Author Topic: Blip mode on/off  (Read 11170 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

yyou

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« on: July 14, 2004, 06:09:46 PM »
I usually have my blip mode on.  It does not bother me.  On or off I don't even notice.  I only notice when I need them to be on and they are not.  When do I need them?   When I need to modify a bunch of similar entities, it helps me to see which one I already did.

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16727
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2004, 08:52:45 PM »
Blipmode is ok, but I sometimes find myself trying to erase those confounded tics only to realize they are blips, not linesor points in the drawing
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Craig

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2004, 08:54:20 PM »
Blipmode off for me all the time. They are more of an annoyance for me

Slim©

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6562
  • The Dude Abides...
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2004, 08:57:11 PM »
Always off
I drink beer and I know things....

Dent Cermak

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6914
  • Clinton, Mississippi
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2004, 10:55:55 PM »
I HATE BLIPMODE!! Why didn't they get rid of that rather than all the stuff I use everyday!! ALL the good stuff from 14 didn't make it to LDD3. Thank goodness for the retired list!!
If you are looking to me for answers, you really have problems. Carlson Survey 2016 w/ Embedded AutoCad

daron

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2004, 08:30:32 AM »
I agree. They should've done away with blipmode, but instead they semi-remove tracking and replace it with temp tracking. It's not the same. Tracking was so cool. You could set objects on a point, then move that point and keep moving it until you got what you were looking for. It seems odd to need that, but there was a time where I did need it, then they went and hid it away. It probably doesn't even exist anymore.

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16727
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2004, 12:25:49 PM »
I never used traking... it was always getting in the way of my snap settings.....

Back on track....

I no longer use blipmode
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

M-dub

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2004, 12:35:37 PM »
Quote from: Dent Cermak
I HATE BLIPMODE!! Why didn't they get rid of that rather than all the stuff I use everyday!! ALL the good stuff from 14 didn't make it to LDD3. Thank goodness for the retired list!!


Cheers, Dent!  What's the friggin' point?

I actually created a button in our menu just to shut them off...Guess which one...


John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9300
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2004, 12:46:59 PM »
Why dont you update that button with this:
(setvar "blipmode" (boole 6 (getvar "blipmode") 1))
“Common sense is not so common.” ~Voltaire

--> Donate to TheSwamp.org <--

CADaver

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2004, 12:53:38 PM »
Quote from: Daron
They should've done away with blipmode,
As indicated by the first post in this thread, some folks still use it.  

Prior to fast regens, toggling blipmode on and off was a totally transparent "REDRAW", but I haven't used it since.

yyou

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2004, 12:59:27 PM »
:shock:  Wow, overwhelming.  Autodesk should look at this topic.

M-dub

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2004, 01:09:39 PM »
Quote from: Se7en
Why dont you update that button with this:
(setvar "blipmode" (boole 6 (getvar "blipmode") 1))


Thanks, but I'd only use that if I wanted them to turn blipmode back on.  I only want them to turn it off...

(I know I'm letting my personal opinion interfere with the operation of everyone, but I hate blips!!!!!

M-dub

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2004, 01:10:08 PM »
Quote from: yyou
:shock:  Wow, overwhelming.  Autodesk should look at this topic.


Likely wouldn't make any difference whatsoever... :roll:

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9300
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2004, 01:18:29 PM »
> Thanks, but I'd only use that if I wanted them to turn blipmode back on. I only want
>them to turn it off...

Heh, did you run it?
“Common sense is not so common.” ~Voltaire

--> Donate to TheSwamp.org <--

t-bear

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2004, 01:25:14 PM »
Actually, it's interesting to see that someone found a use for a function that everyone else HATES.... Just shows to go that there are a million ways to do anything in CAD.....COOL, eh?

M-dub

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #15 on: July 15, 2004, 01:34:05 PM »
Quote from: Se7en
> Thanks, but I'd only use that if I wanted them to turn blipmode back on. I only want
>them to turn it off...

Heh, did you run it?


Yup...It just toggles BM, right?  or am I way off?

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9300
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #16 on: July 15, 2004, 01:39:16 PM »
yes. Now why wouldnt that be better? If you give you menu out to others woulnt you want the give them the option to decide WHEN to use the button and not how CAN they use the button?
“Common sense is not so common.” ~Voltaire

--> Donate to TheSwamp.org <--

M-dub

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #17 on: July 15, 2004, 01:42:05 PM »
I hear ya, but to be completely honest, it is extremenly rare to find a drawing with blipmode on.  I just made that button more to amuse myself...;)
That is a good idea though...I'll keep it in mind for other commands in the future...

yyou

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #18 on: July 15, 2004, 02:12:31 PM »
Actually those situations only occur once in a while.  Mostly are in atrrib or text cases.  One time I recall, the atrrib txt in room-name blks which came from the client were at 6" high.  Our standard is 4.5.  I tried to used attredef to fix it but all room number turn to 104 on every block.  So I have to go to each block and scale it down.

On the screen, I cannot tell the diff between 6" blk and 4.5" blk. That was when blipmode came in handy.  Now with the tick mark, I can see the blocks that had been scaled down so I did not pick them again.

TR

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #19 on: July 15, 2004, 06:15:14 PM »
The blipmode variable is stored in the registry, not the drawing.

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9300
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #20 on: July 15, 2004, 06:57:08 PM »
heh. You sure 'bout that Tim?!
“Common sense is not so common.” ~Voltaire

--> Donate to TheSwamp.org <--

TR

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #21 on: July 15, 2004, 08:59:56 PM »
Positive. My boss uses blipmodes and I do not. We often work on the same drawing and I've yet to see blips while working.

Also the system variable browser thing that comes in express tool for 2000i says it's stored in the registry.

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16727
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #22 on: July 15, 2004, 11:11:50 PM »
blipmode is indeed stored in the registry...
Quote from: Windows Registry

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R16.0\ACAD-201:409\Profiles\<<Unnamed Profile>>\General\Blipmode
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Jassper

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #23 on: July 16, 2004, 12:57:44 AM »
Quote from: t-bear
Actually, it's interesting to see that someone found a use for a function that everyone else HATES.... Just shows to go that there are a million ways to do anything in CAD.....COOL, eh?


Only a Million???????????  :)  :)

Blipmode - so obnoxious!

t-bear

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #24 on: July 16, 2004, 08:04:44 AM »
Yah, but so am I and you let me hang around ..... on rare occasions I'm even useful! (can't think of ant examples at the moment, but......)





(Oh yah, correcting Seben's speling)

Slim©

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6562
  • The Dude Abides...
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #25 on: July 16, 2004, 08:26:44 AM »
Quote from: t-bear
(Oh yah, correcting Seben's speling)


I see you caught Mark's cold.  :D
I drink beer and I know things....

SMadsen

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #26 on: July 16, 2004, 08:32:02 AM »
BLIPMODE rules!

M-dub

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #27 on: July 16, 2004, 08:34:35 AM »
Quote from: SMadsen
BLIPMODE rules!


Bite your tongue! :twisted: