Author Topic: LAS to c3d surface  (Read 375 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

cadtag

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 993
LAS to c3d surface
« on: August 31, 2016, 02:54:47 pm »
First time trying to deal with point clouds.  Running c3d 2014,  and i've imported an LAS file to a point cloud.  Geographically it looks to be in the right spot, but all that appears is a bounding box.  Point cloud Properties says about 6 million points.  So far, so good, right?

Right clicking on the bounding box, I can pick on 'Add Points to Surface".  Yay -- that's what i want to end up with.

The problem is that only an empty surface is created...... no content at all is visible on the Statistics tab of the Surface properties.

The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government is big business

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: LAS to c3d surface
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2016, 03:22:56 pm »
I think you missed a step..
while here did you ADD the point cloud file and correct format,e tc?


It will then take some time to process and will dot his in background
then    e  v  e  n  t   u  a  l   l  y   it will report that it has finished.




Sure your LAS file is full and complete?
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

cadtag

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 993
Re: LAS to c3d surface
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2016, 03:31:56 pm »
yes,  i went through that wizard, which is how the point cloud object was created.   

If i turn _off_ Civil3d Properties on the point cloud object bounding box, I can see the actual 1 pixel points,  And it overlays on my georeferenced imagery correctly, so spatially it looks correct.

One picture show the point cloud properties, second show the point inserted to the surface (0)


« Last Edit: August 31, 2016, 03:39:35 pm by cadtag »
The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government is big business

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: LAS to c3d surface
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2016, 04:20:40 pm »
it's probably too large a file to post here, however where did you get that file from (post a link  ) and i will test that las file for you .
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

cadtag

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 993
Re: LAS to c3d surface
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2016, 04:31:28 pm »
url is http://digir.fiu.edu/Lidar/lidarNew.php,  County Miami-Dade, , block 117555_e
The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government is big business

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: LAS to c3d surface
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2016, 04:37:23 pm »
going  and you checked these settings...(yes)
« Last Edit: August 31, 2016, 04:46:49 pm by mjfarrell »
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: LAS to c3d surface
« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2016, 04:50:06 pm »
when I add the points to the surface I get a nice (noisey) surface file.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

cadtag

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 993
Re: LAS to c3d surface
« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2016, 05:16:53 pm »
What XY  coordinates do you show for the (approx) center of the lake.  They should be X=942610, y= 542354. (depending on where you click in the central blue area)

The XML Metafile doe snot reference SPSC system, instead calling out Transverse Mercator for projection and D_NORTH_AMERICAN_1983_HARN  geodetic reference system 80.  IIRC when I created the point cloud from the LAS file, I had to give it a LL system for it to land correctly and match up with my georeferenced FDOT imagery.

The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government is big business

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: LAS to c3d surface
« Reply #8 on: August 31, 2016, 05:22:41 pm »
I use SP out of habit, and was more or less concerned that the file might not be reading correctly, empty, or otherwise ill-suited for use.



However it looks like I still got it right (woot!)



Command: ID
Specify point:  X = 942459.3000     Y = 542436.8400     Z = -1.1200
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: LAS to c3d surface
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2016, 08:41:52 am »
your LAS surface OK today?
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

cadtag

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 993
Re: LAS to c3d surface
« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2016, 11:00:47 am »
no joy -- either 2014 doesn't handle it properly, or my IT group have managed to fubar something.  I'm willking to bet on the latter, since they managed to break geomaps several times.  Amazing how software works so much better on my home box than the corporate network... :devilsidesmile:
The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government is big business

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: LAS to c3d surface
« Reply #11 on: September 01, 2016, 12:14:50 pm »
no joy -- either 2014 doesn't handle it properly, or my IT group have managed to fubar something.  I'm willking to bet on the latter, since they managed to break geomaps several times.  Amazing how software works so much better on my home box than the corporate network... :devilsidesmile:

I did my surface in 2014....so at least here it works.

perhaps screenshot all of your steps in a new file...I'll review and advise.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/