Author Topic: PDF  (Read 8854 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Bethrine

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2271
  • "Life is the greatest adventure.", Peter Pan
Re: PDF
« Reply #30 on: May 06, 2015, 01:50:26 pm »
So, have you tried the full bleed paper size?

Yes.
AutoCAD 2014, Inventor 2014, TurboNest 2012
I only get one life. I'm going to have fun living it. Find joy in everything.

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3725
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: PDF
« Reply #31 on: May 06, 2015, 01:52:05 pm »
Why have two sets of margins? The title block already plots within the margins of the plotter. Get rid of the margin issue in the paper size. Problem solved.
CAD Tech

Bethrine

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2271
  • "Life is the greatest adventure.", Peter Pan
Re: PDF
« Reply #32 on: May 06, 2015, 01:56:25 pm »
Why have two sets of margins? The title block already plots within the margins of the plotter. Get rid of the margin issue in the paper size. Problem solved.

I have not changed any default settings for any ANSI sizes. The margins for the full bleed plot to pdf are default. If I make a change I do it under custom paper sizes and label it with my initials.
AutoCAD 2014, Inventor 2014, TurboNest 2012
I only get one life. I'm going to have fun living it. Find joy in everything.

Bethrine

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2271
  • "Life is the greatest adventure.", Peter Pan
Re: PDF
« Reply #33 on: May 06, 2015, 01:58:06 pm »
that .03 is default. I've only pulled it up for reference.
AutoCAD 2014, Inventor 2014, TurboNest 2012
I only get one life. I'm going to have fun living it. Find joy in everything.

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6255
Re: PDF
« Reply #34 on: May 06, 2015, 02:00:13 pm »
I'm having trouble figuring out what we are trying to solve now.

Windows 10 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2018

Custom Build PC

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3725
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: PDF
« Reply #35 on: May 06, 2015, 02:01:05 pm »
that .03 is default. I've only pulled it up for reference.

It was a rhetorical question not really directed at you.

Does the PDF print properly with the full bleed paper size?
CAD Tech

Bethrine

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2271
  • "Life is the greatest adventure.", Peter Pan
Re: PDF
« Reply #36 on: May 06, 2015, 02:04:08 pm »
that .03 is default. I've only pulled it up for reference.

It was a rhetorical question not really directed at you.

Does the PDF print properly with the full bleed paper size?

No. It does print the whole thing but the margins are tiny at the bottom left and very wide up top and right. On the regular paper it cuts off the top and right lines. I think mj is close...I would like to center it on regular paper so I don't have to explain what I did, it just looks and prints correct. I'm still "green" here. 
AutoCAD 2014, Inventor 2014, TurboNest 2012
I only get one life. I'm going to have fun living it. Find joy in everything.

Bethrine

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2271
  • "Life is the greatest adventure.", Peter Pan
Re: PDF
« Reply #37 on: May 06, 2015, 02:05:16 pm »
I'm having trouble figuring out what we are trying to solve now.

lol...I'm going back and forth myself. I have to keep all of this straight or my settings will end up very confusing.  :-D
AutoCAD 2014, Inventor 2014, TurboNest 2012
I only get one life. I'm going to have fun living it. Find joy in everything.

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6255
Re: PDF
« Reply #38 on: May 06, 2015, 02:06:46 pm »
I get it now .. look at your Plot offset numbers in the lower left corner .. they should not be zeroes unless you have something defining the full extents of the paper. I personally plot to 'extents' then check the option 'center the plot'.

Windows 10 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2018

Custom Build PC

Bethrine

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2271
  • "Life is the greatest adventure.", Peter Pan
Re: PDF
« Reply #39 on: May 06, 2015, 02:07:39 pm »
and what you got going on here?

Shouldn't I be able to change the default output device in options? that's just what will automatically pop up when I go to plot unless I change it, isn't it? The other is the same as your pic, mj.
AutoCAD 2014, Inventor 2014, TurboNest 2012
I only get one life. I'm going to have fun living it. Find joy in everything.

Bethrine

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2271
  • "Life is the greatest adventure.", Peter Pan
Re: PDF
« Reply #40 on: May 06, 2015, 02:08:28 pm »
I get it now .. look at your Plot offset numbers in the lower left corner .. they should not be zeroes unless you have something defining the full extents of the paper.

of the pdf?
AutoCAD 2014, Inventor 2014, TurboNest 2012
I only get one life. I'm going to have fun living it. Find joy in everything.

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6255
Re: PDF
« Reply #41 on: May 06, 2015, 02:10:01 pm »
I get it now .. look at your Plot offset numbers in the lower left corner .. they should not be zeroes unless you have something defining the full extents of the paper.

of the pdf?


Windows 10 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2018

Custom Build PC

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: PDF
« Reply #42 on: May 06, 2015, 02:19:55 pm »
actually the plot offset number should be zeros....

IF you have set your title block/border and inked area limits correctly...or you are using some b@stard printer that forces you to use an offset
however typically for PDF NO offsets are required
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: PDF
« Reply #43 on: May 06, 2015, 02:26:02 pm »
keep in mind that 0,0 in paperspace can be (should be) intersection of printable area...or if you cant do that mathedge of paper check in  options

in my world I find printable area easier to use than edge of paper....create your border block accordingly...
and expect some shifting to occur when you set your named page setup current....
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6255
Re: PDF
« Reply #44 on: May 06, 2015, 02:26:14 pm »
actually the plot offset number should be zeros....

IF you have set your title block/border and inked area limits correctly.
Exactly .. me thinks this is not the case. The example you provided does not either if you 'Apply to Layout'.

Windows 10 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2018

Custom Build PC