Author Topic: Will I regret it?  (Read 4997 times)

mr_nick

Will I regret it?
« on: February 03, 2009, 09:13:39 AM »
I was once an avid user of ODCL (when Chad was still working on it) but then when it came off the rails I ported all my stuff over to VBA and haven't really looked back. Until today that is. As you may be aware, VBA and 64bit AutoCAD really don't play well together and this has put me in a bit of a tricky situation as we are starting a gradual migration away from our 32bit systems. This put me in a bit of a dilemma as it would mean me having to port all my code into dotnet - a language I've never used before and on first glimpse it won't be an overnight transition. In a bid to carry out a bit of a 'quick-fix' I have renewed my interest in ODCL having seen that it is now 64bit compatible and seemingly gathering momentum now it's gone open-source.

My only concern with going back to ODCL is the old 'once bitten' worry - I reckon I'll still get myself up to speed with dotnet as a safety net but do current users think that there is enough security in the development of ODCL (especially considering the iminent release of 2010 and the new drawing format - the change which originally brought ODCL to a halt) to buy me enough time so that I don't need to panic?

Crank

• Water Moccasin
Re: Will I regret it?
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2009, 09:25:16 AM »
ODCL will be supported for Acad2010. Because every 3 releases of Autocad they change the .arx format, you can expect that this will also be working for Acad2011 and Acad2012.
Vault Professional 2023     +     AEC Collection

mr_nick

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2009, 09:36:33 AM »
I know that if ODCL works on 2010 it will theoretically continue to work for the next couple of releases but it's a question of 'when will it work on 2010'? To quote from the ODCL website: