Author Topic: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus  (Read 616 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5310
  • Standby for witty remark...
Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« on: February 08, 2017, 10:38:46 am »
Every time I think I understand menus, something doesn't work properly.

I am trying to add a few Shortcut Menus (right-click) to the enterprise menu, but after loading, they do not work. The only way I can get Shortcut Menus to work is if they're in the main cui.
Is this the case or am I missing something?
Civil 3D 2017 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10205
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2017, 10:09:36 pm »
Well when you get it figured out I have a few question.  8)
Every time I upgrade a version all my button menus are lost.
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. ()
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

Master_Shake

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1218
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2017, 07:48:34 am »
I always had unresolved issues with using CUI files loaded as enterprise that disappeared when it was loaded as a partial customization file.

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5310
  • Standby for witty remark...
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2017, 09:33:10 am »
Arg! What is the point of an enterprise file if some features can only be loaded in the main CUI?
Civil 3D 2017 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox

dgorsman

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2017, 10:13:25 am »
Haven't tried it in a while, but from memory I think you're right.  I know the Quick Access toolbar will only respect the Main as well.
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.

try {GreatPower;}
   catch (notResponsible)
      {NextTime(PlanAhead);}
   finally
      {MasterBasics;}

Master_Shake

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1218
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2017, 02:02:07 pm »
The only downside is that the CUI file is editable while loaded as a partial customization file. Other than that, I don't see any real advantage to enterprise loading.

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5310
  • Standby for witty remark...
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2017, 02:14:27 pm »
The only downside is that the CUI file is editable while loaded as a partial customization file. Other than that, I don't see any real advantage to enterprise loading.
I've never been a fan, but I was going to use it as I was wanting to add some right-click menus.
I think I'll just code them into a reactor. Less of a headache than dealing with Autodesk and their wacky thought processes.
Civil 3D 2017 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6278
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2017, 02:18:17 pm »
The only downside is that the CUI file is editable while loaded as a partial customization file. Other than that, I don't see any real advantage to enterprise loading.
I've never been a fan, but I was going to use it as I was wanting to add some right-click menus.
I think I'll just code them into a reactor. Less of a headache than dealing with Autodesk and their wacky thought processes.
I was hoping you'd figure it out so you could show me  :)  .. I've never had very good luck customizing CUI for some reason.

Windows 10 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2018

Custom Build PC

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5310
  • Standby for witty remark...
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2017, 02:21:30 pm »
The only downside is that the CUI file is editable while loaded as a partial customization file. Other than that, I don't see any real advantage to enterprise loading.
I've never been a fan, but I was going to use it as I was wanting to add some right-click menus.
I think I'll just code them into a reactor. Less of a headache than dealing with Autodesk and their wacky thought processes.
I was hoping you'd figure it out so you could show me  :)  .. I've never had very good luck customizing CUI for some reason.
lol. Every time I think I have it figured out, something throws me for a loop.
Civil 3D 2017 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6278
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2017, 02:35:19 pm »
Yeah .. I gave up a while ago. My software still loads an *.mns file  :o

Windows 10 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2018

Custom Build PC

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10205
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2017, 03:00:09 pm »
I've been dealing with BricsCAD & updates messing my arrangements of tool bars & trying to find a solution.
This may be the answer for me.
https://www.bricsys.com/common/support/forumthread.jsp?id=26124#26125
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. ()
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

dgorsman

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #11 on: February 09, 2017, 03:21:31 pm »
The only downside is that the CUI file is editable while loaded as a partial customization file. Other than that, I don't see any real advantage to enterprise loading.

I have everything (almost...) on our Enterprise CUIx system.  Custom CUIx as the base, ACAD, Raster Design, Express, third-party, in-house, etc. CUIx files loaded as partial.  Enterprise has some default "starter" workspaces for users to get started with.  Every user has their own Main per AutoCAD profile ("application") for workspaces and any custom toolbars or other UI elements they care to manage themselves.  I've made a few adjustments to Ribbon panels and they show up on everyone's computer without any additional mucking around.

Works very well, aside from a few things which don't work (aforementioned QAT and customized partial menus) but I haven't found anything full-stop preventing it from working well.
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.

try {GreatPower;}
   catch (notResponsible)
      {NextTime(PlanAhead);}
   finally
      {MasterBasics;}

Master_Shake

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1218
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #12 on: February 10, 2017, 11:39:30 am »
The only downside is that the CUI file is editable while loaded as a partial customization file. Other than that, I don't see any real advantage to enterprise loading.
I've never been a fan, but I was going to use it as I was wanting to add some right-click menus.
I think I'll just code them into a reactor. Less of a headache than dealing with Autodesk and their wacky thought processes.
I was hoping you'd figure it out so you could show me  :)  .. I've never had very good luck customizing CUI for some reason.

What kind of help do you need? We run a custom, five-panel ribbon, auto-loading of lisp routines with user specific toolbars.

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6278
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #13 on: February 10, 2017, 11:46:34 am »
The only downside is that the CUI file is editable while loaded as a partial customization file. Other than that, I don't see any real advantage to enterprise loading.
I've never been a fan, but I was going to use it as I was wanting to add some right-click menus.
I think I'll just code them into a reactor. Less of a headache than dealing with Autodesk and their wacky thought processes.
I was hoping you'd figure it out so you could show me  :)  .. I've never had very good luck customizing CUI for some reason.

What kind of help do you need? We run a custom, five-panel ribbon, auto-loading of lisp routines with user specific toolbars.
I don't really need help ... I'm kind of a command line junkie so I've kept my graphical tools pretty minimal. Thanks for asking though!  :)

Windows 10 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2018

Custom Build PC

Master_Shake

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1218
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #14 on: February 10, 2017, 11:48:36 am »
Like I've told everyone here, once you go contextual ribbon panel for day to day basic AutoCAD functions, it's incredibly harder and less efficient to go back.

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6278
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #15 on: February 10, 2017, 12:01:40 pm »
Like I've told everyone here, once you go contextual ribbon panel for day to day basic AutoCAD functions, it's incredibly harder and less efficient to go back.
You have an example of "contextual ribbon panel" ? I'm always looking for faster ways to do things.

Windows 10 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2018

Custom Build PC

Master_Shake

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1218
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #16 on: February 10, 2017, 12:48:16 pm »
The most common ones here are;
1) A hatch entity is selected
2) An mtext entity is double clicked into.

dgorsman

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #17 on: February 10, 2017, 02:37:23 pm »
REFEDIT is a really simple example.  Old school it would pop up a tool bar with buttons for save, discard, add, and remove while the command is active.  Ribbon panel basically does the same thing, but you're not hunting for that elusive 4-button floating toolbar on an HD widescreen monitor.

The new semi-intelligent ARRAY might be a better example.  Select an array, change a few numbers in the boxes... much like Hatch selection.

Raster design tools are another good example.
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.

try {GreatPower;}
   catch (notResponsible)
      {NextTime(PlanAhead);}
   finally
      {MasterBasics;}

Jeff H

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5804
Re: Enterprise CUIx - Shortcut Menus
« Reply #18 on: February 10, 2017, 02:49:33 pm »
Like I've told everyone here, once you go contextual ribbon panel for day to day basic AutoCAD functions, it's incredibly harder and less efficient to go back.
You have an example of "contextual ribbon panel" ? I'm always looking for faster ways to do things.
Are you wanting an example of creating your own?