Author Topic: Using a field with filename - path only  (Read 14056 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Using a field with filename - path only
« Reply #45 on: May 29, 2010, 01:59:44 AM »

Some words make me think of bourbon ... but thats my personal problem  :wink:
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

LE3

  • Guest
Re: Using a field with filename - path only
« Reply #46 on: May 29, 2010, 01:41:32 PM »

Some words make me think of bourbon ... but thats my personal problem  :wink:
That appears to be whiskey, don't think I ever had tried....

LE3

  • Guest
Re: Using a field with filename - path only
« Reply #47 on: May 29, 2010, 01:45:38 PM »
You're welcome :-)

So bear in mind that if you send the file to clients - the lack of reactor means that the FIELD will not display correctly.
<out of scope>
every time I read that it is always translated to beer in mind.... in all my 38 years I have speaking English....  :ugly:
<out of scope>
Makes sense to me, Luis! :-D I do the same thing and I've never spoke another language...well, except for German during 3 years in high school....
  :lol:

KOWBOI

  • Guest
Re: Using a field with filename - path only
« Reply #48 on: June 01, 2010, 10:18:26 AM »
You're welcome :-)

So bear in mind that if you send the file to clients - the lack of reactor means that the FIELD will not display correctly.

Not a problem, we don't send electronic files to anyone. Thanks again for all the help  :-)

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12914
  • London, England
Re: Using a field with filename - path only
« Reply #49 on: June 01, 2010, 10:18:56 AM »
You're very welcome  :-)

KOWBOI

  • Guest
Re: Using a field with filename - path only
« Reply #50 on: October 27, 2010, 05:49:34 PM »
Lee, I've been using this setup with great success until recently. For some reason lately the field does not display properly much of the time unless I force a Regen. Any ideas or suggestions? Thanks for the help.

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12914
  • London, England
Re: Using a field with filename - path only
« Reply #51 on: October 27, 2010, 05:51:51 PM »
The code reacts upon the Regen command, yes.

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Using a field with filename - path only
« Reply #52 on: October 27, 2010, 06:59:22 PM »
Lee, I've been using this setup with great success until recently. For some reason lately the field does not display properly much of the time unless I force a Regen. Any ideas or suggestions? Thanks for the help.
you will want to investigate the FIELDEVAL system variable


Controls how fields are updated.

The setting is stored as a bitcode using the sum of the following values:

0
 Not updated
 
1
 Updated on open
 
2
 Updated on save
 
4
 Updated on plot
 
8
 Updated on use of ETRANSMIT
 
16
 Updated on regeneration
 

NoteThe Date field is updated by UPDATEFIELD, but it is not updated automatically based on the setting of the FIELDEVAL system variable.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

KOWBOI

  • Guest
Re: Using a field with filename - path only
« Reply #53 on: October 28, 2010, 09:00:06 AM »
Ok so I already had all the field update settings turned on. The code that Lee setup for me (thanks again Lee) had a Regen command in it, I also tried putting a Regen command in my Acaddoc.lsp but I still have to force an update for that particular field by manually typing Regen at the command line. Any thoughts/suggestions?

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12914
  • London, England
Re: Using a field with filename - path only
« Reply #54 on: October 28, 2010, 10:43:28 AM »
My code creates a field dependent upon one of the custom system variables 'USERS#' - this is updated when the command reactor callback is triggered upon a Regen being called.

Lee

KOWBOI

  • Guest
Re: Using a field with filename - path only
« Reply #55 on: October 28, 2010, 10:59:34 AM »
Thanks Lee. Shouldn't the field update automatically with your code since there is a Regen command in there? Also, I put a Regen command in Acaddoc.lsp and I'm not getting a Regen. Any ideas?

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12914
  • London, England
Re: Using a field with filename - path only
« Reply #56 on: October 28, 2010, 11:01:39 AM »
Thanks Lee. Shouldn't the field update automatically with your code since there is a Regen command in there? Also, I put a Regen command in Acaddoc.lsp and I'm not getting a Regen. Any ideas?

The field will only update when you perform a regen, as this is when the command reactor is triggered.

roy_043

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1895
  • BricsCAD 18
Re: Using a field with filename - path only
« Reply #57 on: October 28, 2010, 12:40:26 PM »
Just a thought: couldn't you use s::startup to handle the regen?

KOWBOI

  • Guest
Re: Using a field with filename - path only
« Reply #58 on: October 28, 2010, 01:50:13 PM »
I tried using this in the Acaddoc.lsp but still no Regen at startup.

Code: [Select]
(defun-q S::STARTUP ( )
  (command "REGEN")
 )

Am I understanding the concept correctly?

roy_043

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1895
  • BricsCAD 18
Re: Using a field with filename - path only
« Reply #59 on: October 28, 2010, 06:59:48 PM »
Could it be that you already have s::startup in some file?:
http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2010/ENU/AutoCAD%202010%20User%20Documentation/files/WS73099cc142f4875513fb5cd10c4aa30d6b-7f62.htm

I don't know if s::startup can solve your problem, but your code should result in a regen.