Author Topic: Items usually are on Correct Layer  (Read 9288 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MSTG007

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2405
  • I can't remeber what I already asked! I need help!
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« on: June 24, 2004, 06:58:29 PM »
Items, entitities usually are on Correct Layer


:)
Autodesk Infrastructure Design Suite 2019

Dent Cermak

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6914
  • Clinton, Mississippi
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2004, 07:02:14 PM »
ABSOLUTELY!!!!!
If you are looking to me for answers, you really have problems. Carlson Survey 2016 w/ Embedded AutoCad

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16727
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2004, 07:46:53 PM »
This is pretty vague.... the question then begs "What is the correct layer?"

Should things such as appliances be on the same layer as the kitchen sink? or should we have layers specifically for bathroom fixtures as opposed to kitchen fixtures? Should door frames which are part of a block be put on the same layer as the door?I think you see my point...

But I do agree,  once a layer has been defined, and the objects that are destined for that layer should indeed be placed on that layer.

Incedently I wrote a VBA that monitors all block insertions and when it detects a block insertion, ,it forces the block to the layer defined by the user, for that drawing, and for all subsequent drawings.
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17525
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2004, 07:49:56 PM »
Entities must reside on the layer specified for that type of data.

If no layer is defined for the type of entity being modeled CADD Support, be it one guy or a committee, need to be advised immediately so that a proper layer may be specified.
\|// Set goal. Experiment tirelessly until
|Oo| practice has become expertise.  Loop.
|- | LinkedIn | Dropbox

t-bear

  • Guest
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2004, 08:16:28 AM »
No arguement here, folks.  Defining layer usage is imparative.  You will probably all scream but.....we use  01..02..03..04 etc for layer names.  We use xrefs extensivly and namt the XREF layers according to the xref ie....DEM for demister filter...FLR for flare....  The layer dropdown now lists the xref layers as   DEM/01...FLR/06..FLR/07 etc....
Those layers are assigned a specific part...on the demister, for instance, 01 is ALWAYS the shell, 02 is ALWAYS the bottom plate....and our standards LIST this procedure.....
It takes a while to learn this but ALL dwgs have the SAME part/layer relationship from dwg to dwg.....and oncew you know that procedure, modeling is a breeze.

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17525
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2004, 08:24:03 AM »
Quote from: t-bear
No arguement here, folks.  Defining layer usage is imparative.  You will probably all scream but.....we use  01..02..03..04 etc for layer names.  We use xrefs extensivly and namt the XREF layers according to the xref ie....DEM for demister filter...FLR for flare....  The layer dropdown now lists the xref layers as   DEM/01...FLR/06..FLR/07 etc....
Those layers are assigned a specific part...on the demister, for instance, 01 is ALWAYS the shell, 02 is ALWAYS the bottom plate....and our standards LIST this procedure.....
It takes a while to learn this but ALL dwgs have the SAME part/layer relationship from dwg to dwg.....and oncew you know that procedure, modeling is a breeze.

A long time ago, at a different company ... we used a numerical system similar to what you indicated above ... and it worked just fine; I wrote menus, lisp etc. to support it. I was at that company for about 6 years and for the work we performed their (primarilly municipal, water treatment) it was perfectly fine and never failed us.

The bottom line is that you ave a system and it is enforced -- the system may be yours, the system may be your client's, the relevent part is that all members of the team adhere to it, and sometimes custom tools make that all the easier. :)
\|// Set goal. Experiment tirelessly until
|Oo| practice has become expertise.  Loop.
|- | LinkedIn | Dropbox

t-bear

  • Guest
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2004, 08:40:40 AM »
Thanks MP.....I got shot to pieces once "somewhere else" over this, so I was a bit worried about re-hashing it here.  Our place is a small "job-shop" and the customer(s) don't set any criteria for us.   This all started years ago, before long names were allowed and we needed to keep things concice.  It works well so we decided to continue the practice.
As stated, whatever your method, it needs to be followed.

Eloquintet

  • Gator
  • Posts: 3206
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2004, 12:02:55 PM »
yes drawing things on layers allows you to use a drawing for multiple purposes by freezing layers you don't need. i just taught one of my coworkers about freezing layers in viewports because it drove me insane having to revise drawings 4 times instead of once :!:
Dan

AutoCAD Architecture 2015

CADaver

  • Guest
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2004, 10:29:07 PM »
Quote from: t-bear
Thanks MP.....I got shot to pieces once "somewhere else" over this, so I was a bit worried about re-hashing it here.  
Sorry it took so long to answer this, loading all my guns takes a little time. :shock:

Have you thought about the poor schmuck that's gonna work on those files after you? Or is that not an issue?  :cry:

Most of our clients have layer standards with which we must comply, but we have developed a unique layer name for each element that is descriptive of what resides on that layer.  One shouldn't have to guess at what the layer is supposed to contain.

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16727
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2004, 12:21:30 AM »
Quote from: CADaver
Quote from: t-bear
Thanks MP.....I got shot to pieces once "somewhere else" over this, so I was a bit worried about re-hashing it here.  
Sorry it took so long to answer this, loading all my guns takes a little time. :shock:

Have you thought about the poor schmuck that's gonna work on those files after you? Or is that not an issue?  :cry:

Most of our clients have layer standards with which we must comply, but we have developed a unique layer name for each element that is descriptive of what resides on that layer.  One shouldn't have to guess at what the layer is supposed to contain.


I would agree, however, in a small shop where the layers are clearly defined there becomes no need for others to work on the drawings or to figure them out it becomes a non-issue. Let me explain ....

For example you have 01, 02, 03, and 04, you may look at them and say "What the heck is that supposed to mean?" While the people who work on the drawing simply say, Oh ... that widget is supposed to be on layer 03, and it is understood that 03 is representative of walls or doors. Granted, it is not in my opinion the best use of the layering abilities of AutoCAD, but if the layers are clearly defined and followed, the standard evidently works, perhaps not best, but works nonetheless.

Besides isn't this thread supposed to be about putting objects on their standardized layer and NOT a debate on what we should call the layers?
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

CADaver

  • Guest
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2004, 03:50:26 PM »
Quote from: Keith
I would agree, however, in a small shop where the layers are clearly defined there becomes no need for others to work on the drawings or to figure them out it becomes a non-issue. Let me explain ....

For example you have 01, 02, 03, and 04, you may look at them and say "What the heck is that supposed to mean?" While the people who work on the drawing simply say, Oh ... that widget is supposed to be on layer 03, and it is understood that 03 is representative of walls or doors.
I'm gonna croak someday, just as we all are, and I was just thinking about the poor guy following up.

Quote from: Keith
Besides isn't this thread supposed to be about putting objects on their standardized layer and NOT a debate on what we should call the layers?
You've been posting here long enough to know better than that, haven't you??   :wink:

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16727
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2004, 04:02:51 PM »
Quote from: CADaver
I'm gonna croak someday, just as we all are, and I was just thinking about the poor guy following up.

If he works for the same organization, then presumably he will have learned the standard ... whatever that is ... oh and just for the record, I used descriptive names for layers in our standard.

Quote from: CADaver
Quote from: Keith
Besides isn't this thread supposed to be about putting objects on their standardized layer and NOT a debate on what we should call the layers?
You've been posting here long enough to know better than that, haven't you??   :wink:


Well, yeah, but the title of this thread is All Items Must be on Correct Layer I was beginning to wonder if this was the All Items Must be on a "layer with a name that effectively describes the layer content" layer thread ... which might not be a bad addition to generic standards....
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17525
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2004, 01:45:21 AM »
Quote from: CADaver
Sorry it took so long to answer this, loading all my guns takes a little time. :shock:

Have you thought about the poor schmuck that's gonna work on those files after you? Or is that not an issue?  :cry:

Most of our clients have layer standards with which we must comply, but we have developed a unique layer name for each element that is descriptive of what resides on that layer.  One shouldn't have to guess at what the layer is supposed to contain.

I don't understand the problem, if T-Bear's spec is clearly documented and religiously adhered to, it should not matter that it is numeric, alpha-numeric, alphabetic, hexidecimal, whatever. The important thing is that it is documented and adhered to. In that case it is easy to translate it to other formats that may be more descriptive and verbose (which are preferred as long as they're systematic), either manually or automagically. :)
\|// Set goal. Experiment tirelessly until
|Oo| practice has become expertise.  Loop.
|- | LinkedIn | Dropbox

CADaver

  • Guest
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2004, 07:21:37 AM »
Quote from: MP
I don't understand the problem, if T-Bear's spec is clearly documented and religiously adhered to, it should not matter that it is numeric, alpha-numeric, alphabetic, hexidecimal, whatever. The important thing is that it is documented and adhered to. In that case it is easy to translate it to other formats that may be more descriptive and verbose (which are preferred as long as they're systematic), either manually or automagically. :)


I guess.  I come from a place where files are routinely ditributed between several dozens different contractors, vendors, suppliers, and other organizations.  For us, it makes considerably more sense to name the layers descriptively.  I can see several advantages for so doing, but I can't see any advantages for not.

CADaver

  • Guest
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #14 on: June 29, 2004, 07:24:15 AM »
Quote from: Keith
Well, yeah, but the title of this thread is All Items Must be on Correct Layer I was beginning to wonder if this was the All Items Must be on a "layer with a name that effectively describes the layer content" layer thread ... which might not be a bad addition to generic standards....
Well, the "Bear" opened it up with comments like:
"You will probably all scream but ....."
and
"It takes a while to learn.."

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16727
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #15 on: June 29, 2004, 06:21:52 PM »
Never said it was good, only that if it was a standard then that was ok.
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

CADaver

  • Guest
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #16 on: June 29, 2004, 06:36:06 PM »
Quote from: Keith
Never said it was good, only that if it was a standard then that was ok.
Quite true, I just didn't want to disappoint the "Bear".

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16727
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #17 on: June 29, 2004, 06:47:10 PM »
Well said ....
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

t-bear

  • Guest
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #18 on: June 29, 2004, 07:51:48 PM »
I've never been disappointed by you two....always good for a chuckle.
If I die tomorrow, the CAD standards in my office will continue as before....they're all documented.  As for the "it takes a while" comment, doesn't it always take a new-comer a while to learn your particular standards?  I've worked for a "few" different companies and every one had a "better" set of standards...and every one of them took some getting used to....and, for the most part, every one of them worked WHEN ADHERED TO.....

CADaver

  • Guest
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2004, 08:14:04 PM »
Quote from: t-bear
As for the "it takes a while" comment, doesn't it always take a new-comer a while to learn your particular standards?  ....

True, but "FLR-FRAMING" is a little less cryptic than "001" don't ya' think?  Do you think that may be a little easier to "get used to"?

t-bear

  • Guest
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #20 on: June 29, 2004, 08:23:44 PM »
Oh no!  I'm not Keith or that other pup "over there" and you ain'y gonna get this ol' dog to go there! :roll:  :wink:
Sorry CADaver......... :lol:

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16727
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #21 on: June 29, 2004, 08:30:47 PM »
CADaver, evidently t-bear doesn't live for debate....
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

MSTG007

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2405
  • I can't remeber what I already asked! I need help!
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #22 on: June 29, 2004, 09:47:38 PM »
hey question... about details....   how do you set them up layer wise???

layer = Detail  
layer = Detail-Text
layer = Detail-Hatch


????
Autodesk Infrastructure Design Suite 2019

CADaver

  • Guest
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #23 on: June 30, 2004, 07:37:13 AM »
Quote from: t-bear
Oh no!  I'm not Keith or that other pup "over there" and you ain'y gonna get this ol' dog to go there! :roll:  :wink:
Sorry CADaver......... :lol:
Ya' big party pooper... or is that not politically correct for someone your age??   :wink:

CADaver

  • Guest
Items usually are on Correct Layer
« Reply #24 on: June 30, 2004, 07:38:57 AM »
Quote from: MSTG007
hey question... about details....   how do you set them up layer wise???
layer = Detail  
layer = Detail-Text
layer = Detail-Hatch
????
Yes, similar, when needed.  We usually use the 3D modle for details, so it's becoming more and more rare to set aside details.  That makes the layer usage less and less common.