Author Topic: Civil 3D 2014 | Point Cloud Import Breaklines  (Read 3765 times)

BlackBox

• King Gator
Civil 3D 2014 | Point Cloud Import Breaklines
« on: August 20, 2013, 12:53:06 PM »
I'm trying to figure out how to help a friend with a point cloud, and do not have their data... They've created the point cloud, but do not see the breaklines they were expecting... I quickly searched Google and cannot find a solid tutorial for this online; anyone know of any?

TIA
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

BlackBox

• King Gator
Re: Civil 3D 2014 | Point Cloud Import Breaklines
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2013, 01:24:34 PM »
Forgot to mention that they're creating a surface from the point cloud (which is where they need the breaklines, etc.).

Cheers

Jeff_M

• King Gator
  • C3D user & customizer
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2013, 01:25:19 PM »
I am far from an expert on this, in fact more like a novice, but I was under the impression that Point Clouds were just that, lots of points. I didn't know they COULD contain breaklines.

BlackBox

• King Gator
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2013, 01:29:46 PM »
I am far from an expert on this, in fact more like a novice, but I was under the impression that Point Clouds were just that, lots of points. I didn't know they COULD contain breaklines.

... And this may be where my being a novice with point clouds (LIDAR) is showing given the poor description; but the folder where the point cloud was imported from (data from ArcGis as I understand it), included a "Breaklines" folder, which contains files of type: .gdbindexes, .gdbtable, .spx, and .freelist.

The hope was that these could be pulled in to be applied as breaklines to surface edit(s), if that makes sense?

Matt__W

• Seagull
  • I like my water diluted.
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2013, 01:30:46 PM »