Author Topic: Convert string to list?  (Read 10689 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Brick_top

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 218
Re: Convert string to list?
« Reply #30 on: October 02, 2012, 04:47:22 AM »
Dose Landlord want to protect dwg not to be regain by this way (write protect dwg into txt file , and then rebuild dwg )?

I'm sorry but I think my english is not allowing me to understand your post?

kruuger

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 619
Re: Convert string to list?
« Reply #31 on: October 02, 2012, 05:21:48 AM »
hi Brick_top

that's very crazy idea. problem is, how do you want to recreate deleted object like: blocks (dynamic block), formated mtext, splines...more complex objects. this will work rather with simple shape like lines.

i also create something similar to your notes.
my program allow to create short notes (descriptions). we can add point where note refer. it also save actual layer states.
more can be read here (polish site):
http://forum.cad.pl/cadpl-zapisywanie-notatek-w-rysunku-t78051-360.html
i'm still developing them but "beta" version works fine. routine is prepared for any language translation.
maybe you find it usefull.

kruuger

EDIT: forgot attachment
« Last Edit: October 02, 2012, 05:31:40 AM by kruuger »

Brick_top

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 218
Re: Convert string to list?
« Reply #32 on: October 02, 2012, 05:45:38 AM »
wow that's really nice! I already had thought about adding some kind of markers.

Yeah I guess those entities you are talking about are the things that will become problems for me because I don't know about them.

In my ignorance I intended to record each entity with the result I get from creating a selection set and using (entget (ssname x index))

Are you saying that with this I don't get all the info I need to draw every entity I need?

kruuger

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 619
Re: Convert string to list?
« Reply #33 on: October 02, 2012, 06:52:15 AM »
wow that's really nice! I already had thought about adding some kind of markers.

Yeah I guess those entities you are talking about are the things that will become problems for me because I don't know about them.

In my ignorance I intended to record each entity with the result I get from creating a selection set and using (entget (ssname x index))

Are you saying that with this I don't get all the info I need to draw every entity I need?
there is no way to entmake dynamic block or create them with vlisp.
some entities will be very very, hard to recreate 100%.
k.

Brick_top

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 218
Re: Convert string to list?
« Reply #34 on: October 02, 2012, 06:54:25 AM »
hehe.. I guess there goes my ideia! thank you for your input

kruuger

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 619
Re: Convert string to list?
« Reply #35 on: October 02, 2012, 07:23:38 AM »
hehe.. I guess there goes my ideia! thank you for your input
there is something what might work but...dwg will be huge and heavy.
1. create a copy of ALL objects
2. when you create your Note1 point go thru all copies and add Xdata (Note1).
3. rename (with copy) all blocks to name_Note1
4. when add another NoteX follow step 1-3
using visibility properties show/hide notes with xdata
kruuger

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10395
Re: Convert string to list?
« Reply #36 on: October 02, 2012, 07:48:22 AM »
wow that's really nice! I already had thought about adding some kind of markers.

Yeah I guess those entities you are talking about are the things that will become problems for me because I don't know about them.

In my ignorance I intended to record each entity with the result I get from creating a selection set and using (entget (ssname x index))

Are you saying that with this I don't get all the info I need to draw every entity I need?
there is no way to entmake dynamic block or create them with vlisp.
some entities will be very very, hard to recreate 100%.
k.
How about WBLOCK objects and forget about the text file for entities.
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. ()
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

kruuger

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 619
Re: Convert string to list?
« Reply #37 on: October 02, 2012, 08:12:27 AM »
wow that's really nice! I already had thought about adding some kind of markers.

Yeah I guess those entities you are talking about are the things that will become problems for me because I don't know about them.

In my ignorance I intended to record each entity with the result I get from creating a selection set and using (entget (ssname x index))

Are you saying that with this I don't get all the info I need to draw every entity I need?
there is no way to entmake dynamic block or create them with vlisp.
some entities will be very very, hard to recreate 100%.
k.
How about WBLOCK objects and forget about the text file for entities.
yes. but this is addittional files on hard drive. Brick_top don't want to do this if i understand
k.

Brick_top

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 218
Re: Convert string to list?
« Reply #38 on: October 03, 2012, 03:56:55 AM »
hehe.. I guess there goes my ideia! thank you for your input
there is something what might work but...dwg will be huge and heavy.
1. create a copy of ALL objects
2. when you create your Note1 point go thru all copies and add Xdata (Note1).
3. rename (with copy) all blocks to name_Note1
4. when add another NoteX follow step 1-3
using visibility properties show/hide notes with xdata
kruuger

Yeah size could be a problem, I guess I can try it.

Brick_top

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 218
Re: Convert string to list?
« Reply #39 on: October 03, 2012, 04:15:33 AM »
hi Brick_top

that's very crazy idea. problem is, how do you want to recreate deleted object like: blocks (dynamic block), formated mtext, splines...more complex objects. this will work rather with simple shape like lines.


Hi,

I tried to recreate an spline from txt file using your RFS function and it worked fine. But I did not succeed creating an mtext though :(
« Last Edit: October 03, 2012, 04:21:21 AM by Brick_top »

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10395
Re: Convert string to list?
« Reply #40 on: October 03, 2012, 07:53:56 AM »
You may want to strip unwanted dxf codes before storing the data in the text file.
Take a look at this routine which strips unwanted codes.
http://www.theswamp.org/index.php?topic=31145.0
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. ()
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

Brick_top

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 218
Re: Convert string to list?
« Reply #41 on: October 04, 2012, 03:38:11 AM »
Wow you guys are too good  :-o

Do you mean you can create any object with that routine?

At least there is hope it seems  :-)

kruuger

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 619
Re: Convert string to list?
« Reply #42 on: October 04, 2012, 04:05:55 AM »
Wow you guys are too good  :o

Do you mean you can create any object with that routine?

At least there is hope it seems  :)
most of objects but not all.
k.

Brick_top

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 218
Re: Convert string to list?
« Reply #43 on: October 04, 2012, 04:27:38 AM »
Wow you guys are too good  :o

Do you mean you can create any object with that routine?

At least there is hope it seems  :)
most of objects but not all.
k.

Can you tell me how do I learn which objects are those?


kruuger

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 619
Re: Convert string to list?
« Reply #44 on: October 04, 2012, 05:06:17 AM »
Wow you guys are too good  :o

Do you mean you can create any object with that routine?

At least there is hope it seems  :)
most of objects but not all.
k.

Can you tell me how do I learn which objects are those?
for sure dynamic block. maybe multileader
per CAB routine info: multliline, Make Hatch Non-associative if was, Make Leader Non-associative, table
who knows what else.
what if user change: layer, dimstyle etc ?
kruuger