Author Topic: CLOSED PLINE OFFSET WITH EXPLODE  (Read 1709 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Crookedmonk

  • Newt
  • Posts: 30
CLOSED PLINE OFFSET WITH EXPLODE
« on: April 05, 2018, 10:25:48 AM »
I am sure its here, but I can not find it. One of my colleagues is looking for a lisp that will offset a closed polyline and explode the original polyline but not the newly created one.

Thank you in advance.
Monk

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
Re: CLOSED PLINE OFFSET WITH EXPLODE
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2018, 02:37:47 PM »
Hello,..

I'm just curious to know why you need to explode the selected pline ?
may you explain more ?
Keep smile...

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Re: CLOSED PLINE OFFSET WITH EXPLODE
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2018, 03:34:39 PM »
4 more "why"s to go.
Engineering Technologist • CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.comhttp://cadanalyst.slack.comhttp://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: CLOSED PLINE OFFSET WITH EXPLODE
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2018, 04:17:46 PM »
My question would be, why are you not drawing the polyline you want first, and NOT needing to offset it at all?
If that result is what you are after....

As well as; why are you exploding the original polyline?

Sounds like a work flow issue, not a programming one.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Crookedmonk

  • Newt
  • Posts: 30
Re: CLOSED PLINE OFFSET WITH EXPLODE
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2018, 04:23:39 PM »
We add processing compensation to the original feature. If something goes astray during the process we need something to compare it to. So if we don't start with a "Master polyline line" we have nothing to compare. Thus the need for an offset or compensation as we call it.

"As well as; why are you exploding the original polyline?"

In our case we usually have to tweak certain areas or features in order for them to finish through the process correctly. Some features need will eventually need more some will need less compensation. So eventually we will need to explode the original down the road anyways. But once we find the correct compensations, we can expect high repeatability.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2018, 04:28:04 PM by Crookedmonk »

BIGAL

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1417
  • 40 + years of using Autocad
Re: CLOSED PLINE OFFSET WITH EXPLODE
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2018, 08:18:02 PM »
Try this

Code: [Select]
(defun c:ploff ( / obj)
(setq obj  (car (entsel "\nPick pline ")))
(command "offset" (getdist "Enter distance") obj (getpoint "pick side") "")
(command "explode" obj)
)
(c:ploff)
A man who never made a mistake never made anything

Crookedmonk

  • Newt
  • Posts: 30
Re: CLOSED PLINE OFFSET WITH EXPLODE
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2018, 09:57:34 AM »
Thanks Bigal. He will appreciate this I am sure.