Author Topic: IFC export from Civil3D  (Read 1397 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

lamarn

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 495
IFC export from Civil3D
« on: November 23, 2015, 04:49:29 pm »
I am trying to work with some collegues together using IFC where DWG fails on ACIS erros in Revit.
There are some options in AutoCAD Civil3D 2016 to export it correctly. But somehow it seems it will not export correctly.

What options to tweak to get solids / blocks / bodies and surfaces right to IFCBUILDINGELEMENTPROXY?

Thanks
hans
Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: IFC export from Civil3D
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2015, 04:55:13 pm »
I am trying to work with some collegues together using IFC where DWG fails on ACIS erros in Revit.
There are some options in AutoCAD Civil3D 2016 to export it correctly. But somehow it seems it will not export correctly.

What options to tweak to get solids / blocks / bodies and surfaces right to IFCBUILDINGELEMENTPROXY?

Thanks
hans

you have followed these steps?

https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/revit-products/learn-explore/caas/CloudHelp/cloudhelp/2015/ENU/Revit-Model/files/GUID-21EFC097-96F3-428A-AFA4-BFEA4EDAB3D2-htm.html
« Last Edit: November 23, 2015, 04:58:16 pm by mjfarrell »
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

lamarn

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 495
Re: IFC export from Civil3D
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2015, 11:49:07 am »
Yes
(default settings for mapping ifc)
But my concern is that the ifc export is not correct
Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: IFC export from Civil3D
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2015, 12:00:37 pm »
Yes
(default settings for mapping ifc)
But my concern is that the ifc export is not correct
my first question is

what application is creating the original model?

is that the same application being used to export the IFC model?

what application is consuming that model (what are you importing it into?)
and is the imported result the same as the original model? 

I'm asking the question of fidelity, as in does the application that is creating this model export and import the same model into itself?
does it import into whatever application you are using and remain true to the original?
Can it be exported out of this application and back into the originating application and remain true to the original?

As with XML support, just because Autodesk and others are on the committee, does not mean they adhere strictly to the standard.
Or even fully implement the standard.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

lamarn

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 495
Re: IFC export from Civil3D
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2015, 12:19:02 pm »
Mj. It is exported from AutoCAD Civil3D 2016 (I did write that too). Later on I will post some results from ifc viewer used, navisworks as well. Thanks in advance
Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: IFC export from Civil3D
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2015, 12:35:57 pm »
Mj. It is exported from AutoCAD Civil3D 2016 (I did write that too). Later on I will post some results from ifc viewer used, navisworks as well. Thanks in advance

is it created in Civil3D as well?

It almost looks like it is an autodesk steel detailing model, not a civil 3d model....
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

lamarn

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 495
Re: IFC export from Civil3D
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2015, 02:56:16 pm »
It is a concrete structure but that does not care. Ifc is in 2016 supported it should properly. I have no inside information but to me it looks like this directly comes from ADT development. I think it is a very good development it can be found in *ALL* AutoCAD verticals. Whatever the flavor by orine is. I like to use just plain 3d autocad for all kinds of complex geom. structures. Civil3d is for roads and waterways and for structures just as well.
Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: IFC export from Civil3D
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2015, 03:07:08 pm »
My guess as to where that 'missing' slab is, is that upon listing that object it reports that it is a block

Quote
  BLOCK REFERENCE  Layer: "0"
                            Space: Model space
                   Transparency: BYBLOCK
                   Handle = 1ab3
       Block Name: "BTB oost prefab schorten"

I would suggest you explode that block, and try your export to IFC once again and see if it separates those two solids from each other.

They might also behave better if they were on unique layers as well.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

lamarn

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 495
Re: IFC export from Civil3D
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2015, 03:11:05 pm »
Will try and come back later...
Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: IFC export from Civil3D
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2015, 03:20:03 pm »
only saying because you toggled BLOCK Instance in the output option(s)

so it treated the whole block as he construct and not the individual 3d solids...

also I suggest that instead of blocks for such constructs that GROUPS might be a better tool
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

lamarn

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 495
Re: IFC export from Civil3D
« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2015, 05:08:42 pm »
Ah !! .. now I see.
- The color of the block determains the color of the ifc object.  So layer 0 (white) becomes black (invisible) in nwc.
- The ifc does not seem to get block in block hyrarchy.

But for the rest all shapes, groups and block export just fine
The only thing left is how to use this in read ifc data into other (Autodesk) software.


Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: IFC export from Civil3D
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2015, 05:22:30 pm »
to use in other software will most likely involve creating or using a template configured to optimise the output from whatever source created it.

As stated above, there will most likely be some variations to "Industry Foundation Class(es)" and how they are implemented, and supported
across platforms.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/