Author Topic: Make CUIX file Public  (Read 3646 times)

novice

Make CUIX file Public
« on: May 25, 2016, 01:10:31 PM »
I'm brand new to working with the CUI. I just made a pretty extensive pull-down menu for all my lisp routines. Works great for me - I'm happy with it. Problem is, I want others in my company to have this pull-down menu on their computers as well. And I can't figure out how to do that.

I first made my menu part of the Main Customization File (acad.cuix). Then I figured I screwed up and I moved it down to Partial Customization Files (custom menus). I still can't figure out what to do next.

I had naively figured I would just do the work, then export it to a location on our server, then each person could load it at will.

I believe we are using stand-alone AutoCAD licenses - I don't think we have a network license.

Any advice?

dgorsman

• Water Moccasin
Re: Make CUIX file Public
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2016, 01:55:08 PM »
Organize your CUIx files.  Default stuff that everyone should have access to should be under the Enterprise; anything specific to a user should be under Main with each user having their own personal Main CUIx file.  Typical Enterprise organization would be like this:

Enterprise CUIx file:
  • ACAD
  • Raster Design
  • Third-party
  • Your CUIx file

With everybody pointing to the same Enterprise they will always have those CUIx files loaded.  From there its only a matter of getting the UI content added to their workspace (profiles control which files are loaded; workspaces control which UI elements are shown/hidden).
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.

try {GreatPower;}
   catch (notResponsible)
      {NextTime(PlanAhead);}
   finally
      {MasterBasics;}

ChrisCarlson

« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2016, 02:04:20 PM »
Basically put all the customization stuff in a seperate CUIx file, place it in a shared location, next add that shared directory to your support paths.