Author Topic: Blip mode on/off  (Read 12541 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

yyou

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« on: July 14, 2004, 06:09:46 PM »
I usually have my blip mode on.  It does not bother me.  On or off I don't even notice.  I only notice when I need them to be on and they are not.  When do I need them?   When I need to modify a bunch of similar entities, it helps me to see which one I already did.

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16797
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2004, 08:52:45 PM »
Blipmode is ok, but I sometimes find myself trying to erase those confounded tics only to realize they are blips, not linesor points in the drawing
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Craig

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2004, 08:54:20 PM »
Blipmode off for me all the time. They are more of an annoyance for me

Slim©

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6566
  • The Dude Abides...
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2004, 08:57:11 PM »
Always off
I drink beer and I know things....

Dent Cermak

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6914
  • Clinton, Mississippi
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2004, 10:55:55 PM »
I HATE BLIPMODE!! Why didn't they get rid of that rather than all the stuff I use everyday!! ALL the good stuff from 14 didn't make it to LDD3. Thank goodness for the retired list!!
If you are looking to me for answers, you really have problems. Carlson Survey 2016 w/ Embedded AutoCad

daron

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2004, 08:30:32 AM »
I agree. They should've done away with blipmode, but instead they semi-remove tracking and replace it with temp tracking. It's not the same. Tracking was so cool. You could set objects on a point, then move that point and keep moving it until you got what you were looking for. It seems odd to need that, but there was a time where I did need it, then they went and hid it away. It probably doesn't even exist anymore.

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16797
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2004, 12:25:49 PM »
I never used traking... it was always getting in the way of my snap settings.....

Back on track....

I no longer use blipmode
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

M-dub

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2004, 12:35:37 PM »
Quote from: Dent Cermak
I HATE BLIPMODE!! Why didn't they get rid of that rather than all the stuff I use everyday!! ALL the good stuff from 14 didn't make it to LDD3. Thank goodness for the retired list!!


Cheers, Dent!  What's the friggin' point?

I actually created a button in our menu just to shut them off...Guess which one...


John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9484
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2004, 12:46:59 PM »
Why dont you update that button with this:
(setvar "blipmode" (boole 6 (getvar "blipmode") 1))
TheSwamp.org (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Donate to TheSwamp.org

CADaver

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2004, 12:53:38 PM »
Quote from: Daron
They should've done away with blipmode,
As indicated by the first post in this thread, some folks still use it.  

Prior to fast regens, toggling blipmode on and off was a totally transparent "REDRAW", but I haven't used it since.

yyou

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2004, 12:59:27 PM »
:shock:  Wow, overwhelming.  Autodesk should look at this topic.

M-dub

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2004, 01:09:39 PM »
Quote from: Se7en
Why dont you update that button with this:
(setvar "blipmode" (boole 6 (getvar "blipmode") 1))


Thanks, but I'd only use that if I wanted them to turn blipmode back on.  I only want them to turn it off...

(I know I'm letting my personal opinion interfere with the operation of everyone, but I hate blips!!!!!

M-dub

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2004, 01:10:08 PM »
Quote from: yyou
:shock:  Wow, overwhelming.  Autodesk should look at this topic.


Likely wouldn't make any difference whatsoever... :roll:

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9484
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2004, 01:18:29 PM »
> Thanks, but I'd only use that if I wanted them to turn blipmode back on. I only want
>them to turn it off...

Heh, did you run it?
TheSwamp.org (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Donate to TheSwamp.org

t-bear

  • Guest
Blip mode on/off
« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2004, 01:25:14 PM »
Actually, it's interesting to see that someone found a use for a function that everyone else HATES.... Just shows to go that there are a million ways to do anything in CAD.....COOL, eh?