'nil
            (vla-get-display (vla-get-preferences (vlax-get-acad-object)))
        )
    )
    (acdisp)
)
(vl-load-com) (princ)

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14101
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: LAYER COLOR DISPLAY
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2017, 10:45:14 am »
perhaps try not doing it with that LISP....and see if it behaves differently?
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Master_Shake

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1279
Re: LAYER COLOR DISPLAY
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2017, 02:43:04 pm »
I've learned that some times it's best to simply reset all settings.

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14101
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: LAYER COLOR DISPLAY
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2017, 03:11:03 pm »
I've learned that some times it's best to simply reset all settings.

The corollary to that:

It is ALWAYS a good idea to save ones user profile and workspace settings to someplace safe.

And then when something weird, or unexpected happens, one can restore those settings from the saved profile.
(not sure IF LT allows for user profiles or not?)

It looks like it does, but it stores it in the REGISTRY, hmmm so one can export and save that for emergency usage!
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Crookedmonk

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 17
Re: LAYER COLOR DISPLAY
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2017, 03:54:50 pm »
Thank you. I fear that changing her settings back to original is the way forward. ohhhhh boy   :rip: