Author Topic: "Possessed" multileaders  (Read 3922 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

cadpoobah

  • Newt
  • Posts: 47
"Possessed" multileaders
« on: August 21, 2014, 10:33:33 AM »
I have a couple multileaders that are "possessed"!!!

In the attached drawing, there are two objects that look like just blocks. They are actually multileaders similar to EP-0 but without any leaders. (FWIW, they are used as "finish callouts" waiting for leaders to be added later.)

First, use the  COPY command on EP-2. Note two things: you don't see it "drag" as it's being copied (DRAGMODE is Auto) and it copies twice the distance as your pick points!  :-o (Similarly w the MOVE command.)

It gets weirder...

If you "add leaders" to "EP-1", you can recreate the look of EP-0 just fine. Try adding leader to "EP-2". Note the strange leader behavior.  :-o

And it gets weirder...

Now, UNDO the leader you just added to EP-2. The entire mulileader disappears, including the block content. But, if you do a select all, it select "6 objects", indicating that EP-2 is still in the drawing!  :-o

"You've just crossed over into the Twilight Zone"....

Would love to hear your thoughts.
Chris Lindner
Onebutton CAD Solutions
----------------------------------------------------
www.onebuttoncad.com #dayjob
www.unpavedart.com    #sidehustle

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7524
Re: "Possessed" multileaders
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2014, 10:51:04 AM »
That is quite odd ...

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: "Possessed" multileaders
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2014, 11:31:46 AM »
it appears your EP2 is somehow 'nested'

an EXPLODE restores the drag visability and removes the weird scaling when copying issues
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7524
Re: "Possessed" multileaders
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2014, 11:36:35 AM »
it appears your EP2 is somehow 'nested'

an EXPLODE restores the drag visability and removes the weird scaling when copying issues


When you explode it loses the multileader and just  leaves the block definition. What is it "nested" in ?

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: "Possessed" multileaders
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2014, 11:42:21 AM »
it appears your EP2 is somehow 'nested'

an EXPLODE restores the drag visability and removes the weird scaling when copying issues


When you explode it loses the multileader and just  leaves the block definition. What is it "nested" in ?

Not quite sure - however creating a NEW mleader style and using that same block
presents none of the symptoms.

So without seeing what or how that one was made, I can only state;
it is 'somehow nested' .

This suggest that the solution is to KILL the current version a make a new one.
it works for me here.

Further the affected (infected) mleader style even hides the block attribute grips;
my new version exposes those attributes for editing.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7524
Re: "Possessed" multileaders
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2014, 11:51:06 AM »
Just did another test .. has something to do with the annotative scaling. If you turn it off then back on for the two problem multileaders it fixes them.

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

cadpoobah

  • Newt
  • Posts: 47
Re: "Possessed" multileaders
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2014, 01:49:23 PM »
it appears your EP2 is somehow 'nested'

Thanks, mjfarrell.

The attributed block (named "TDL_SYMB-ROOM") is the "Source block" for those multileaders. (For whatever reason, the originator didn't make a multileader style for this scenario.) All three of these multileaders are "built" same, but the one labeled "EP-2" behaves completely different from the others.

The problem is not with the block, its how AutoCAD handles attributes within a block within a multileader. Attributed blocks used within a multileader don't display the attribute's grips when the multileader is selected, unfortunately. It's a "feature"! :-)


Just did another test .. has something to do with the annotative scaling. If you turn it off then back on for the two problem multileaders it fixes them.

Interesting find, ronjonp.

As stated, it seems that if you change the multileader from Annotative to non-Annotative then back to Annotative, it fixes all the problems associated with that leader; adding creates normal leaders, undoing doesn't get rid of the multileader, and COPY works correctly.

You, my friend, are the official "multileader exorcist"! :-)
Chris Lindner
Onebutton CAD Solutions
----------------------------------------------------
www.onebuttoncad.com #dayjob
www.unpavedart.com    #sidehustle

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7524
Re: "Possessed" multileaders
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2014, 01:58:51 PM »

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

cadpoobah

  • Newt
  • Posts: 47
Re: "Possessed" multileaders
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2014, 02:24:45 PM »
LOL!!!
Chris Lindner
Onebutton CAD Solutions
----------------------------------------------------
www.onebuttoncad.com #dayjob
www.unpavedart.com    #sidehustle