Author Topic: Element became corrupted  (Read 179 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15338
Element became corrupted
« on: November 24, 2016, 06:20:52 am »
Hi all..

I'd like to pick everyones brains please.  Yesterday a couple of add-ins were installed on my machine to allow for the cobie data drops I need to do.  I now get an error message telling me that Element xxxxxx became corrupt at some time before this session.  It gives me the option to try to save the file as a recovery file, but every time it bombs out before the recovery file is created.

How do I find out which object is corrupt?

Many thanks
T :)
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

www.travelthrutime

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 8711
Re: Element became corrupted
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2016, 10:52:49 am »
Is this your local or central file?

The ID you get from that message, write it down, search for element by I'd, delete it. But, you need to try detaching from central with audit checked first (cross your fingers you can open the model). I've known a few manuf families that caused some nasty errors before but I've been lucky enough to always get a model open (I've lost several man hours of work--a few days worth at worst--but I've been somewhat fortunate). Good luck.
“Common sense is not so common.” ~Voltaire

--> Donate to TheSwamp.org <--

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15338
Re: Element became corrupted
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2016, 08:25:47 am »
Is this your local or central file?

The ID you get from that message, write it down, search for element by I'd, delete it. But, you need to try detaching from central with audit checked first (cross your fingers you can open the model). I've known a few manuf families that caused some nasty errors before but I've been lucky enough to always get a model open (I've lost several man hours of work--a few days worth at worst--but I've been somewhat fortunate). Good luck.
Hi John... it was the central file, but I have managed to find the culprits and deleted them.  Things seem to be OK again now..

Thanks for responding :)
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

www.travelthrutime

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15338
Re: Element became corrupted
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2016, 03:49:16 am »
This seems to have reared its ugly head again, but on a different file. We cant open the central file or the local files, Revit offers to make a backup, but crashes out before it creates one... what are our options please :(

Many thanks in advance for any help.
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

www.travelthrutime

rvhwlc

  • Newt
  • Posts: 142
Re: Element became corrupted
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2016, 06:57:02 am »
all software up to date...?

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 8711
Re: Element became corrupted
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2016, 07:04:40 am »
First thing is to check for updates ( ^^^ ).

Have you been trying to open the files with the audit box checked?

You may also try to restore a backup (from the IT department) and see if you can open an older version (detach from central, and audit checked of course).
“Common sense is not so common.” ~Voltaire

--> Donate to TheSwamp.org <--

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15338
Re: Element became corrupted
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2016, 08:40:27 am »
all software up to date...?
Thanks for that... it was that causing the problem!  The person in question can now open their model again.
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

www.travelthrutime

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15338
Re: Element became corrupted
« Reply #7 on: December 16, 2016, 08:41:00 am »
First thing is to check for updates ( ^^^ ).

Have you been trying to open the files with the audit box checked?

You may also try to restore a backup (from the IT department) and see if you can open an older version (detach from central, and audit checked of course).
Thanks again John.
Updates did the trick :)
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

www.travelthrutime

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 8711
Re: Element became corrupted
« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2016, 08:43:39 am »
Sounds like you have some potential issues to work out.
“Common sense is not so common.” ~Voltaire

--> Donate to TheSwamp.org <--