Author Topic: Block Manager [Option 2]  (Read 25074 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13679
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Block Manager [Option 2]
« Reply #15 on: March 03, 2010, 04:15:58 PM »
Quote
I have it inserting Dumb Blocks all day long? 
Am i using it wrong?

No.  That's how I use it for like tags and stuff.  The new way is to let AutoCAD manage annotative blocks, scaling them when the annoscale changes.  I find this functionality limited for a number of reasons.  Besides, we use the Project Navigator in Architecture so all annotation goes into a View drawing which never changes scale.
How so?  The annotative blocks or fixed scaled blocks?

I messed with annotative blocks when they first come out for a project and found them cumbersome.  I have only found two to four blocks in our library that could be annotative.  One of them desirable so but the others could go either way.
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here picking up the empties beer cans

jbuzbee

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 851
Re: Block Manager [Option 2]
« Reply #16 on: March 03, 2010, 05:29:39 PM »
Quote
I find this functionality limited for a number of reasons.

Quote
How so?  The annotative blocks or fixed scaled blocks?

Annotative Blocks.  When scaled there never in the right place - everything has to be moved / rearranged.  Very time consuming.  I use Fixed Scaled Blocks.
James Buzbee
Windows 8

Crank

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1503
Re: Block Manager [Option 2]
« Reply #17 on: March 04, 2010, 07:01:58 AM »
James, I think you should try this again. But this time with an alignment grip on the insertionpoint.
Vault Professional 2023     +     AEC Collection

TimSpangler

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2010
  • CAD Naked!!
Re: Block Manager [Option 2]
« Reply #18 on: March 04, 2010, 08:24:29 AM »
I'm out of the office and my laptop doesn't have ACAD so I can't look / test, but you are releasing the DBXDOC object?  This should be done as soon as possible in the code.  I'll have a look tonight at home - that is until Ghost Hunters comes on!



James,

I think this has something to do with the dcl_BlockView_DisplayDwg control.  When i am in the Folder lib and have explorer open as I select a block from the list it creates a .dwl and .dwl2 file and they remain until autocad closes.  They can not be deleted.  I imagine that if enough blocks were selected it would crash autocad?  Is there something that I am coding wrong?
ACA 2015 - Windows 7 Pro
All Comments and Content by TimSpangler, Copyright 2016

TimSpangler

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2010
  • CAD Naked!!
Re: Block Manager [Option 2]
« Reply #19 on: March 04, 2010, 09:22:07 AM »
James,
I just tested your last release again.  It seems to be doing the same thing.  It must be in the dcl_BlockView_DisplayDwg control issue?.  It creates 2 lock files and they don't get released until autocad closes.

Maybe it is a version thing.  I am using OpenDCL 5.1.2.3, ACA09, XP 32 SP3
ACA 2015 - Windows 7 Pro
All Comments and Content by TimSpangler, Copyright 2016

jbuzbee

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 851
Re: Block Manager [Option 2]
« Reply #20 on: March 04, 2010, 09:51:01 AM »
Just tested . . . interesting.  Heading over to OpenDCL.com to see what's up.  Will report back later.
James Buzbee
Windows 8

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13679
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Block Manager [Option 2]
« Reply #21 on: March 04, 2010, 12:53:24 PM »
Quote
I find this functionality limited for a number of reasons.

Quote
How so?  The annotative blocks or fixed scaled blocks?

Annotative Blocks.  When scaled there never in the right place - everything has to be moved / rearranged.  Very time consuming.  I use Fixed Scaled Blocks.
My thoughts too.  Thanks
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here picking up the empties beer cans

jbuzbee

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 851
Re: Block Manager [Option 2]
« Reply #22 on: March 04, 2010, 04:06:03 PM »
OK, Owen is fixing the lock file issue in the next alpha build.
James Buzbee
Windows 8

cadmonkey13

  • Guest
Re: Block Manager [Option 2]
« Reply #23 on: June 23, 2010, 04:56:34 AM »
Tim I have downloaded these files and placed them in my first support path.  When I load the BlockManager.lsp I get the following error:

BlockManager.lsp successfully loaded.
Command:
TheSwamp Block Manager v0.1 (BETA)
 Timothy Spangler,
 February, 2010....loaded.
Type "SBM" to startOPENDCL Unknown command "OPENDCL".  Press F1 for help.
Command: ; error: no function definition: DCL_PROJECT_IMPORT

I have never run and OpenDCL file before so I don't know if I'm going about it all wrong.

TimSpangler

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2010
  • CAD Naked!!
Re: Block Manager [Option 2]
« Reply #24 on: June 23, 2010, 07:15:46 AM »
you will need to go over to Opendcl.com download the latest runtime build and install it.  Then everything should work as expected.
ACA 2015 - Windows 7 Pro
All Comments and Content by TimSpangler, Copyright 2016

cadmonkey13

  • Guest
Re: Block Manager [Option 2]
« Reply #25 on: June 28, 2010, 10:05:53 AM »
I got the block manager running but I have a problem.  I put the three files in the my first support path and the following line in my acaddoc.lsp:
(load "BlockManager" "BlockManager.lsp failed to load")

Now every time I open a new drawing the block manager appears.  How do I make it that it only appears on demand??
I tried modifying this part of the code to do that but it didn't work for me.

Code: [Select]
(defun C:SBM (/)

;; Load ActiveX COM
(vl-load-com)
;; Demand load OpenDCL
(command "OPENDCL")
(BLOCK_PROJECT)
;; Load the project
;(BLOCK_LOAD_PROJECT "BlockManager.odcl")
(dcl_project_import SBM_Project nil nil)
;; Start the project
(BLOCK_START)
)

TimSpangler

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2010
  • CAD Naked!!
Re: Block Manager [Option 2]
« Reply #26 on: June 28, 2010, 12:10:01 PM »
CAD,

You will have to go to the end of the code

Code: [Select]
;;;
;;; ------------ COMMAND LINE LOAD SEQUENCE --------------------------------------------
(princ "\nTheSwamp Block Manager v0.1 (BETA)© \n Timothy Spangler, \n February, 2010....loaded.")
(print)
(princ "Type \"SBM\" to start")
(princ)
(C:SBM)   [color=red]<-----Comment out this line[/color]


I do have a newer version so I'll see if I can get it ready and post it.
ACA 2015 - Windows 7 Pro
All Comments and Content by TimSpangler, Copyright 2016

TimSpangler

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2010
  • CAD Naked!!
Re: Block Manager [Option 2]
« Reply #27 on: August 05, 2010, 01:45:37 PM »
^^^Moving on up^^^
 ^-^

ACA 2015 - Windows 7 Pro
All Comments and Content by TimSpangler, Copyright 2016

cadmonkey13

  • Guest
Re: Block Manager [Option 2]
« Reply #28 on: August 06, 2010, 04:23:49 AM »
Tim,

I am getting an error when I run this.

Type "SBM" to start
 OPENDCL ; error: bad argument type: stringp nil

TimSpangler

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2010
  • CAD Naked!!
Re: Block Manager [Option 2]
« Reply #29 on: August 06, 2010, 08:23:54 AM »
I assume that you have opendcl loaded?
ACA 2015 - Windows 7 Pro
All Comments and Content by TimSpangler, Copyright 2016