Author Topic: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage  (Read 4487 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

deadjam82

  • Guest
How do you create 3d model of one or both from 2d to 3d, or do you have go 3d only? Any help you be grand! :-)
Also, I'm not looking for the complete step into rendering. Just wire-framing finish.

I attached examples


Thank you in advance

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2014, 07:21:57 pm »
I would draw the rings and posts as polylines
then extrude smaller circles along them as paths
When all done one could then union them together or make a block

for the tomato cage DONUTS would also work


sad, autodesk hasn't given us the 'lattice' tool from MAX as yet.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2014, 07:43:00 pm »
this from 1 cylinder and four sweeps

The wire basket would be about the same

Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11653
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2014, 07:47:32 pm »
The  tomato cage looks like it is incorrectly modelled.
The vertical legs should be either inside or outside the rings.
The legs can butt underneath the upper ring, but shouldn't coincide with the lower rings.

The alignment of components will actually depend on the method of assembly chosen by the manufacturer.

Drawing the cage in 3D should only take a couple of minutes.

The basket shouldn't take long either, there are only 5 pieces to extrude and copy.

To my knowledge there is no program to convert 2D to 3D for this type of work.

added:
Is the basket you show meant to be stackable ??
« Last Edit: April 21, 2014, 07:51:01 pm by Kerry »
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

--> Donate to theSwamp<--

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2014, 07:54:15 pm »
Kerry,
 I noticed that the cage was wrong, that is why I did mine that way.


That small basket doesn't look stackable, the sides appear to be far too vertical.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

snownut2

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 919
  • ADT 2004 - AutoCad 2011 Bricscad 15
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2014, 08:53:32 pm »
You guys are awfully rough on a guys 1st post, I'm guessing he found those images somewhere else. 

Welcome to the Swamp deadjam82....
God helps those who helps themselves.
A little searching goes a long ways.

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11653
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2014, 09:08:55 pm »
You guys are awfully rough on a guys 1st post, I'm guessing he found those images somewhere else. 

Welcome to the Swamp deadjam82....

I don't see what I said as 'rough'
... anyway, Why would I want to call bricks icecream ??

Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

--> Donate to theSwamp<--

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2014, 09:38:02 pm »
nestable basket

the tricky part is the dimensions of the 2d elements to get the 3d components correct
there is a 3 degree slant to all four sides that's how I know it will stack one into another

« Last Edit: April 21, 2014, 09:41:29 pm by mjfarrell »
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2014, 09:48:17 pm »
welcome deadjam82 excellent question

for some things it is a good idea to actually know how the thing is made
to be able to model the thing at all

most of a time a basic pencil sketch is enough to understand what you need to do

others the limits of your knowledge or the limits of autocad 3d modelling tools will force you to improvise
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #9 on: April 22, 2014, 10:26:20 am »
curious is this for a class exercise?
or just personal exploration?
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

cadtag

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1019
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #10 on: April 22, 2014, 10:40:57 am »
I would put the uprights of the tomato cage _inside_ the rings,  if the uprights area on the outside, then only the weld is available to resist breaking, and it won't.
The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government is big business

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2014, 02:31:17 pm »
I would put the uprights of the tomato cage _inside_ the rings,  if the uprights area on the outside, then only the weld is available to resist breaking, and it won't.

I think you have crossed over from

How is it modelled?


Into the land of


How is it made?

Although it does help to know how a thing is made to model it most correctly.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Administrator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 27903
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2014, 02:57:10 pm »
I would put the uprights of the tomato cage _inside_ the rings,  if the uprights area on the outside, then only the weld is available to resist breaking, and it won't.

I think you have crossed over from

How is it modelled?


Into the land of


How is it made?


Although it does help to know how a thing is made to model it most correctly.
Isn't that the whole idea?
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Bethrine

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2271
  • "Life is the greatest adventure.", Peter Pan
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2014, 03:31:05 pm »
I would put the uprights of the tomato cage _inside_ the rings,  if the uprights area on the outside, then only the weld is available to resist breaking, and it won't.

I think you have crossed over from

How is it modelled?


Into the land of


How is it made?


