Author Topic: SCALE command index?  (Read 201 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10148
SCALE command index?
« on: December 09, 2016, 01:40:19 pm »
Using 2006 if it matters, When I activate the scale command in model space or paper space, pick my point and begin a visual scale process by moving the mouse. sometimes the mouse move is too sensitive. What controls the cursor distance to actual scale shown? I've been too lazy to figure this out but today I thought I would ask after all these years of ignoring the problem.
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. ()
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

roy_043

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1391
  • BricsCAD 16
Re: SCALE command index?
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2016, 02:24:28 pm »
AFAIK: Distance=Scale. And there is no way to change this 1:1 ratio.

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10148
Re: SCALE command index?
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2016, 03:03:05 pm »
Well all plans are not the same so there is something controlling that ratio.
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. ()
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10148
Re: SCALE command index?
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2016, 03:19:39 pm »
You may be correct Roy. perhaps I was zoomed in very close when the scaling was to my liking and zoomed out when it was too much.
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. ()
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10148
Re: SCALE command index?
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2016, 03:48:10 pm »
Roy you are exactly correct.
The problem I have experienced has been my perception. Just never stopped t think about it I guess.
If you have a large object and zoomed out the object scale change is difficult to control due to the mouse moves too much at that zoom factor.
So I suppose I would be better served using a dynamic zoom routine that took in to account the screen size and adjust the mouse movement to a ratio related to the screen.
Just talking out loud. Back to work now. Too much of that these days.

I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. ()
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

danallen

  • Guest
Re: SCALE command index?
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2016, 08:35:45 pm »
I just use this shortcut to scale with 3 points, but no dynamic, never had reason to use dynamic. I pair it with quick 3 point rotate

Code - Auto/Visual Lisp: [Select]
  1. ;;; quick scale with reference
  2. (defun c:SOO  ( / ss1 bp1)
  3.  ;;; your error start
  4.  (if (and (setq ss1 (ssget ":L" )) ;select  on unlocked layer
  5.           (setq bp1 (getpoint "\nSpecify base point for scale by reference:"))
  6.  
  7.      ) ;and
  8.    (progn
  9.      (command "scale" ss1 "" bp1 "reference" bp1)
  10.      (SAA_CMDACTIVE nil)
  11.    ) ;progn
  12.  ) ;if
  13.  ;;; your error end
  14. )
  15.  
  16. ;;; quick rotate with reference
  17. (defun c:ROO  ( / ss1 bp1)
  18.  ;;; your error start
  19.  (if (and (setq ss1 (ssget ":L" )) ;select  on unlocked layer
  20.           (setq bp1 (getpoint "\nSpecify base point for rotating by reference:"))
  21.  
  22.      ) ;and
  23.    (progn
  24.      (command "rotate" ss1 "" bp1 "reference" bp1)
  25.      (SAA_CMDACTIVE nil)
  26.    ) ;progn
  27.  ) ;if
  28.  ;;; your error end
  29. )
  30.  
  31.  
  32. ;==========================================================
  33. ; Continue pausing until exited command mode
  34. ; nil = pause
  35. ; otherwise pass string to use
  36. ; credit unknown - possibly Roy Harkow
  37. ; usage example: (command "line" (SAA_CMDACTIVE nil))
  38. ;==========================================================
  39. (defun SAA_CMDACTIVE ( passcmd / )
  40.  (if (null passcmd) (setq passcmd pause))
  41.  (while (not (= 0 (getvar "cmdactive")))
  42.    (command passcmd)
  43.  ) ;end while
  44. )
  45.  

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10148
Re: SCALE command index?
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2016, 12:28:46 am »
Thanks Dan, I think scale by reference is a good alternative.
It gives better control with the mouse.
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. ()
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

danallen

  • Guest
Re: SCALE command index?
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2016, 05:26:15 pm »
CAB,

You're welcome, I'm glad my little script can be of use to you.

Dan