Author Topic: Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW  (Read 364 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5312
  • Standby for witty remark...
Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW
« on: February 23, 2017, 10:18:30 am »
Has anyone noticed when bringing in a SHP file with MAPWSPACE in c3d2017, if the SHP file has any significant amount of data, the file completely bogs down and you can't pan/zoom around?
Recently upgraded from 2014 and never had a problem.
I'm even loading the same SHP files in 2017 that were fine in previous c3d versions.
Civil 3D 2017 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3742
Re: Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2017, 12:41:56 pm »
I've not noticed that, although that may just be due to the fact that I generally MAPIMPORT Shapefiles, and only use MAPWSPACE for drawing queries of the imported Object Data.

What exactly are you 'bringing in' from the Shapefile(s) using MAPWSPACE?


The only thing I have noticed slowing a session to a crawl, is a pick of even a single imported Polyline that has too many vertices, with no real way to force a deselect (until the select is finished). GRIPOBJLIMIT only accounts for the number of entities selected, and not the max number of Grips to be displayed.


Cheers
"Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14034
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2017, 09:36:35 am »
is the data local, or on a network?


If on a network test with a local copy.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5312
  • Standby for witty remark...
Re: Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2017, 09:50:07 am »
is the data local, or on a network?


If on a network test with a local copy.
The data is on a network. I'll give it a try.
Odd thing is, it's been fine on previous version loading from a network drive.
Civil 3D 2017 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14034
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2017, 10:08:01 am »
is the data local, or on a network?


If on a network test with a local copy.
The data is on a network. I'll give it a try.
Odd thing is, it's been fine on previous version loading from a network drive.

It happens here quite a bit, due to excessive use of DFS (our data is somewhere in an AMAZON Server Rack)

But our contract IT people are infallible  :uglystupid2:  according to management.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14034
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2017, 10:49:31 am »
you might even check your MAPOPTIONS for this setting....and verify amount of space available there.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5312
  • Standby for witty remark...
Re: Civil 3D 2017 - MapWSpace SLOOOOOOOOOW
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2017, 11:48:18 am »
Don't see anything different from yours.
This also isn't isolated to myself; everyone has experienced the lag since we upgraded to 2017.
Civil 3D 2017 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox