Author Topic: 3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".  (Read 8916 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17662
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".
« on: June 24, 2004, 05:58:16 PM »
Your thoughts?
Engineering Technologist • CAD Specialist • Programmer Analyst
Design • Drafting • Document Control • Automation.
cadanalyst@fastmail.com • https://cadanalyst.slack.com • http://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28683
3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2004, 06:08:11 PM »
No argument here!
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Slim©

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6566
  • The Dude Abides...
3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2004, 06:08:38 PM »
You've read my mind.
I drink beer and I know things....

Dent Cermak

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6914
  • Clinton, Mississippi
3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2004, 06:54:52 PM »
Nothing should be on layer 0 except "construction lines" or quickie sketches. Xref or dwg. I do my basic drawing on 0 because it shows up better. When I get my lines figured out, I switch them to the proper layer.
If you are looking to me for answers, you really have problems. Carlson Survey 2016 w/ Embedded AutoCad

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17662
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2004, 07:14:20 PM »
I personally think "construction lines" or quickie sketches have no business on layer "0" either; inevitably someone will forget to move them to the correct layer.

Do it right the first time I say, it always costs more to fix it later. :)
Engineering Technologist • CAD Specialist • Programmer Analyst
Design • Drafting • Document Control • Automation.
cadanalyst@fastmail.com • https://cadanalyst.slack.com • http://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

Dent Cermak

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6914
  • Clinton, Mississippi
3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2004, 07:16:49 PM »
Only if your drafters have "sometimers". Course, catching that is the job of the QC guy. Been doing it that way since 1988 and ain't missed one yet. It's all about paying attention to details. Now THAT is what drafting is really all about.
If you are looking to me for answers, you really have problems. Carlson Survey 2016 w/ Embedded AutoCad

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17662
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2004, 07:25:20 PM »
I respectfully submit that such a tact may be easy to rally in smaller offices (which I'm getting the impression your type of office is, no dis meant), though small is such a relative term.

We have 250 +/- CADD Operators; probably a medium sized operation. The tactics you suggest are not practical when trying to corral this many cats. :)

Finally, relying on someone else to catch my errors, i.e. the QC guy, is not an efficient way to do things (scary actually, imagine if all of engineering did that :shock:), it costs more to go back to fix something, but that's just my opinion, your mileage and experience may vary. :)
Engineering Technologist • CAD Specialist • Programmer Analyst
Design • Drafting • Document Control • Automation.
cadanalyst@fastmail.com • https://cadanalyst.slack.com • http://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

Dent Cermak

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6914
  • Clinton, Mississippi
3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2004, 07:31:41 PM »
So what we are saying is that "standards" will vary from discipline to discipline and also with the size of the office, especially with "control" issues.
In my shop, we generally have no need for paper space, in your shop it very well may be the most important tool you have. That needs to be kept in mind before any of us say, "Well, that's not right!!".
If you are looking to me for answers, you really have problems. Carlson Survey 2016 w/ Embedded AutoCad

Slim©

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6566
  • The Dude Abides...
3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".
« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2004, 07:38:27 PM »
Quote from: Dent Cermak
That needs to be kept in mind before any of us say, "Well, that's not right!!".


Excellent point, Dent. Sometimes we forget that the way we do things are what we are comfortable with, and are very difficult for other disciplines to follow.

What works very well for Civil does not always work for Survey.
What works well for Architectural wouldn't be practical for others.
I drink beer and I know things....

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17662
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".
« Reply #9 on: June 24, 2004, 07:47:09 PM »
I esentially agree with all this stuff, especially the part where we keep it friendly, with open minds, and use the forum(s) as white boards to toss all our great ideas at (Mark's original intent me thinks). :)
Engineering Technologist • CAD Specialist • Programmer Analyst
Design • Drafting • Document Control • Automation.
cadanalyst@fastmail.com • https://cadanalyst.slack.com • http://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

t-bear

  • Guest
3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".
« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2004, 08:06:54 AM »
We draw NOTHING on "0" layer.....just our take on the subject.  My last employer used "0" as does Dents ...we had no problems.  Of course, like Dent, it was a small office.  Not that this one is large.......

(edited by T-Bear.....)

I just looked at what I wrote and.....What about blocks?   Do you place your blocks on specified layers (blocks insert with their own layers) or on layer "0" ( block assumes current/ specified layer......)?

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".
« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2004, 09:07:26 AM »
My company inserts all title blocks and xrefs on layer 0, i've tried to convince them otherwise, but they won't listen.

Just wait till i'm in charge.
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

Kate M

  • Guest
3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".
« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2004, 09:07:30 AM »
No drawing on defpoints in xrefs, either. If you need temporary lines, make a "temp" layer or something.

t-bear

  • Guest
3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".
« Reply #13 on: June 25, 2004, 09:15:34 AM »
Defpoints layer is designed for dims....do NOT use it for vports and no-plot layers....that's an old work-around that should be discouraged. AutoCAD now has the ability to create no-plot layers for vports, in-house/engineering notes etc... USE it!

Slim©

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6566
  • The Dude Abides...
3. XREFs shall have no entities on layer "0".
« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2004, 10:45:50 AM »
Quote from: t-bear
What about blocks?   Do you place your blocks on specified layers (blocks insert with their own layers) or on layer "0" ( block assumes current/ specified layer......)?


We do the same thing here, for the same reason. It is also, less confusing for a new drafter (CAD operator) when the block is inserted and it matches the properties of the layer it is on.
I drink beer and I know things....