Author Topic: Infraworks 360 with Civil3D  (Read 3336 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MSTG007

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1830
  • I can't remeber what I already asked! I need help!
Infraworks 360 with Civil3D
« on: December 11, 2015, 07:15:34 am »
Just wanted to get some input on this. What is the advantage of using Infraworks with Civil3D? Is this more of a tool that is made for "Business Developments"? ie. A user has this on a pad / tablet and goes and meets a client and starts sketching out ideas (Basic shapes with textured objects)?

I know I bring up SiteOps quite often, but to me. (I see it being more helpful more helpful that Infraworks)?

Just trying to get a better understanding of it and how to utilitizes a workflow for it with our Civil Department.
Autodesk Infrastructure Design Suite 2016

lamarn

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 495
Re: Infraworks 360 with Civil3D
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2015, 08:28:20 am »
I was wondering about the same question, from a civil structure point of view. You can bring in FBX files into IW. It seems like a good tool to gather around with stakeholders. No clue yet what I brings about the advantages for designing in AutoCAD CIvil3D Revit. Apart for preliminary road design I get the more idea that it is like Navisworks. This is some explanation I got by email today

"
At high level, you can host both Civil 3D DWG, AutoCAD DWG, Bentley DGN and Revit RVT in the single InfraWorks 360 model – with all elements being converted into the same SQLite database and metadata being handled (all dependant on the original data of course).
 

As for the relationship with Navisworks, here’s a brief explanation of where they all fit:

1.      InfraWorks 360 offers coordination for design from the very start of the project
2.      Navisworks comes in later to help coordinate construction planning
3.      BIM 360 helps after this for the actual construction of the project on site

"

Hopes that the gives some insights'
« Last Edit: December 11, 2015, 08:33:11 am by lamarn »
Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Infraworks 360 with Civil3D
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2015, 08:31:43 am »
In theory....


Infraworks is a scenario/planning and presentation tool.

It can help you make some pre design decisions and some renderings for same.

Much of what one sketches can transmit to intelligent objects back inside civil 3d.

However, that geometry will still require some adjustment, as there are not any real 'cad' tools in there to ensure that it is geometrically correct.

With  that in mind one could adopt a preliminary design (Civil 3d)
Into Infraworrks - modeling/presentation - any tweeks that come from the stakeholder meetings
then get exported back into C3D for final engineering and plans development.


Another GREAT use for it - KIDS - they love infraworks...lots of building no constraints - sort of a free form SIM CITY!
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

lamarn

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 495
Re: Infraworks 360 with Civil3D
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2015, 08:35:14 am »
A bit of  toy :) expensive too.
Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

MSTG007

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1830
  • I can't remeber what I already asked! I need help!
Re: Infraworks 360 with Civil3D
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2015, 08:54:19 am »
Some guys here are thinking that this can REPLACE SiteOps. Whats your thoughts on that? Also, is there performance woes on this? I have seen it crash a lot and take awhile to load up.

As I was thinking about this; I am really looking for a CONNECTOR that I can Bring REVIT 3D Drawings into CIVIL 3D, so as the designer grades or what ever they have a better idea of what they are doing. Sometimes, an outline can only do so much. I did not know if the Grading Stuff we do in CIVIL can be linked back to infraworks with the Revit model to give whomever a better understanding of whats going on.
Autodesk Infrastructure Design Suite 2016

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Infraworks 360 with Civil3D
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2015, 09:01:53 am »
Some guys here are thinking that this can REPLACE SiteOps. Whats your thoughts on that? Also, is there performance woes on this? I have seen it crash a lot and take awhile to load up.

As I was thinking about this; I am really looking for a CONNECTOR that I can Bring REVIT 3D Drawings into CIVIL 3D, so as the designer grades or what ever they have a better idea of what they are doing. Sometimes, an outline can only do so much. I did not know if the Grading Stuff we do in CIVIL can be linked back to infraworks with the Revit model to give whomever a better understanding of whats going on.
that might be best done in Navisworks....
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

lamarn

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 495
Re: Infraworks 360 with Civil3D
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2015, 10:03:29 am »
..looking  for a CONNECTOR that I can Bring REVIT 3D Drawings into CIVIL 3D, so as the designer grades or what ever they have a better idea of what they are doing.

'3D drawings' Do you mean drawings of 3D models?
Better forget drawings (sheets)coming from Revit in DWG form because they are pretty bad data. You can use 'revit models' in various 3d shape however.
Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

MSTG007

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1830
  • I can't remeber what I already asked! I need help!
Re: Infraworks 360 with Civil3D
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2015, 10:07:04 am »
We have Data References that is our 3D Models. But we data shortcut that to our 2D Sheet files then label them up.
Autodesk Infrastructure Design Suite 2016

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12842
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Infraworks 360 with Civil3D
« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2015, 08:23:09 am »
Infraworks 360 is a great tool for preliminary design in the context of the existing site. It should NOT be used for a "final" design because the terrain that it imports is based on USGS/SRTM data and is not 100% accurate - I.E. the terrain won't show vertical changes in elevation due to retaining walls. The terrain is more rolling and averaged. The imagery is based on BING maps and the roads, buildings, etc that it can find is based on OpenStreetMaps data.

