Author Topic: Revit learning curve?  (Read 291 times)

craigr

• Water Moccasin
Revit learning curve?
« on: May 18, 2017, 01:42:53 pm »
I have used AutoCAD LT for 20ish years and have customized it heavily to fit my kind of projects.

I am now looking for new employment. A recruiter asked me if I knew Revit, which I don't. So, I have a couple questions for you folks....

What is the learning curve going from AutoCAD to Revit? Will I be able to just walk right into it?

Can Revit be customized like AutoCAD?
Self Taught and Still Learning!
Win7 Pro, AutCad LT  2013. Intel Xeon 8 Core 3.40GHz Processor, 8 Gig Ram, 3 LCD Monitors

lamarn

• Swamp Rat
Re: Revit learning curve?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2017, 12:26:44 am »
I wouldn't dare to compare it, especially not 2d lt.
If you are familiar with some 3d operations and parametric behaviour you will catch up quickly.
Customizing like the way you want it to work is a big NO! USER should adapt to the way Revit works best.

Personally i found the amount different used methods and the lack of rhyrarchy in parts and pieces to big to be really more productive than autocad. But that also caused because i work with revit for civil, not for buildings. Its not fit for other thing than buildings in my opinion.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2017, 12:32:53 am by lamarn »
Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

alterego

• Newt
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2017, 03:01:41 am »
If this is the path you want to follow I suggest getting yourself on a training course, and also look at the many videos available online, but it would still be a learning curve when you start putting those training modules into real life situations.