Author Topic: Hello All  (Read 3309 times)

Bakerman

Hello All
« on: January 22, 2009, 11:08:46 AM »
I'm a new member of The Swamp and since I'm mainly into survey/civil, I thought I'd post an intro here. I'm the survey/cad manager in our field office in southeast Missouri where we are building a RCC pumped storage reservoir on the top of a mountain. We periodically make changes to the plans on the fly, thus the need for CAD on site.

Actually, I'm a licensed surveyor (SC & NC) but I was introduced to AutoCAD in December of 1985. I never did much CAD from a production standpoint until I signed on with my current employer back in 2002. This is my second dam project and I've really enjoyed them both. I spent the first 25 years doing mostly boundary surveying........so this major project construction surveying has been a breath of fresh air for me.

Unfortunately, I'm currently stuck on C3D 2007 with little hope of upgrading until this project is complete. We are required to use the client's resources and they are not making any efforts toward upgrading their Autodesk products (they mostly use MicroStation).

I found this site through the link on sinc's website and I've been lurking since October. I've really enjoyed the topics here and I've learned a great deal already. I still have a long way to go in my conversion to C3D.........partly hindered by the fact that I've been using LDD since DCA version 9.  :-(

mjfarrell

• Seagull
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Hello All
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2009, 11:12:07 AM »
Welcome Bakerman!!

As you might already know I stand ready to assist you in your transition to C3D.

cue the Beatles, Long and Winding Road.....
Be your Best

Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Bakerman

« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2009, 11:20:51 AM »
Thanks, Michael, I'll keep that in mind. What sort of plan do you have for a company that has given up and reverted back to Land Desktop 2009?

mjfarrell

• Seagull