You can sketch in roads using design speeds and it will set the curve automatically based on that speed. You can also modify the vertical PIs in a profile editor (based on the USGS terrain). Infraworks 360 will also allow you to do some schematic grading based on slope, distance, etc. and do a rough cut/fill analysis. Once you get an accurate field survey file, you can continue to work on your design with alignments, polylines or lines and then export them to LandXML or SHP files and import them into Infraworks 360 for presentation purposes.

You can import ESRI SHP data for preliminary planning purposes prior to getting an actual field survey which is readily available online.

You can also import Revit and Civil 3D models.

Infraworks 360 wouldn't be used for clash detection like Navisworks. With Navisworks you would import your final Civil 3D model, Revit models, etc. and THEN check for clashes.

The bottom line is this... Infraworks 360 is not intended to used to generate a finished design or construction drawings.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Autodesk Revit Architecture, Structure, MEP Mechanical and MEP Electrical Certified Professional
Autodesk Navisworks 2014 Essentials

MSTG007

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1830
  • I can't remeber what I already asked! I need help!
Re: Infraworks 360 with Civil3D
« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2015, 08:34:12 am »
Thank you for the "Why to" on this. So in a "normal" workflow. Using some of the products I just mentioned, would this be somewhat correct?

-Infraworks 360, (For "Conceptual" master planning large sites (To visually see if its doable)?
-SiteOps, (For "Schmatic Design" a site with workable numbers)?
-Civil3D, (For "Design Development" CD's True Design)?
-Civil3D, (For "AS-builts")?

*Navisworks (For Final Civil3D Modeling and Final Revit Modeling?)

I am just trying to get a good idea how to implament this, (When to use and when not to).

A lot of people are pumped about this product here at my office. Is this something you would recommend any user to use? (Project Manger) or more for (CAD Users)?
Autodesk Infrastructure Design Suite 2016

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Infraworks 360 with Civil3D
« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2015, 08:38:03 am »
One doesn't have to use USGS or BING maps...although the number and type of files one can import is a bit of an alphabet soup
it still has holes in what it will import successfully.

And for sure NOT a final design tool, preliminary design and scenario planning.
More or less a fancy sketch and rendering tool with some portability of the data it creates.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Infraworks 360 with Civil3D
« Reply #11 on: December 14, 2015, 08:40:48 am »
Thank you for the "Why to" on this. So in a "normal" workflow. Using some of the products I just mentioned, would this be somewhat correct?

-Infraworks 360, (For "Conceptual" master planning large sites (To visually see if its doable)?
-SiteOps, (For "Schmatic Design" a site with workable numbers)?
-Civil3D, (For "Design Development" CD's True Design)?
-Civil3D, (For "AS-builts")?

*Navisworks (For Final Civil3D Modeling and Final Revit Modeling?)

I am just trying to get a good idea how to implament this, (When to use and when not to).

A lot of people are pumped about this product here at my office. Is this something you would recommend any user to use? (Project Manger) or more for (CAD Users)?
Navis is more for coordination/clash detection NOT modeling.
I think the target audience is site planners, project managers, or those guys that put together project presentations for review boards.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

MSTG007

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1830
  • I can't remeber what I already asked! I need help!
Re: Infraworks 360 with Civil3D
« Reply #12 on: December 14, 2015, 08:46:49 am »
This might be a stretch but hey, it doesn't hurt to take a look at this...
-PM puts together a proposal. He needs some rough ideas to give to the client. So you could use Infraworks 360 to import all this data. Sketch an idea out then create some rough renderings for the client to look at?
-Client grants PM job, and then the next step would be Civil3D for Creating Construction Documents. However, the review agency wants to see a rendering of the site with the building elevations. (Would Navisworks, be a good candidate for this?)
Autodesk Infrastructure Design Suite 2016

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Infraworks 360 with Civil3D
« Reply #13 on: December 14, 2015, 08:47:57 am »
This might be a stretch but hey, it doesn't hurt to take a look at this...
-PM puts together a proposal. He needs some rough ideas to give to the client. So you could use Infraworks 360 to import all this data. Sketch an idea out then create some rough renderings for the client to look at?
-Client grants PM job, and then the next step would be Civil3D for Creating Construction Documents. However, the review agency wants to see a rendering of the site with the building elevations. (Would Navisworks, be a good candidate for this?)
the renderings could be done in either...so why not just leave it in Infraworks?
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12842
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Infraworks 360 with Civil3D
« Reply #14 on: December 14, 2015, 08:58:24 am »
This might be a stretch but hey, it doesn't hurt to take a look at this...
-PM puts together a proposal. He needs some rough ideas to give to the client. So you could use Infraworks 360 to import all this data. Sketch an idea out then create some rough renderings for the client to look at?
-Client grants PM job, and then the next step would be Civil3D for Creating Construction Documents. However, the review agency wants to see a rendering of the site with the building elevations. (Would Navisworks, be a good candidate for this?)
The Infraworks design model could be used to sketch in roads, grading, etc. and then exported to IMX format and then imported into Civil 3D as alingments, surfaces, etc. for tweaking/final design. The data can then be brought back into Infraworks for presentation purposes.

Infraworks doesn't create renderings like other programs. It creates "snapshots" which is essentially a screen shot of the application window (see attached image).
Autodesk Expert Elite
Autodesk Revit Architecture, Structure, MEP Mechanical and MEP Electrical Certified Professional
Autodesk Navisworks 2014 Essentials