Author Topic: Multiple insertion points - original insertion point moves with others  (Read 458 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5310
  • Standby for witty remark...
Is it possible to add multiple insertion points (point move parameter) to a block, and when you grip move the block by one of the dynamic block insertion points, it moves the block normally, keeping the true insertion point in place, or does it always just move all objects within the block and leave the original insertion point as it was originally inserted?
« Last Edit: January 23, 2017, 03:40:16 pm by alanjt »
Civil 3D 2017 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5310
  • Standby for witty remark...
Re: Multiple insertion points - original insertion point moves with others
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2017, 03:40:02 pm »
Nevermind, I figured it out.
In the block editor, you have to create a Basepoint parameter, then add it to the selection of all additional insertion points.
Civil 3D 2017 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox

Randall Culp

  • Newt
  • Posts: 37
Re: Multiple insertion points - original insertion point moves with others
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2017, 04:56:19 pm »
Nevermind, I figured it out.
In the block editor, you have to create a Basepoint parameter, then add it to the selection of all additional insertion points.
?? 
AFAIK, you can have only one "BASEPOINT" in a block.  You can have multiple "POINT" parameters but they only work when placing the block.  selecting the block later will only display the one grip at the true insertion point.  Have you found a way to add multiple "insertion" grips to a block??
Randy Culp
(AKA CADaver)

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5310
  • Standby for witty remark...
Re: Multiple insertion points - original insertion point moves with others
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2017, 03:19:47 pm »
Nevermind, I figured it out.
In the block editor, you have to create a Basepoint parameter, then add it to the selection of all additional insertion points.
?? 
AFAIK, you can have only one "BASEPOINT" in a block.  You can have multiple "POINT" parameters but they only work when placing the block.  selecting the block later will only display the one grip at the true insertion point.  Have you found a way to add multiple "insertion" grips to a block??
See attached block.
Civil 3D 2017 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox

Randall Culp

  • Newt
  • Posts: 37
Re: Multiple insertion points - original insertion point moves with others
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2017, 05:43:18 pm »
huh, ain't that cute
Randy Culp
(AKA CADaver)

alanjt

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5310
  • Standby for witty remark...
Re: Multiple insertion points - original insertion point moves with others
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2017, 04:50:06 pm »
huh, ain't that cute
If you do it, you have to make sure you create a base point (block insertion point), and select it for each additional point so when you grip move the block from the extra insertion points, it moves the insertion point with the block.
Civil 3D 2017 ~ Windohz 7 64bit
Dropbox