Author Topic: '09 Quick Properties  (Read 6264 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
'09 Quick Properties
« on: November 13, 2008, 08:13:26 AM »
Quote
The Quick Properties panel lists the most commonly used properties for each object type or a set of objects. You can easily customize the quick properties for any object in the Customize User Interface (CUI) editor. See Customize Quick Properties in the Customization Guide.
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

M-dub

  • Guest
Re: '09 Quick Properties
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2008, 08:33:16 AM »
I tried it and it's probably going to be useful from time to time, but not on a constant basis.


I just about said "It would be REALLY nice if we could choose the specific properties that get displayed in that popup." but remembered seeing something about that right before I hit Post.  Guess I'll have to revisit it.  :)

jnieman

  • Guest
Re: '09 Quick Properties
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2008, 09:11:05 AM »
Gave it a shot, but found that Autocad could not read my mind, and would pop it up when I didn't want it... and often times it'd pop up over something I needed to read lol..

I work super dandy fine with the properties pallete docked in-full on the side... one fling of the mouse, and it rolls out for editting.


and yea, like MDub alluded to... you edit what shows up on the QP popup, in the CUI, and can customize it for each 'type' of object selected when it pops up.

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15568
Re: '09 Quick Properties
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2008, 09:18:01 AM »
I use it all the time. Its docked at the side of my second monitor. I just find it handy to have open all the time, and the amount of space it takes up is minimal.
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13679
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: '09 Quick Properties
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2008, 09:34:13 AM »
I could not find a selection of "haven't not installed 09 yet".  ^-^  Should things have calm down a bit.

I will say this that with two monitors, I just dock 08's properties palette on the second monitor so there is no need to fling the mouse.  Have to fling the eye balls instead.  :-D
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here picking up the empties beer cans

sinc

  • Guest
Re: '09 Quick Properties
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2008, 09:40:32 AM »
It causes problems with C3D.  Even having the full properties palette docked to the side and set to auto-hide causes problems in C3D.  I've taken to having it docked on the side, and I use CTRL+1 to make it visible/invisible.  That doesn't cause problems in C3D.    :-P

jnieman

  • Guest
Re: '09 Quick Properties
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2008, 09:51:54 AM »
It causes problems with C3D.  Even having the full properties palette docked to the side and set to auto-hide causes problems in C3D.  I've taken to having it docked on the side, and I use CTRL+1 to make it visible/invisible.  That doesn't cause problems in C3D.    :-P

picky, picky!

(the app, not you)

KewlToyZ

  • Guest
Re: '09 Quick Properties
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2008, 12:32:21 PM »
I'm using it in my Enterprise cui workspaces.
Unfortunately, in order to retain the custom buttons, I have to create a copy of the workspace using the cui editor.
The Save Workspace control fails to copy it over for some reason.

chrisdarmanin

  • Guest
Re: '09 Quick Properties
« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2008, 08:02:24 AM »
i hate it, i keep full properties open on the side...

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
Re: '09 Quick Properties
« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2008, 08:03:50 AM »
i hate it, i keep full properties open on the side...

I used to work that way, until C3D '09 came along! *sigh*
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15568
Re: '09 Quick Properties
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2008, 08:06:33 AM »
I still have my full properties dialog box up, but the quick properties is docked closer to the other toolbars, and I find myself using it for more and more things
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

Big G

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 415
Re: '09 Quick Properties
« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2008, 09:28:47 PM »
I used to work that way, until C3D '09 came along! *sigh*

why not now? thats how im using it?
I thought i seen the light at the end of the tunnel. But it was just someone with a torch bringing me more work.
"You have to accept that somedays youre the pigeon and  somedays youre the statue"

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: '09 Quick Properties
« Reply #12 on: December 01, 2008, 09:36:15 PM »
I used to work that way, until C3D '09 came along! *sigh*

why not now? thats how im using it?

His reason would be that MANY C3D objects can not be altered using the Properties toolbar.
and one must use the Select Object>>Rt Click function to get to say ones alignment, or profile view properties to edit them.
And sometimes one must go about seven functions deeper to change the thing one really wants to change in C3D.
That could be why.....
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

sinc

  • Guest
Re: '09 Quick Properties
« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2008, 12:33:58 AM »
Leaving the Properties palette open (even docked and set to auto-hide) causes the screen flicker problem when selecting objects in C3D.

I've noticed on some systems (the faster ones), this flicker isn't really noticeable.  But on other systems, it is quite annoying, causing a noticeable delay every time the user selects a Cogo Point, in particular.

MickD

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3636
  • (x-in)->[process]->(y-out) ... simples!
Re: '09 Quick Properties
« Reply #14 on: December 02, 2008, 02:41:59 AM »
As I rarely use the prop's dialog, I don't mind the mini version once you set it up for the things that you might want to change regularly. I just move it to the top right corner out of the main view and it doesn't worry me too much really.

"Programming is really just the mundane aspect of expressing a solution to a problem."
- John Carmack

"Short cuts make long delays,' argued Pippin.
- J.R.R. Tolkien