Author Topic: License server  (Read 2428 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
License server
« on: March 22, 2017, 12:29:57 PM »
Hi all,

I'm trying to find a way in Lisp to know wich server the license is keep.
any idea where I can found this info ?

Thanks.
Keep smile...

Bobby C. Jones

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 516
  • Cry havoc and let loose the dogs of war.
Re: License server
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2017, 01:51:24 PM »
It can be stored in more than one location.  I don't have any code, but I keep a link to this article that explains where acad looks.

https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/autocad/troubleshooting/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/Use-of-licpath-lic-file-and-ADSKFLEXLICENSEFILE-environment-variable-on-same-computer.html
Bobby C. Jones

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
Re: License server
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2017, 03:59:11 PM »
Thank you...

But the question is if there is any way to know where the license come from...
because we have redundant servers,..

in fact, the information is stored in license Manager under about command..
so maybe is there any way to get this ?
« Last Edit: March 22, 2017, 04:04:00 PM by Andrea »
Keep smile...

Bobby C. Jones

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 516
  • Cry havoc and let loose the dogs of war.
Re: License server
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2017, 04:15:00 PM »
Like the article states, it's a cascading search:
  • ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE
  • registry
  • LM_LICENSE_FILE
  • licpath.lic

If it's not in the environment variable, or in the registry, or in the other environment variable, then it's stored in the .lic file.

A quick search for where to find the .lic file yielded this article.
https://knowledge.autodesk.com/search-result/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/Where-is-the-LICPATH-LIC-file-for-2017-products.html
Bobby C. Jones

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
Re: License server
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2017, 05:08:33 PM »
This article miss many info...
specifying that the License location server can also be in Windows environnement variable who the location That AutoCAD looking first.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Environment]
"ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE"="server"

then,...it look after on :
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\FLEXlm License Manager

Then...it look after on:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\FLEXlm License Manager

Also,...the servers location can be multiples allowing AutoCAD to get the license being redundant.
ex:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\FLEXlm License Manager]
"ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE"="@server1;@server2;@server3"

moreover, it will be better if you specify the PORT number.
ex:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\FLEXlm License Manager]
"ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE"="2020@server1;2020@server2;2020@server3"

you can use IP adress or servername or the LICPATH.LIC location files...
ex:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\FLEXlm License Manager]
"ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE"="c:\users\me\blablabla\LICPATH.LIC"

see:
https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/autocad/troubleshooting/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/Installing-distributed-server-model-s.html


but the question still
"how do I know wich server AutoCAD is connected to ?"


Keep smile...

Bobby C. Jones

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 516
  • Cry havoc and let loose the dogs of war.
Re: License server
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2017, 10:01:04 AM »
"ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE"="@server1;@server2;@server3"

I see, you stated you were dealing with redundant servers up front and I choose to skip right over that little tidbit.  I do not know the answer to your question.  Sorry Andrea!
Bobby C. Jones

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
Re: License server
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2017, 08:55:54 AM »
"ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE"="@server1;@server2;@server3"

I see, you stated you were dealing with redundant servers up front and I choose to skip right over that little tidbit.  I do not know the answer to your question.  Sorry Andrea!


its ok Bobby,...Thanks for your help..I'll share the information when I'll find it. :)
Keep smile...

rkmcswain

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 978
Re: License server
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2017, 04:54:06 PM »
Another question on this is.... can it change during a session?

If you fire up AutoCAD and it grabs a license from LIC01, but then an hour layer LIC01 goes down.
Presuming AutoCAD knows to go find LIC02, will it do it without a restart, and would your code know about this change?