Author Topic: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring  (Read 5134 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

T.Willey

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5251
Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« on: January 17, 2013, 04:33:01 PM »
I did not see any repercussions for this error with my lisp that I just wrote, but was wondering if anyone else has seen this?  Seems to happen every time.

Command: (getstring)
(

Can't reenter LISP.
"("
Tim

I don't want to ' end-up ', I want to ' become '. - Me

Please think about donating if this post helped you.

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3770
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2013, 05:05:40 PM »
Not sure I fully understand what you mean, Tim... So, FWIW -

Code - Auto/Visual Lisp: [Select]
  1. (
  2.  
  3. Can't reenter LISP.
  4. "("
  5.  
  6. (this is a test)
  7.  
  8. Can't reenter LISP.
  9. "(this is a test)"
  10.  
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3770
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2013, 05:07:54 PM »
I haven't tested any .NET code myself, but perhaps this is an issue where one is attempting to type LISP within Editor.GetString() ?  :? *not sure*
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12914
  • London, England
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2013, 07:01:23 PM »
AutoCAD 2013:

Code: [Select]
Command: (getstring)
(

Can't reenter LISP.
"("
Code: [Select]
Command: (getstring t)
(
"("

T.Willey

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5251
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2013, 11:29:07 PM »
The issue was when entering an open parenthesis to 'getstring', the error "Can't reenter Lisp." would show up, but not stop the Lisp routine running.  I was just wondering if anyone has ever seen this issue, and if has caused some errors in the long run?

That solution worked for me in '12 also Lee.  Thanks for that.  Never crossed my mind, in my rush to code my simple routine that I needed.
Tim

I don't want to ' end-up ', I want to ' become '. - Me

Please think about donating if this post helped you.

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12914
  • London, England
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2013, 05:10:31 AM »
The issue was when entering an open parenthesis to 'getstring', the error "Can't reenter Lisp." would show up, but not stop the Lisp routine running.  I was just wondering if anyone has ever seen this issue, and if has caused some errors in the long run?

That solution worked for me in '12 also Lee.  Thanks for that.  Never crossed my mind, in my rush to code my simple routine that I needed.

No worries Tim; I'm surprised I've never noticed/encountered this result before  :|

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2013, 06:26:51 AM »
+1 for the thread title.
Engineering Technologist • CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.comhttp://cadanalyst.slack.comhttp://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

irneb

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1794
  • ACad R9-2016, Revit Arch 6-2016
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2013, 06:51:12 AM »
Wow! Does seem irritating doesn't it? I also can't remember this happening. Must be some new "adesk-derived-feature"  :ugly:
Common sense - the curse in disguise. Because if you have it, you have to live with those that don't.

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 811
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2013, 12:02:06 PM »
+1 for the thread title.
+1 more (LOL)
(defun c: grammercheck ()
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12914
  • London, England
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2013, 12:06:23 PM »

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 811
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #10 on: February 05, 2013, 12:14:06 PM »
+1 for the thread title.
+1 more (LOL)
(defun c: grammercheck ()
:lmao:
Thanks for pointing that out Lee, I would like to say that I did that on purpose but...  :-[
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023

David Bethel

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 656
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #11 on: February 05, 2013, 12:17:40 PM »
What is TEXTEVAL sysvar set to?  -David
R12 Dos - A2K

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #12 on: February 05, 2013, 12:56:11 PM »
+1 for the thread title.
I thought this was a spinoff of the Snapchat thread.   ^-^
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12914
  • London, England
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #13 on: February 05, 2013, 01:06:05 PM »
What is TEXTEVAL sysvar set to?  -David

Good suggestion David, but after a quick test on my system it seems that the TEXTEVAL System Variable unfortunately has no effect on this behaviour of the getstring function. :-(

David Bethel

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 656
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #14 on: February 05, 2013, 01:24:42 PM »
Looks like this is the case all the way to alt least R12 DOS. From the customization guide:


The user cannot enter another AutoLISP expression as the response a getstring request.


-David
R12 Dos - A2K

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16899
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #15 on: February 05, 2013, 02:37:55 PM »
but what if the respondent desires to enter something in parenthesis ... something that is not for lisp evaluation?
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Find me on https://parler.com @kblackie

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12914
  • London, England
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #16 on: February 05, 2013, 02:45:59 PM »
but what if the respondent desires to enter something in parenthesis ... something that is not for lisp evaluation?

To clarify, its still possible to enter a string starting with an open parenthesis at the getstring prompt, and the getstring function will still return this entered string correctly, however, you just receive the annoying Can't reenter LISP message to accompany it:

Code: [Select]
Command: (getstring "\nEnter String: ")

Enter String: (test)

Can't reenter LISP.
"(test)"

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16899
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #17 on: February 05, 2013, 04:04:38 PM »
hmm .. nomutt perhaps?
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Find me on https://parler.com @kblackie

irneb

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1794
  • ACad R9-2016, Revit Arch 6-2016
Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
« Reply #18 on: February 05, 2013, 04:16:53 PM »
Tried, doesn't help. Neither does CmdEcho.
Common sense - the curse in disguise. Because if you have it, you have to live with those that don't.