Author Topic: xref change problem help reqd.  (Read 5635 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

diarmuid

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 417
xref change problem help reqd.
« on: December 03, 2003, 12:07:10 PM »
hi guys

is it possible to:

have one x-ref called sitelayout,

and replace it in a drawing with say another x-ref, which is the exact same but has a different filename, but retain the layerstate(s)

in a nutshell, just swap the name of the xref with the other?

thanks in advance   :(

Diarmuid
If you want to win something run the 100m, if you want to experience something run a marathon

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16899
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
xref change problem help reqd.
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2003, 12:36:16 PM »
In short .. yes

You can attach ANY drawing regardless of name, to the xref already in a drawing. The layer state will remain the same. For example...

Xref sitelayout into your drawing.

Set your layerstate(s)

In the xref dialog, highlight sitelayout from the list, then select the browse button beside  "found at" and select newsitelayout. The xref will be updated to the file you pointed to, but will remain named the same in the drawing.

You can now rename the xref with the rename block command in the drawing. It will update the layers from sitelayout|layername to newsitelayout|layername
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Find me on https://parler.com @kblackie

diarmuid

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 417
xref change problem help reqd.
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2003, 03:29:40 AM »
exactly what i was looking for.

thanks very much

life saver


happy christmas

Diarmuid
If you want to win something run the 100m, if you want to experience something run a marathon

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16899
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
xref change problem help reqd.
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2003, 08:06:09 AM »
Glad to be of service
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Find me on https://parler.com @kblackie

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10401
xref change problem help reqd.
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2003, 08:31:10 PM »
Speaking of xrefs, I xref a title block in and freeze a few layers.
Each time I open the drawing the layers are thawed. :(
ACAD2000

CAB
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

pmvliet

  • Guest
xref change problem help reqd.
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2003, 08:53:56 PM »
check "visretain"

Pieter

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10401
xref change problem help reqd.
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2003, 09:04:43 PM »
that it it exactly.

Thanks

CAB
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

CADaver

  • Guest
xref change problem help reqd.
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2003, 10:10:45 AM »
Just a side note on XREFs.  Using RENAME you can change the "virtual name" of the XREF to anything you wish.  Look for the XREF file ename under the blocks section.  Renaming the XREF reanmae all it's associated element names, like layers.  I usually rename the xref to add a Z prefix, to sort the layers to the bottom of the list.  I can also use similiar names to aid in filtering and grouping layers.

daron

  • Guest
xref change problem help reqd.
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2003, 09:24:10 AM »
To rename an xref, just select the name of the xref while in the xref dialog. It will open itself up to be edited.