Author Topic: Publish command in 2009 will not do multi-page PDFs  (Read 5414 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

CHulse

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 504
Publish command in 2009 will not do multi-page PDFs
« on: September 05, 2008, 12:56:28 PM »
Has anyone else had this problem?

I set my sheets to a PDF page setup (I use Adobe Acrobat Pro7) and in 2008 I get a nice multi-page pdf file. But, in 2009, I get the first sheet and the whole thing stops   :realmad:

...or is it just me...?

Thanks
Cary Hulse
Urban Forestry Manager
Wetland Studies and Solutions

Civil 3D 2020 & 2023

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Publish command in 2009 will not do multi-page PDFs
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2008, 01:09:34 PM »
Check out the PUBLISHCOLLATE system variable.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

CHulse

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 504
Re: Publish command in 2009 will not do multi-page PDFs
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2008, 01:29:58 PM »
Check out the PUBLISHCOLLATE system variable.

Thanks- I didn't know that one. BUT it's already set to 1...
Any thoughts?
Cary Hulse
Urban Forestry Manager
Wetland Studies and Solutions

Civil 3D 2020 & 2023

CHulse

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 504
Re: Publish command in 2009 will not do multi-page PDFs
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2008, 01:31:29 PM »
I guess I shouldn't say that I am from Pennsylvania :|
Cary Hulse
Urban Forestry Manager
Wetland Studies and Solutions

Civil 3D 2020 & 2023

Kate M

  • Guest
Re: Publish command in 2009 will not do multi-page PDFs
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2008, 07:11:33 PM »
AFAIK it's broken...sorry. Either use PUBLISHCOLLATE = 0 and combine later, or publish a multi-sheet DWF and then print that to a PDF if you really need that format.

CHulse

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 504
Re: Publish command in 2009 will not do multi-page PDFs
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2008, 09:08:54 AM »
AFAIK it's broken...sorry. Either use PUBLISHCOLLATE = 0 and combine later, or publish a multi-sheet DWF and then print that to a PDF if you really need that format.

well, that's what I was afraid of....

Thanks
Cary Hulse
Urban Forestry Manager
Wetland Studies and Solutions

Civil 3D 2020 & 2023

CHulse

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 504
Re: Publish command in 2009 will not do multi-page PDFs
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2008, 12:54:01 PM »
Well, the Autodesk sollution was to use their PDF driver and it seems to work OK.
Must be time to upgrade my old Adobe 7 Pro :(
Cary Hulse
Urban Forestry Manager
Wetland Studies and Solutions

Civil 3D 2020 & 2023

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Publish command in 2009 will not do multi-page PDFs
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2008, 01:15:17 PM »
Well, the Autodesk sollution was to use their PDF driver and it seems to work OK.
Must be time to upgrade my old Adobe 7 Pro :(


But how does their crappy PDF driver handle TTFs?  Does it still look like a blob?
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

CHulse

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 504
Re: Publish command in 2009 will not do multi-page PDFs
« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2008, 01:18:54 PM »
Haven't tried yet...

I'm hoping that upgrading to Adobe Acrobat Pro 9 in December will work better. Lets hope my budget gets approved!
Cary Hulse
Urban Forestry Manager
Wetland Studies and Solutions

Civil 3D 2020 & 2023

doggarncity

  • Guest
Re: Publish command in 2009 will not do multi-page PDFs
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2009, 04:42:03 PM »
Haven't tried yet...

I'm hoping that upgrading to Adobe Acrobat Pro 9 in December will work better. Lets hope my budget gets approved!

Hi
  You might want to try a new PDF printer solution. Go to PDF995 and check it out. I have used it for all versions of autocad and all work great.
Even better it cost pennies compared to Acrobate and does a wonderful job. Set it up like any printer after install and have fun.

Mike P

CHulse

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 504
Re: Publish command in 2009 will not do multi-page PDFs
« Reply #10 on: April 06, 2009, 09:27:58 AM »
Update:

Update 2 for C3D has fixed this issue.

The upgrade to Adobe 9 did not fix it. Although, the quality of my PDFs has improved with 9 and the file sizes are very manageable.
Cary Hulse
Urban Forestry Manager
Wetland Studies and Solutions

Civil 3D 2020 & 2023