Author Topic: microstation clone  (Read 3126 times)

bobvan

microstation clone
« on: October 03, 2016, 01:37:28 PM »
I would like any information on cad programs that function like Microstation.  I am an old cad designer from before Microstion was Microstation.  I started out on Intergraph's (IGDS) and then on to Microstation on the pc.  I have tried to use Acad and find the command structure none intuitive.  I'm too comfortable with the Microstation way of doing things.  I can not afford the price of Bentley systems products and really only need 2d capability for small projects in my shop.  Is there a free or reasonably priced cad 2d program that uses the left click command selection, left click data screen input, right click reset and left+right click for snap. its what I know and really like. I apologize if you like Acad.

Best
Bob VanValkenburg

tedg

• Swamp Rat
Re: microstation clone
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2016, 01:46:30 PM »
I apologize if you like Acad.

Best
Bob VanValkenburg
That is all I get out of this..
(LOL)
Sorry I don't have a answer to your question, I've use Microstation and being a long time, advanced, Acad user... I HATE (with a passion) MicroStation.
I used a program called DesignCad about 20 years ago that I think was cheap, but I think it acted like Acad release 8 more than anything.

Good luck on your search.
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023

Rob...

• King Gator
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2016, 01:49:09 PM »
You should be asking in a MicroStation forum. Not much love for MicroStation around here.
CAD Tech

bobvan

« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2016, 03:11:25 PM »
Thanks for the reply.  I would go to a Microstation forum if I could find one.  Bentley has that sewn up I believe.  I'm sorry you hate Microstation.  I think you like what you are comfortable with.  I know I do.  Just want to find an acceptable substitute for my budget.  It seems like that may not exist.