Author Topic: Insert Steel Section Tool  (Read 541 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ziele_o2k

  • Newt
  • Posts: 35
Insert Steel Section Tool
« on: April 19, 2017, 01:11:24 pm »
Hi,

I would like to write tool for inserting steel sections. Because of lack of time I'm asking members of this forum to join my project.
Involvement forum members would be to write a function that creates polylines of cross-sections. I will make database of sections and DCL.
If you would like to join me then lets go :)
First example I-Profiles according to DIN-1025-1:1995:
Given data:
h | bf | tw | tf | R | R1 | slope (always 14%)
Example of pline based on data above in jpg file.
Example data I140 (in mm)
Code: [Select]
h      140
bf     66
tw     5,7
tf     8,6
R      5,7
R1     3,4
Slope  14

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11679
  • AutoCAD 2015 Windows 7 London, England
Re: Insert Steel Section Tool
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2017, 01:42:35 pm »
Since the dimensions are predefined, this seems like an ideal application for the use of dynamic blocks.

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11679
  • AutoCAD 2015 Windows 7 London, England
Re: Insert Steel Section Tool
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2017, 01:46:25 pm »

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13153
  • "GRAMR? I need no stinkin' gramr!"
Re: Insert Steel Section Tool
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2017, 01:46:36 pm »
AutoCAD Architectural already has all the steel shapes in they Detail Components Tool, including decking, bar joist ect.

I will stay there are a lot of Code out there that has been done for which you can modify to suit your needs.
Before I leave the house in the morning, I make sure to pack my sense of humor.


=   =   =  ACA 2015, Revit Arch 2015 & 16 Navisworks Manage 2015 & 16 on 64bit on Win7P  =   =   =   =

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10189
Re: Insert Steel Section Tool
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2017, 02:20:45 pm »
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. ()
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

Grrr1337

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 313
Re: Insert Steel Section Tool
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2017, 03:53:45 pm »
I'd suggest creating point list for the 1/4 of the steel shape. Then reflect (mirror) the point list on one axis and redefine the point list, then reflect again the point list on the second axis and redefine it again. Finally for each point create list of group codes like:
Code: [Select]
_$ (80.0 120.0 0.0)
'( (10 80.0 120.0) (40 . 0.0) (41 . 0.0) (42 . 0.0) (91 . 0) )
Append them for LWpoly elist and entmake it.

ziele_o2k

  • Newt
  • Posts: 35
Re: Insert Steel Section Tool
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2017, 04:18:59 am »
Thank you all for replies
Since the dimensions are predefined, this seems like an ideal application for the use of dynamic blocks.
For many reasons this is not good solution.
There is also this:
https://www.theswamp.org/index.php?topic=33361.0
Amazing tool but unfortunately code isn't open and this is not free tool - no use for me
AutoCAD Architectural already has all the steel shapes in they Detail Components Tool, including decking, bar joist ect.
I will stay there are a lot of Code out there that has been done for which you can modify to suit your needs.
I'm using Advance steel so I also have a lot of steel shapes, but users of pure Autocad don't have tools like that.
I downloaded a lot of code which is out there and of course i will work with that.
Another thread on the subject.
https://www.theswamp.org/index.php?topic=47517.15
I will check this one, thanks CAB
I'd suggest creating point list for the 1/4 of the steel shape. Then reflect (mirror) the point list on one axis and redefine the point list, then reflect again the point list on the second axis and redefine it again. Finally for each point create list of group codes like:
Code: [Select]
_$ (80.0 120.0 0.0)
'( (10 80.0 120.0) (40 . 0.0) (41 . 0.0) (42 . 0.0) (91 . 0) )
Append them for LWpoly elist and entmake it.
This is also my idea.

In conclusion,
Idea of this post was to get help and write tool as community, I will write this sooner or later by myself but it will take a lot of time (no free time - dad soon :) )
Thank you all - I will be posting all progress :)


Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11679
  • AutoCAD 2015 Windows 7 London, England
Re: Insert Steel Section Tool
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2017, 07:59:45 am »
Since the dimensions are predefined, this seems like an ideal application for the use of dynamic blocks.
For many reasons this is not good solution.

Such as?

ziele_o2k

  • Newt
  • Posts: 35
Re: Insert Steel Section Tool
« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2017, 08:06:17 am »
Since the dimensions are predefined, this seems like an ideal application for the use of dynamic blocks.
For many reasons this is not good solution.

Such as?
for ease of handling, extending, trimming, changing linetype of, region modeling for composite shape analysis, and converting to 3d solid and 3d surface etc.
Second main reason is that cheap Autocad brothers don't handle dynamic blocks very well :)

Master_Shake

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1180
Re: Insert Steel Section Tool
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2017, 12:10:02 pm »

BIGAL

  • Newt
  • Posts: 64
  • 30 + years of using Autocad
Re: Insert Steel Section Tool
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2017, 11:26:55 pm »
Like master_shake do not reinvent the shape, another if not mentioned "AlsSteelMill.zip"
A man who never made a mistake never made anything

BIGAL

  • Newt
  • Posts: 64
  • 30 + years of using Autocad
Re: Insert Steel Section Tool
« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2017, 12:23:51 am »
Your drawing steelsections do you need the next step which includes the shapes like "Strucplus" does all the member connections as well plus way more.
A man who never made a mistake never made anything