Author Topic: Help but please no code.  (Read 18489 times)

hudster

• Gator
Help but please no code.
« on: March 02, 2004, 11:17:25 AM »
I'm trying to write a lisp routing to set out lighting within a room.

What I want to do is click on 4 corners of a room to allow AutoCAD to calculate the room area, then after I input the number of fittings required in the x and y directions, lisp calculates the spacing required and insert a block at the required spacings

Now as I'm a newbie at this and don't have a clue where to start, I'm hoping someone will take me under their wing and help me out.

What i don't want is someone to write the lisp for me, that way I'll never learn.

So where do i start?
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

Keith™

• Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Help but please no code.
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2004, 11:56:12 AM »
Well, I would usually tell someone to start by putting together Pseudo code... You have started that already, whether you know it or not....
So, what you need to do is first identify the order in which you are going to proceed, such as selecting points, etc.. Take into account if the room is square, round etc...
Select a starting point, and continue from there.
Inserting the blocks should be no problem, the rotation and points can be gathered from the object they will be near. When you have a little better idea of pseudo code, get back with us.
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Find me on https://parler.com @kblackie

MDT

Help but please no code.
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2004, 12:00:56 PM »
Since you want to be self-taught, here's what you
  should be doing:

1. Open up AutoCAD and read the help files on
      AutoCAD Customization section particularly on
      Autolisp functions. Learn how each function works,
      and where to look for these functions.