Author Topic: Distribution from server or CD install?  (Read 5137 times)

DIW_CADtech

• Bull Frog
  • Push limits, embrace success, & discard failure.
Distribution from server or CD install?
« on: March 02, 2011, 11:31:00 AM »
At this time, my company has a CAD department of 1, and we have worked with autodesk to set up a "distribution/deployment" from the server, however, simple things like Express Tools were not installed.  Now we're updating the computer that contains the license manager.  The IT department seems to think that the server to PC install is the only way to go.  Yes working with a single network license.  Software was purchased before CAD tech "Me" was hired.  Stand alone is not an option at this point.

So what I'm asking, cuz I'm a noob, can I (assuming admin priv.) install a network licensed autocad product from the install CD?

I understand the benifits of a "deployment" ->exact same install on dozens of machines... but I'm a department of 1. 

Thoughts... ideas... questions...   
Keeping my thoughts open at this point.

I know IT is just wringing their virtual hands over the whole mismanaged process.
I am very  trainable....   (forgive my spelling)

mjfarrell

• Seagull
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Distribution from server or CD install?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2011, 11:47:00 AM »
Yes one can install network license(d) version locally with the CD.

The product will then ask for or seek the licence server when you fire it up the first time.

However, I would suggest that you continue using the 'deployment' method from the server.
The issue with the Express Tools not installing isn't really your problem, it was or is an issue created by autodesk.
Be your Best

Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Chris

• Swamp Rat
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2011, 11:55:10 AM »