Although it does help to know how a thing is made to model it most correctly.
Isn't that the whole idea?

  :lol:
AutoCAD 2014, Inventor 2014, TurboNest 2012
I only get one life. I'm going to have fun living it. Find joy in everything.

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #14 on: April 22, 2014, 04:03:50 pm »
I would put the uprights of the tomato cage _inside_ the rings,  if the uprights area on the outside, then only the weld is available to resist breaking, and it won't.

I think you have crossed over from

How is it modelled?


Into the land of


How is it made?


Although it does help to know how a thing is made to model it most correctly.
Isn't that the whole idea?

Not really
As we observed earlier, the "tomato" cage has been modelled in a manner that is inconsistent with how the thing is actually made (manufactured).

sort of like the difference between how Barbie is modelled, and how real women are made.

Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

snownut2

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 919
  • ADT 2004 - AutoCad 2011 Bricscad 15
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #15 on: April 22, 2014, 05:09:17 pm »

Quote
sort of like the difference between how Barbie is modelled, and how real women are made.

That's a pretty slippery slope... :kewl:
God helps those who helps themselves.
A little searching goes a long ways.

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Administrator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 27903
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #16 on: April 23, 2014, 08:27:40 am »
I would put the uprights of the tomato cage _inside_ the rings,  if the uprights area on the outside, then only the weld is available to resist breaking, and it won't.

I think you have crossed over from

How is it modelled?


Into the land of


How is it made?


Although it does help to know how a thing is made to model it most correctly.
Isn't that the whole idea?

Not really
As we observed earlier, the "tomato" cage has been modelled in a manner that is inconsistent with how the thing is actually made (manufactured).
Again! Then what is the purpose of this, very expensive, software we use?
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15343
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #17 on: April 23, 2014, 08:42:17 am »
I would put the uprights of the tomato cage _inside_ the rings,  if the uprights area on the outside, then only the weld is available to resist breaking, and it won't.

I think you have crossed over from

How is it modelled?


Into the land of


How is it made?


Although it does help to know how a thing is made to model it most correctly.
Isn't that the whole idea?

Not really
As we observed earlier, the "tomato" cage has been modelled in a manner that is inconsistent with how the thing is actually made (manufactured).
Again! Then what is the purpose of this, very expensive, software we use?
Oh thats an easy answer... to draw/design/model stuff that nobody ever checks/builds from... isnt it?
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

www.travelthrutime

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13920
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #18 on: April 23, 2014, 09:27:11 am »
In this particular case, I'm taking you back to the Original Question:

How do you create 3d model of one or both from 2d to 3d, or do you have go 3d only? Any help you be grand! :-)
Also, I'm not looking for the complete step into rendering. Just wire-framing finish.

I attached examples


Thank you in advance

The question is not how do they manufacture these things, or what is a good way to manufacture them.
Those are different questions.

In product design there is a process between concept, function, design, and finally manufacturing.

I will point you to the AUDI TT auto, recognized as one of a few car show concepts that made it into production mostly unchanged.


So for this person the question "How do I model it" at this stage is probably a learning exercise.
Then I would trust followed by how do they build it, and how do I model it correctly?

Yes the 'purpose' of the expensive software is an accurate model.
However first one must know how to create the models.

Next we'll start wondering is the wire for that tomato basket galvanized? Hot dipped? Cold rolled mild steel?
TIG or Spot welded?  Will they make them on a Tuesday?  Will it be raining?

Is that basket Stainless steel, or is it double chrome plated?

All questions beyond the scope of the original question.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

JONTHEPOPE

  • Newt
  • Posts: 49
Re: Question on how to create a wire basket or even a round tomato cage
« Reply #19 on: July 16, 2014, 11:18:15 pm »
nice drawing. good explanation.

not sure how I would draw it.

3 donunt commands
and 3 more vertical ones to connect em.
cut and paste as block

I would expect it is easier to draw the 3d object first and use solprof command to generate the 2d views.
I never liked creating 3d objects from 2d views so I don't usually go that route.
At first I thought the pictures were Autocad drawings rendered with 3dmax.